Calligraphy - Gothic font

in #art6 years ago (edited)

1.jpg

I started calligraphy around 5 years ago. One summer I got bored and found an ink set, so I decided to look up a cool font. I've always liked the Old Times English font in Microsoft Word so I found something similar. I've always had a terrible handwriting so this was a really nice contrast.

2.jpg

I still kept the paper I printed and learned from, it looks ancient. I wish I could credit the author but I couldn't find it anywhere online.

3.jpg

4.jpg

I practiced it a whole lot and even wrote one of my English essays in this font, the teacher was amazed. Too bad the content wasn't as good.
Fast forward a few years, I had to get my ID done. I couldn't think of any signature so I wrote my first and last name in this font. Now it's on my ID, driver's license, college card and I sign my papers like this:

5.jpg

I've gotten good enough that it takes me no time whatsoever to sign.
I had a bit of trouble with it though. when I was writing my entrance exam for the college. One of the examiners singled me out because of it and asked me for my ID to check my signature. Crazy part is one of the professors in the room was a polish teacher, I took polish as a side subject in 2nd year. I had to sign a paper in front of her when I was signing in to the class and she recognized my signature.
I wish my hands didn't shake so much, it's very visible in the photos I took. It's a really interesting hobby and I'm really glad I learned it.

Ps.
If anyone wants something written just write a comment, I can even add a transparent bg if you want ^^

Thanks for reading 🙂

Sort:  

That's awesome, Ivan. I remember dabbling in calligraphy years ago (before home computers). It's a great way to sign your name. They won't forget you in a hurry :D

SIGNATURE.png

Yep <3

That's the coolest signature! Great work. ;)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by -Killua from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

You just planted 0.43 tree(s)!


Thanks to @ivan-g

We have planted already 7314.59 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 22155.36
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58951.49
ETH 2505.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48