My Steemit Art Summary

in #origami6 years ago (edited)

0.jpg

I've been a steemit user for 3 month now so I decided to make a little recap post. The image on top has bits and pieces of most of them. I've been somewhat busy most of the time with uni but posted whenever creativity or an idea struck. Art helps me deal with everyday stress and is just a great medium for relaxation. I always look for new stuff to try out and interesting twists to old ones.

Steemit has a whole lot of creative artists which helped me grow as an artist looking for new ideas.

DQmPgNP4f7ppACNmG5hKFkmcqzMeadTnEs1jTAZYzYHzWmV.jpg

My first post after an introduction was about sonobe unit, instructions and different ways in which they can connect. This is also the biggest model I made from them which uses around 800 units. I made 2 other ones in the past 4 years. I'm not a 100% sure if the structures are the same since I used different sources for reference.

4.jpg

1.jpg

This was a post about kawasaki roses, I discussed the instructions a bit and tried explaining difficult steps. The first time I made this was for my sister's(@kristyglas) birthday and it took me around 2 hours(it looked awful). I've been trying out different finishing touches, methods for the base and a lot more for the past 6+ years.
I was really focused on tutorial like posts in the beginning since I think it's nice to appreciate art but even better to be able to recreate it, It give a deeper understanding of it's difficulty and time requirement.

2.jpg

This was an entry for @jacinta.sevilla's plastic awareness contest. It has a couple different origami models and a crochet granny square.

5.jpg

This was a week long project of 1000 paper cranes and 200 lucky stars. I'm really proud of this one and they're hanging nicely in my room.

6.jpg

My first 3d origami contest went a bit worse than expected with only two participants but I'll host something easier next time.

DQmXhhnRVCjhtXoT86bXUy7nj3v3UJ6kfNds5GrMSPPG52F.jpg

I learned about filet crochet from @anise and made a bunch of posts about it, making diagrams and made many cool things, It also got me my first curie vote. Someone suggested #needleworkmonday and #fiberartists for crochet and knitting so I post with those tags occasionally.

8.jpg

I made a post about crocheting balls and learned about t-shirt yarn from @cryptocariad which is a lot of fun to make and use.

9.jpg

This was a very fun project, five intersecting tetrahedra, pieces are easy but combining them is hell. I tried making them as small as I could.

10.jpg

This was the first big filet crochet project I made a diagram for (that's not just letters), I think it looks really cool. I keep it under a glass table.

11.jpg

I decided to show my cube collection and made my first d-tube video of me solving them. Not really art but it's a fun hobby.

DQmUVGFEC7SdKfu9C4TcomDP8D9488rUNJSvZNg1vBpCsWE_1680x8400.jpg

Next was a post about my favorite style of origami, tessellations. I love doing these when I don't want to think about what I'm folding. I also made a 3 part improvement journey, folding complex origami models.

DQmWjpU35qAnUSVCgwR5eZVD3jbyFvqC72AdEznLkprUh3D.jpg

This was a fun post about calligraphy, I like writing like this when I have time.

tetris.gif

This was probably my favorite post and one I put most effort into. It had tetris, origami, crochet, calligraphy and I had fun making a gif, learning how to edit photos and video. I got my second curie upvote on this post. I also finally got puyo puyo tetris, already rank 900 global, I'm still pretty bad at puyo though.

I've had a wonderful time for the past 3 month here, time passed so fast, met a lot of cool people and hope to meet a lot more.

Sort:  

Great works👏👏

Thank you :)

A lot achieved in 3 months @ivan-g... I look forward to seeing what you can share with us next - origami and textiles perhaps ?
Oh, and thanks for the mention 😊

Thank you, look forward to your stuff too, what do you mean by textiles? Like using different materials or cloth origami :D

Yes, indeed @ivan-g... Some of the work on this site reminds me of your tessellations. It's mainly the work of Teresa DownUnder but there's also Reiko Sudo (of course!)
Last year I got a wonderful book entitled Fabric Manipulation and I felt many of the techniques were like origami. I'm keen on origami but I can't really go any further than the crane or the models at origami-club 😆
I have made butterflies and various shapes that are based on origami and they look really 3 dimensional in fabric :)

1526761822421-1426888353.jpg
I know how it works in general, ill definitely try it with fabric, this is also how you close the kawasaki roses :D

That looks marvellous @ivan-g ! and origami roses would be brilliant !

You do so many cool and creative things! I always like to find a post by you in my newsfeed when I have a chance to logon.

That's so nice to hear :) I love your crochet/knitting too, waiting on that purple scarf :D happy to always see you pop up in the comments

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by -Killua from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Congratulations @ivan-g! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63177.41
ETH 2439.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58