Hobby - Rubik's cubes

in #hobby6 years ago (edited)

0.jpg
I want to share a fun little hobby I have. I started solving a rubik's cube around 9 or 10 years ago, when I was 11-12 years old. My sister and I bougt a cheap cube in a dollar store and decided to try to solve it using some instructions we found online, this one(I still use some of these algorithms).
The beginners' method is:

  • Solving a white cross

  • Inserting white corners

  • Inserting edges into the middle layer

  • Solving yellow cross

  • Fixing the top edges

  • Moving corners in the right place

  • orienting the corners

    A slightly more advanced method I use does steps 2 and 3 at once(these two steps usually take the longest), I average slightly less than a minute.
    The pyraminx is one of the easiest puzzles and takes a few seconds to solve if you know how. You could even solve it by luck and a bit of messing around.
    The larger cubes have a few more algorithms but if you're using the reduction method(solving centers, combining edges to make a 3x3 with long edges and bigger centers) you still need to know how to solve the 3x3 cube.
    Even cubes have 2 extra algorithms for parity since they don't have centers. There's orientation and permutation parity:
    3.jpg
    2.jpg

    The method for all big cubes is almost the same:

  • Solve one center

  • Opposite center

  • A center in between

  • Adjacent center

  • Last two centers

  • Combine 4 edges by only slicing the middle layers and placing solved edges on top

  • Do the same on bottom

  • Solve last four with algorithms (there's one more algorithm for 5x5+ cubes that switches 2 opposite edge pieces)
    4.jpg

  • Solve like a 3x3

  • (For even cubes do parity algs if necessary)

I like solving bigger cubes like 13x13 on my phone if I have some time to burn. I use a cool app called MagicPuzzlePro free on google play store.
1.jpg

Here's a video of me solving some(my first dTube video). I have a timer but it's on my phone with which I recorded.



▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS

Thanks for checking out the post. I'll upload more origami soon :)

Sort:  

What a cute hobby! These have been my nightmares for years - then I simply quit haha! Lovely post :)

Thank you :)

It sharpens the head👏👍

And calms the soul :D

I've always been so bad at that and admired people who can solve them without a problem.

It's all about following steps and instructions, first time is the hardest but once it clicks it's simple :) I'm sure you can do it, gl
ps. If you like puzzles try out these, they're pretty easy to figure out on your own there's a few patterns ^^ (the even ones are a bit confusing so just go with odd ones since they have centers)
Screenshot_2018-04-14-16-32-06.png
https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=magic.puzzle.pro

What a cool hobby! Upvoted :)

Thanks :)

Fascinating! I had one of these when they first came out, but never solved it. I had no idea there were so many different types and sizes of them! 😊

_Whaleshares-ThanksForSharing.png

Tnx for checking the post out :)

I never solved one, hahahah :) I just messed with someone elses and never invested much time on it, but It required a patience and attention I had not when trying hahaah :) and those with seven per side :) looks like a challenge.

Try it out some time if you're free, there are many detailed instructions and videos online ^^

You just planted 0.13 tree(s)!


Thanks to @ivan-g

We have planted already 5699.09 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 18692.36
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

Congratulations @ivan-g! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by -Killua from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63475.77
ETH 3117.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94