Panama Blog # 14 - A Trip around My Yard - Garden of Eden - Life is Good :-)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #panama-blog7 years ago
  • I'll take you on a little tour of my version of - The Garden of Eden, Herrera, Panama. Edition

I live in a rather harsh area of Panama in some respects, But pure Heaven in others. If you follow me around...Eventually, your going to be pretty well informed about Everything Panama

  • I'm going to just post Clickable Thumbnails in this blog so they don't fill the whole page.

And much easier on bandwidth for people with slow connections like I have. Let me know if this works for you or would rather full-size pictures Please.

  • If you want a high-resolution version, Just right click ( Open link in new tab ) and click again to zoom in. Woot ! Woot ! Life is Good.

postimage

Here is a shot from the North on the road that borders our property, Our house is in the distance.
To the right is My chicken yard and to the left is open land ( big plans some day ).

grass.png

postimage
This is just past the chicken yard on the right
The very right Platano ( Banana type fruit ) below them a Yuka plant ( Root veggie ). I've been told that there are around 300 banana/platano plants in the world. I know of several Yuka types, but must be many as well. Next, you can see a small coconut tree and Just left of center a Nancy Fruit Tree, and all around the Nancy is more Yuka plants.
Here is a closeup of the plantains, only the second time in 5 years they have produced due to extremely dry weather in this area.postimage

grass.png

postimageThis is a better shot of the Nancy tree & Yuka area

Just to the left you can see a row of Moringa tree's near the first area I planted way back in the day with fruit trees from a local fair I attend.

right at the moringa area I tried some tropical grapes that grew like crazy but never produced any friut. It was fun to try but "Fruitless in the end " LOL

grass.png

postimage

This is the area I first planted, as it had the best soil on my property, Gets all day sunshine and was away from the construction zone.

Out of all the trees I planted 5 years ago the only one flourishing now is beside Johana ( Guanabana tree ) I think it finally got a tap root down to the water table and will probably survive any drought now. In fact, it's growing fruit this year.

This is the only fruit on the tree right now...postimage

grass.png

postimage
This is a Panama Pea bush that are planted all over the yard. In Dec - Jan they will be 8 - 10' tall and full of pea pods. They are a bit of a pain to clean but we sit around in groups and wittle away till we have buckets full of cleaned peas. We had a bumper crop last January, Next year looks good too.
postimage
And the only Cashew tree that made the cut, it's suffering from previous droughts but still growing.

grass.png

  1. This is our best Citrus tree ( not sure what type yet ). They are slow growing but this one is starting to take off.
  2. Some Lemon Grass ( makes a nice Tea ).
  3. Papaya tree that gave fruit after only 5 months and going strong ever since. postimagepostimagepostimage

grass.png

  1. Hot Pepper plant. I didn't know how hot till I made some tomato sauce with them ( Ouch )
  2. Horse Radish. Canadan friends gave me a couple roots ( Thanks Guys )

postimagepostimage

green swirl.png

  • That's going to conclude my mini tour around my yard for now. I missed many things that will show up in future blogs I'm sure.

As harvests become ripe I'll post some photos and explanations of the fruits and Veggies individually.
Thanks for reading, And please reply with any questions or criticisms. ( that's how I'll grow )
I tried some new markdown on this blog, let me know what you think?

Life is Good @ steemit.com

Sort:  

What a nice tour. Thanks!
I am intrigued by Panama.
If I get to Costa Rica, may visit Panama too.. it's on my todo list for next year.

I really like how you posted the thumbnail links, and you might want to show people how you did it and how you arrived at a choice for an image host site as well. If you are looking to allow others to use your images for their own purposes, you can also mark them as CreativeCommons.

One idea would be to have these links force open a new tab as well so people do not lose their place while reading your article.

A question as well; how is the cost of living in Panama, compared to Mexico and Costa Rica?
Also, how is the internet service out where you live?
And how much $ is the internet connection; is it wireless only?

Finally, did it take you long to learn spanish and were the locals patient with you? Did you take a class, or have your wife teach you?

Lots of questions; feel free to put an answer in it's own post or point me to something you have already written of course..

I Love reply's, And can do this LOL.
I'm learning about markdown, this post was an experiment that I'm not thrilled with, but have had some nice feedback (You include )
What area you are in has a huge difference in the cost per day needs, Panama City being the most expencive, any area where immigrants gather the second, other city's next. then just about everywhere else cheapest to free depending on your needs. Nobody will hastle you camping wherever your comfortable. food grows everywere and Panamanians share by their very nature.
The citys have cable modem connections, wireless is fast but after a certain ammont of GIGs slows you down, but can purchace more. Just about all central parks hav free wifi but slow. Internet cafe's 50 cents to $100 per hour and usually fast.
My Spanish still sucks, and my wife likes it that way. she understands me but likes helping translating my Spanish to real Spanish LOL. She and I are not lanuage teachers in any way.
If you present yourself in a likable way, most Panamanians will take whatever time is neccesary to help you in any way they can.
Great reply, Thank you
I'm happy to answer anything else you want.
I have 13 other Panama blogs that might interest you, cruz my blog of ask for the links.
Cheers

I took fishing ,Surfing and scuba tour to Coiba National park for a couple years. Plus stayed at The Yoga farm in Costa Rica for a time, still have friends there. Very close to a famous surf break @ Pavones.
I might be able to suggest some good spots there?
big surf.jpg

Thank you for the wonderful tour of your yard, in Panama.
It's great to see others from around the world and how they live.

What did you think about the thumbnail thing, Did it work for you or annoy you ?
Thanks

Sorry forgot to answer that question, it worked I liked it, you have the option to make them bigger if you would like by clicking them.

Right on ! 1 Positive response. With my slow connection, I have problems looking at blogs with multi HQ photos. I know most people have high speed though. So it's a bit of a dilemma for me.
Thanks very much for the reply.

Cheers My Friend

Do you use normal size photo for the thumbnails or do you need to resize them?

I uploaded to postimage, they give you several options in markdown to copy then paste. this time I chose thumbnails that are clickable. but takes you to there site to view full size. When I use full size here it fills the page. I'll learn to set the photo size soon. there is a markdown for that, I just havn't learned yet

Thanks for the tour of your yard... the vegetation looks somewhat similar to our yard when we lived on the island of Tobago, many moons ago.

The thumbnail format is pretty good and certainly saves a ton of bandwidth on an image-rich post like this.

Saving bandwidth was my idea and the people could expand the photos they were interested in, But offsite so I'm not thrilled. I would rather resize and give up some quality.
I would appreciate a little more info on exactly how you make your page. If you have a program to do it. I'm a old phart too and we probably are wired the same way LOL
You might like this old post of mine:* Pioneers of the First Computerized Social Media ( BBS )
I have a Thousand stories, I just can't get them written.
Thanks again

I liked the thumbnails. You have a beautiful yard. It's fun to see other parts of our world from a personal perspective. Thanks for the tour :)

Thanks for the reply. I'm not thrilled with needing to go off site to expand the pictures and working on better avenues to post. Little by little with feedback from good people like yourself and I'll be a master some day LOL
Thanks so much :-)

Panama is awesome... I went to jungle training there.

may I ask, what is your take on the thumbnails? I'm undecided myself
Thanks

Nice, but small... Probably fine for younger people but hard for an old guy to see.

Yes, I need to learn how to size photo's next... Did you click to expand any?
I was just experimenting on this blog.
Thanks for the reply
Cheers

I use Postimage.org to post pics it gives you a size option... I just experiment to get the size I want then save it. Being fundamentally a tech idiot- I didn't think of it lol!

Great answer, I saw that option and knew it could be done, I'm just pulled in so many directions and not doing anything well, but still getting some stories out anyway LOL
Cheers my friend

When it comes to computers, I'm a techno-idiot... If I can use it, it's got to be easy. To me a comp is just a glorified typewriter.

I swore I would never get a phone that did more than just that, But I'm all in on that 1 now too, learning every day :-) A computer in my pocket that blows the doors off my first computer LOL

Very nice Brother

Yum! Your yard looks good.

You My Dear, are welcome to visit anytime you wish :-)
Nothing has value unless you can share it.
Cheers

Thank you for the invitation. I'll let you know if I'm up that way.

I enjoyed reading your tour. I noticed your Lemon grass, we got a couple and they smell so nice. After the summer rains began they shot up like a rocket. We were way under for rainfall until June and there were lots of fires all around during the spring. Steem on🐓

We live in a very dry area but the lemon grass gets watered in the dry season. We cut 7-8 leaves and boil it for tea.
Thanks for the kind reply :-)
Cheers

Nice photos. Man you can grow so many things we cannot here. Love your selection! Followed! :)

I can't grow anything that needs a cooler period ( season ) like grapes, apples, peaches, pears and the like. But they all available in the mountain regions. Some day i want to buy some land there.
Thanks for the reply, got you back :-)
Cheers

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64202.90
ETH 3439.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59