From Troll to Politician - How STEEM Changed Me

in #writing8 years ago

"I've never been one for political correctness, It's boring, and I'm reckless"

This sentiment has been written on my fridge for some time now.. Up until a few months ago it was something I truly thought I believed. Never was I the one to get involved in political matters. I don't vote, certainly don't back any political party nor do I even believe that the "democracy" we see exercised in western culture is anything more than a puppet show.

When I first showed up on STEEM it was just after it had been hacked, I had no idea who ran the network, what it's purpose was or if it had any staying power. I had my troll horns out and frankly was just being a bastard and spreading FUD. What ended up happening is none other than @ned ended up seeing my asshattery and stopped me dead in my tracks, explaining to me that my trolling was unnecessary. At this point in time I hadn't the slightest idea who @ned was.. But the way he diverted my trolling nearly instantly converted me from troll to STEEM advocate. I spent the rest of that day helping with PR and "damage control" explaining to people that we were recovering hacked accounts as fast as we could.. A complete 180 degree compared to my previous trollings just hours before.

It wasn't until a few weeks later it was made clear to me that I'd rubbed shoulders with the CEO of Steemit Inc, the company responsible for the website you're likely viewing this post on now. It blew me away how professional he'd remained even in the face of my asshattery.

Now as mentioned earlier I'm basically the last person on the planet who would have previously gotten involved in politics, but the more I started looking into the runnings of STEEM the more I realized I'd perhaps stumbled upon a small budding society which I could become a part of and actually make a difference in... And with that I begun to dedicate nearly all of my waking hours to the platform. First as a content creator, then after that as a whistle blower and finally I ended up running a witness campaign.. It all happened so fast that before I knew it I was in the top 50 witness list and had become an integral part of STEEM.

What STEEM Actually Is


STEEM is more than a decentralized social media platform. Infact it's actually in part just the beginning of a revolution and shift in consciousness. We sit atop something that cannot be silenced, has it's own economy and allows anyone regardless of race, religion or creed to join up and be a part of something bigger than themselves. Anyone can serve any role they wish here as long as it doesn't go against the greater good. It's a place to help us all grow as people.

What I Do On STEEM


My role here has evolved drastically over time.. I started out as a troll, moved on to become one of the most celebrated artists early on in the platform's life and after that shifted into serving the network and her citizens through helping ease adoption and developing various websites to give our network more utility and value. As with all rapid growth there has been growing pains and struggles, but at the end of the day my role on the network is simple:

I do what I can, where I can, to help STEEM and her Inhabitants.

Times have existed where I've been wrong in my doings here, on a few occasions I've raised issues in a less than professional manner and if ever I've come off as offensive or a bully it was never my intention. I'm still very much growing as a person and learning how to control my new found passion and emotions. I didn't have something I felt I could make a difference in before and my passion is often confused with anger to those whom do not know me.

We Were All Something Else Before We Came Here

The STEEM network truly is a "melting pot" and magnet for some of the best and brightest minds our planet currently has to offer. We have users from all different walks of life sharing their stories, ideas, artwork and creations with us. It's magnificient actually to have such a diverse collection of people band together as you see on STEEM. We are all here, supporting each other through upvotes, comments and by showing respect and love to one another. This is how the world should be.

It simply doesn't matter what you were before this point, You're part of STEEM now.


Your Current Witness Votes do Anything for STEEM?
Support Future Top 19 Witnesses!

Vote @klye for Witness!

https://steemit.com/~witnesses

You can vote for me easily by clicking the link above and upvoting klye.


A Proud STEEMbassador of Canada
(News on @steemcanada Campaign Soon!)

Thank you for your votes, the opportunity and support!

Sort:  

This post has been ranked within the top 10 most undervalued posts in the second half of Nov 17. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $21.49 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Nov 17 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

I start liking you more and more and more and even consider to vote you for a witness if I am allowed to vote more than 2 . I usually never vote for anything . Something about you keeps me reading your honest content. First I thought you are arrogant but you grow up :)

You're actually allowed to vote for not 1 but 30 witnesses!

Find the witnesses you best believe portray the ideals you want seen on the network and vote for them.
I'm sure they will appreciate it (as will I). We are after all community elected officials. :)

Thank you for your honesty! I try my best not to come off as arrogant. I'm opinionated and not afraid to express my feelings.. It does often come off a little more intense than I would like though.

I AM CANADIAN ! And very happy to now follow a fellow Canadian! Im from Kelowna British Columbia! Glad to have you here on steemit! Great post, STEEM ON! ♨🖒👍♨

Manitoba here.. You guys got winter there yet?! We're just dipping into the negatives here but still no snow... Not that I'm looking forward to the damn snow.

Im in southern BC 4 hours east of Vancouver where i used to live! Its -2 here tonight but we have only snow in the higher elevations! It snowed all morning yesterday in Beaverdell an hour from Kelowna in the mountains! I have property there and will move there soon i hope with a ttle help from steemit! Retire early ! Lol ,! When i was young many years ago we lived in Winnipeg! Its a very windy and cold city , thats all i can remember! Lol! 🌬🌬🌨🌬 Steem On! Feel free to follow me also if you like! ♨🖒♨

Thank you for the look on what's happening on the west coast! much appreciated.

Oh man... Winnipeg. We may as well have named it "Canada's Butthole". -_-

Bwahahaha! I think you may be right on that one! Hehe! 😂😂😂😂

Was just listening to the news and I guess 3 more people in WPG have died due to fentanyl overdose there overnight... The amount of drugs and gangs going on in that city is disgusting.. -_-

Sad to say but that Fentenyl is taking peoples lives everywhere! We have drug overdoses here everyday in Kelowna and its worse on the weekends! Its very sad indeed! 😔

Deep down inside, I am truly a troll too. LOL

I've learned many moons ago how to let the voices rage in my head but keep my fingers "happy". Maybe that explains my whiskey drinking, sailor potty mouth too. hahahaaaa Love you, @klye :D

Great post as always klye, passion is what you are spreading.

@klye for witness

Thank you harand. I see your unwavering support and thank you personally for it. <3


  _
 (_)
  |_____________________________________
  |&&&&&&                         &&&&&&|
  |&&&&&&                         &&&&&&|
  |&&&&&&                         &&&&&&|
  |&&&&&&          .\^/.          &&&&&&|
  |&&&&&&        . |   | .        &&&&&&|
  |&&&&&&        |\|   |/|        &&&&&&|
  |&&&&&&     .--'       '--.     &&&&&&|
  |&&&&&&      \           /      &&&&&&|
  |&&&&&&       >         <       &&&&&&|
  |&&&&&&      '~|/~~|~~\|~'      &&&&&&|
  |&&&&&&            |            &&&&&&|
  |&&&&&&                         &&&&&&|
  |&&&&&&                         &&&&&&|
  |&&&&&&_________________________&JGS&&|
  |~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
                French flag

LOL. UBG you damn troll that isn't a french flag. ~shakes his head~

We've only got 1 french province in Canada.

Great read. Sorry it has taken me so long, you have a new follower. STEEM ON!

No need to apologize! Thank you for the follow. <3

Cheetah-bot says you copied this post from one of mine titled: "How I gave up my beliefs and became Ned's slave after just one taste of his moneydick, and dont forget to upvote this post because I deserve some of the daily payout just for the novelty of showing the world my circus freaky Elephant-man-esque deep throating ability. Have fun slurping up your daily portion of manchowder you fucking faggot troll sellout. You have disgraced your race (of Trolls)!

Oh shit!

Oh no!

Its happening to me now!

No.

No!!

Impossible!

I am the biggest troll on the planet, and ...

Suddenly, I don't feel all that much like trolling. . Why is this happening to me!

FUCK YOU NED!

I am sorry. I mean please bust another upvote on my face in public my love. I promise to take it all (100% SP).

Uhhh cum on, give me your SP. In ready and the world is watching my circus freakability like a trainwreck.

Ok. I am finished trolling too now. I was a troll, but now I am no longer. Wow, that transformation was refreshing and surprisingly better than sex. Welcome to my house Kyle. Keep up the good work converting your race of trolls into fanatic deeply passionate STEEMERS who will fight to teach STEEM to the world!

ROFL. You sir are a class act.

If nothing else thanks for the laugh.. That was an interesting read to say the least.

Hell, maybe you'll be the next top witness, who knows... I laid out the groundwork for even your trolling ass to become something better. ;)

Well said @klye

A well written post

Thank you. I'm not sure if my writing is getting any better but it's nice to explain where I come from originally on the platform. Cheers man.

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about and upvote to support linkback bot v0.5. Flag this comment if you don't want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts.

Built by @ontofractal

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57916.39
ETH 2552.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42