Steemit's Official Open Mic Judge @Verbal-D's Top 5 Entries For Week 72 (Original Blog)

in #openmic6 years ago (edited)


Steemit Open Mic Week 72

My Top 5 In Order


U5dr8oM2omDT43VKqDaA2Zn9ig9qbGA_1680x8400.png


As one of the 6 judges, and as an original artist also, I aim to represent the best original artists in this contest from our wonderful Steemit community. I am keeping my ears open for cover artists as well, don't worry but creating an original song is indeed impressive, especially if executed and performed well. Best of skill and performance to you all next week. This week was filled with so many wonderful artists, even amongst the high amount of entries, and there were still many talented performers who entered, so forgive me if I didn't list you, I definitely heard everyone's entries. Also, be sure to check out the other judges' top picks for the week, @krystle, @soundlegion, @passion-ground, @meno, and @luzcypher, who hosts the Open Mic Contest. See you next week! And don't forget to please vote for @Pfunk as witness, who is our biggest supporter and sponsor for this Open Mic Contest.


1. @etemi's "1+1" By Beyonce Cover Song
You absolutely blasted through the atmosphere with your epic vocals once again. Whew you can sing so impactfully @etemi. The soul and human emotions with your high quality, controlled tone is unmatched. I love how this song is about love between two strong in-love individuals and I can tell how passionately caring you are not only about your musical presentation but the feelings you harbor and hold dear towards @mrprecious. Great guitar playing as well. You both are definitely Steemit Open Mic's power couple and you have blessed us once again with another climactic performance. Thanks for sharing with us this gem. We look forward to what you showcase next.

https://steemit.com/openmic/@etemi/1-1-cover-of-beyonce-by-etemi-steemit-openmic-week-72-entry


2. @zipporah's "Home Tonight" Original Song
My sentiments on why I have placed you once again in my top 5 are akin to @meno's explanation as well. I am known for favoring original music, check, I love music that means something deep and is personally reflective and inspiring, check, I want to feel and be in tune with the performer because it is evident that they truly care about the music they are sharing because it has a purposeful and intentional impact/storyline, check. Not only do you sing beautifully on your Bluebird Microphone (a beauty by the way) your story is just compelling and adds so much depth with how intimately you have interwoven the care within your lyrics, which continue to showcase a raw realness and vulnerability that is fused within your original masterpieces. Thank you for your gift of music and being a beacon of light, hope and encouragement of strength for us all in this community. Looking forward to more of your originals. We can never have enough original music. :)

https://steemit.com/openmic/@zipporah/steemit-open-mic-week-72-home-tonight-original-song


3. @kayclarity's "You Were Meant For Me" By JEWEL Cover Song

You can sing with such enchanting songbird effortlessness. Original or cover, it doesn't matter because you use your vocal instrument to bring to life anything you put your all into, and steemit open mic artists such as yourself, are who us judges look forward to hearing week in and week out, because your consistency, quality and recognition-deservjng entries keep the standards and levels high for everyone to strive for their very best of themselves. You easily zone in and display your heartfelt compassion, translating feelings into wonderful sounds and creating that feel good frequency as you do so. Your music is something to be cherished. Thank you once again for another great entry. We are looking foreward to the next gem.

https://steemit.com/openmic/@kayclarity/open-mic-week-72-you-were-meant-for-me-by-jewel


4. @javierdunn' "If You Go" Original Song
This was a near perfect entry in how you executed such a deep and moving and even melancholy song. This touches the heart and soul instantly and I really enjoyed the soft and swaying flow of your superb singing style. You wrote one beautiful song that I am sure many of us can relate to due to the pain and hurt that is revealed within your lyrics. That chorus is so catchy and has been stuck in my heard off and on since I first heard your entry. So glad you were able to turn a dark and inflicting experience into something so profound and real. This definitely is worthy of appreciation and has high replay value. Thank you for this gem, and I look forward to more of your soulful originals.

https://steemit.com/openmic/@javierdunn/steemit-open-mic-week-72-original-song-if-you-go



5. @innerdialogue's "If I Ain't Got You" By Alicia Keys Cover Song
First off you sing so carefully and with high passion and precise intensity. You play piano really well and the pleasing vocals that you cascaded on this excellent cover choice is what really grabbed my attentjon. You respect the craft and care for the sound that you produce and your entire entry was satisfying to my listening ears. I respect and admire such passion, your performance was very thrilling because you knew how to build the momentum, enable use and capitalize off of the crescendos and decreacendos in your performance. Thank you for displaying such quality and dynamic in your great entry. This was a pleasure and I look forward to your next one. The fun you had with this one is indeed contagious and inspiring.

https://steemit.com/openmic/@innerdialogue/steemit-open-mic-week-72-alicia-keys-if-i-ain-t-got-you-cover





Honourable Mentions


My Top 7 In A Particular Order : )


1. @pedromrmourato's "Eleanor Rigby" By The Beatles Cover Song
You guys are just great, another high quality wonderful interpretative cover which you creatively made your own, I can't wait to start hearing some originals soon if you have any.
https://steemit.com/openmic/@pedromrmourato/steemit-openmic-week-72-eleanor-rigby-beatles



2. @yrmaleza's "Con Los Años Que Me Quedan" By Gloria Estefan Cover Song
I still love your passionate and wonderful singing voice. It is uniquely refined and often overlooked but you're a force to reckon with for sure. Please keep singing and sharing.
https://steemit.com/openmic/@yrmaleza/steemit-openmic-week-72-cover-con-los-anos-que-me-quedan



3. @zulkiflisaadan's "I Don't Wanna Talk About It" By Rod Stewart Cover Song
I really enjoyed the gutteral, soulful and deep lamenting singing you shared on this moving cover. You captured the feeling spot on! Nice job.
https://steemit.com/openmic/@zulkiflisaadan/openmic-week-72-cover-i-dont-wanna-talk-about-it


4. @honeymoon-1611's "Remedy" By Adele Cover Song
This entry sounds so much better, nice that you followed the advice I gave you. Glad to help, because your beautiful singing comes through so much more clearly. Adele is a tough singer to match but she would definitely approve of your entry as do I.
https://steemit.com/openmic/@honeymoon-1611/steemit-open-mic-week-72-remedy-adele-cover-by-honeymoon-1611



5. @storycharlemagne's "Time" Original Song
Another solid original gem from you. Your style is starting to show some similar distinction that shows the consistency and quality of your creative prowess. Keep up the wonderful music man.
https://steemit.com/openmic/@storycharlemagne/steemit-open-mic-week-72-story-charlemagne-time-original



6. @melodeons' "Lord Bless Our Home (Country)" Original Song
You guys had so much fun performing this one, the positive and good vibes resonated directly across upon the first listen through and the unison, chemistry and harmonies are really nice. So glad the community recognized your talents. God bless you all.
https://steemit.com/openmic/@melodeons/steemit-openmic-week-72-original-lord-bless-our-home


7. @gabrielamenesesg's "Lithium" By Evanescence Cover Song
Another sweet sounding entry, keep up the qualitative entries, I can tell you give it all you've got and that is what makes for a good heartfelt performance. Conviction is what makes a good voice greater and you make it look easy. Thanks again.
https://steemit.com/openmic/@gabrielamenesesg/steemit-open-mic-semana-72-lithium-evanescence-cover


Special Mentions


Apparently a lot of people don't know that I, @Verbal-D, am a Hip Hop Emcee as much as I am a singer/songwriter/beat producer, so I will continue to showcase from now on the song that inspired @Luzcypher to create the Open Mic Contest that we are all apart of today. I hope it inspires you to write original music.

The Official Steemit Song By @Verbal-D, Feat. @Papa-Pepper & @EdgarStudio


Here was my unofficial judge's entry for Open Mic Week # 72, in case you missed it, which is also an entry for a Mixtape Collaboration with my bro, fellow Steemian @Sirlunchthehost, who hosts and produces some of the amazing beats for the Steemit Animated Violence Mixtape Project (SAVM)


Open Mic Wk # 72 Entry: Crypto Diggers


My Friend, Fellow Steemian & Talented Singer/Songwriter/Pianist @Isaria has just released her new Original Steemit & @DSound Exclusive and Steemit based song "Come Follow Me", which was Mixed & Mastered by @EdgarStudio. You Must Listen & Check Out The Awesomeness. Please Be sure to follow and upvote them both and show them some love through comments and support.
IMG_7307.JPG
D-Sound File -"Come Follow Me"
"Come Follow Me" Steemit Post Link


Thank you for viewing and reading this post in its entirety, I hope you enjoyed it for what it's worth.


All Gifs used from Giphy.com

Next Post coming tomorrow

Sort:  

My heart is so full up and smiling, bolstered by the depth with which you hear and see me. As I said to @meno — I’ve so long kept these songs tucked safely behind my lips, believing they weren’t good enough to share. My music has always been my first love and also the thing I’ve most guarded. You’re all helping to draw it out — showing me it’s safe to do so here. There simply aren’t words for how much this means to me. 🙏🏼 THANK YOUsincerely.

This is a wonderful response to read from you, it is cool to learn that are becoming more comfortable to showcasing your music. Our mindsets can keep us from sharing music and other forms of art and creation that have the ability to change the world. Please check out this post of mine, you might find it interesting :)
https://steemit.com/poetry/@verbal-d/life-and-death-haikus-push-forward-original-poem
You are most welcome by the way and glad to encourage you further to reveal more from what you are willing to share with us. thanks as well

IMG_20180219_053317.JPG

Yes!! This what am talking bout. Damn! Thats how wide my mouth is opened right now... Glad to be on your top list once again.. Thanks sir! And to the other judges... Jah bless y'll

You are most welcome, you have one heavenly voice. God bless indeed. So glad to surprise you. Your performance had my jaw unhinged as well lol

Big ol' smile, my friend! Thank you!

Glad to bring you an opportunity to smile, you are most welcome, you deserved/earned it.

That was the first I heard your steemit song - effin great!

Thank you very much, I really appreciate you taking time to listen it man. Glad you enjoyed it as much as I did performing it :)

Awesome picks my friend... It brings a smile to my face to see that you connected with Zippy as much as I did....

Much love brother!

Thank you very much bro, yes it was a wonderful and deeply touching song.
Much love indeed

I do not know what to comment. I love thumbs ok👍👍👍👍

thanks for checking this out man, glad you loved it :)

you're welcome

Thank you for the information <3

Aww congratulations to everybody!~ So glad to see these wonderful and talented people posted for being so amazing. Keep it up guys!~ God bless you always!~

Plus just checked your song for Steemit. Man never know you could rap this way... You are one of the few amazing hispanic rappers

Oh thank you very much so glad you enjoyed the STEEMIT SONG, your comment made me laugh, I am part Mexican/Puerto Rican and also Chinese, Filipino, Native American Indian & Hawaiian. A proper mixed American lol if you saw my family it would look like the United Nations haha

Lmao.. Wow.. Thats crazy.. Your family should have its continent of its own. Seems all of you marry from races, you mentioned almost all the races except Africa, was hoping you would add It to the unending list of your root. Lmao

I have African-American family members as well, some of my first cousins and uncles. My wife is Jamaican and Ghanaian so our two children, my daughter Harmony,@happyharmonymay and my son Marcello are everything I am and my wife. Super mixed children lol God has blessed me and I love them all

You can see them all here

https://steemit.com/anniversary/@verbal-d/4th-year-wedding-anniversary-timeline-and-receiving-another-flag-for-a-mistake-i-cannot-reverse-original-blog

Yeah am gonna see them now.. This is a really big family, ghana is close to Nigeria. Yeah I can imagine their mixed it doesn't matter what colour God loves them that way! Have you ever been to Ghana and jamaica before?

Just checked man sorry bout the flag, who would have known you had been flagged before and mann!!! Your wife claudine may is so so beautiful wow! Your daughter harmorny is so cute... Now I see why may stayed up even with the distance to be with you.. You are such an honest man! I am thinking of doing a cover song now long distance.. God bless your Union!

Gonna bookmark it and will listen to each of them. Thank you so much for posting, sir.

You are very welcome, thanks for checking and I hope you enjoy these top entries

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66437.76
ETH 3321.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71