Should STEEM Users be Able to Upvote Their own Content?

in #writing8 years ago

The Upvote... A show of support, acceptance and here on STEEM: a way to get paid.

But at what point does upvoting your own content become needless or frowned upon?

Sure, when your upvote is worth a fraction of a penny it may not seem like a big deal..
But what about when your upvote is actually worth real money?! What of it then?

Should we be able to Upvote our own Content?

Now I'll be the first one to admit it, Every single post I've ever created on the STEEM network I've thrown my own upvote at.. But was I right to do so? This post serves to debate this.

Depending on what social media network you're familiar with self upvoting or liking is viewed in different lights, for example:

Facebook

You'd rather be caught dead than upvoting your own posts. Self liking on facebook is viewed on their network as about the most desperate and ridiculous thing a user can do. Your mom or grandma liking your post is only slightly less embarrassing than self liking on Facebook...

Reddit

By default when you post on Reddit you upvote your own content. It's not frowned upon and no one cares if you do so. Unlike the example with FB given above redditors haven't attached any sort of social stigma to self upvoting. Why? Because the upvotes on reddit aren't worth anything more than imaginary fairy farts is my guess.

How do we Determine What is Acceptable?

Simple really! As a community we get to decide if allowing self upvoting will be frowned upon in the future! The wonderful thing about STEEM is that it's future is indeed dictated by its users and witnesses which run the network.

Do you want to see change? Raise your voice and opinion and it will be heard! Such is STEEM

Please comment below on if you'd like to see self upvoting abolished or remain the same.

Sort:  

Yes. It is your vote. You can do what you want with it.
I usually don't upvote my comments, but I think I will today :)

It's your right to upvote your own stuff.. At least that is my thought.

I posed this post merely as a vehicle for debate. Personally I don't think it's a big deal unless you're self upvoting as a malicious means to drain the reward pool.

I appreciate the post. In fact I really appreciate A LOT of what you have been doing recently.
Keep it up!

I think you should do as you please, I rarely upvote my comments but often upvote my posts probably because the checkouts used to be auto checked. Not noticed if it isn't anymore. I think as a weapon of annoyance it is an option that should always be available!

"I think you should do as you please"

I can't disagree with that, unless of course it harms someone else.

A very valid point Mr Klye!! Yes, I agree there.

Of course they should be able to. Otherwise, they will create separate accounts to power up and vote versus writing.

I'm leaning towards this too. Unless of course it's having a massive drain on the reward pool.
Some accounts out there can vote large weighty votes. Wouldn't be right to abuse that.

What's the point of buying Steem and powering up if you can't vote on the content you want? Isn't that one of the main incentives for people to buy Steem and power up?

With that mindset, all votes are a drain on the reward pool and no one should vote -- ever!

That wouldn't be much fun though now would it? :)

I appreciate your thoughts on the matter complexring. Thanks for weighing in.

This post has been ranked within the top 10 most undervalued posts in the second half of Nov 17. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $20.04 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Nov 17 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Hahahah. Power up to upvote our own stuff... Interesting concept. :)

Yeah, isn't it...

I got it from steem.inc

I believe that in most democracies the candidates can vote also, and vote for themselves, and the same in corporate boards. Really, you should vote on yourself, since you believe in you, right? Facebook is more of a meme replication system than a real social network in my opinion, and like you say, a like in facebook also has the value of unicorn faeces...

I am a big fan of this response. Thank you for explaining your thoughts on the matter.

You've just changes my feelings about self-upvoting. ;) I used to feel shame when I did upvote my own posts, but I did it nevertheless, because it is a rational move.

I stopped upvoting my posts a while ago in order to make more reward available to others. I am fortunate to have a dolphin level stake and I wouldn't expect anyone below a dolphin to do the same. It is in my interests to see steem distributed more widely but I am also just happy with my stake. Ultimately the ability to choose should remain and with the acknowledgement that every situation is different. If I was to produce a post that took a great deal of effort or I thought was very valuable to the community and needed maximum exposure, I might choose to upvote my own post.

Thank you for this. It's awesome to see people thinking of the greater good rather than themselves. <3

We used to always upvote our posts 4 months ago! Then it all stopped when price dropped. 😊

Price aside.. Do you think it's a acceptable thing we can upvote ourselves Karen? :)

Well everyone just automatically had the check mark on and did it before! They made more if they got alot of upvotes for it! But doing it now is really pointless because it has no effect. So no one bothers any more. 😊

I remember that actually. It was very similar to reddit in that respect you auto upvoted your stuff. :)

Not to mention names, but the only ones who are of concern are whales. But they dont post often enough to actually be a problem. Plus, there posting reward would amount to only fraction of there daily curation reward.
I personally think upvoting your own stuff shouldnt be possible, or at most, only worth a "fairy fart" you speak of.
But ubtil it posses a problem, im not concerned. The whales are, for the most part, responsible users

Appreciate you going against the grain and siding that self upvoting should be dissallowed or made only superficial with next to no payout. :)

I think we shouldn't be setting a block there. I don't upvote for my posts generally, and this should be general practice, but I think if we start denying stuff, we'd be opening a pandora's box in terms of censorship.

I think you're in part correct with the removal of being able to upvote our own stuff being viewed as censorship.. Thanks for your input sir. :)