Steemit Open Mic Week 72 - ORIGINAL SONG - If You Go

in #openmic6 years ago

an original song about moving on from a painful breakup. with a brief but memorable cameo by my dog, Mirfy. apparently, he was over it. thanks for watching and listening! and thanks to @openmic and all of its coordinators for all the amazing work they do. i'm proud to be a part of this creative community!

LYRICS:

UP ALL NIGHT AT THE WINDOW
HOLDING TIGHT TO A PICTURE FRAME
YOU'RE INSIDE BUT SOMETHING DOESN'T FEEL THE SAME
I CLOSE MY EYES BUT ALL I SEE IS
BOTH YOUR EYES FILLED WITH PAIN
MUST SAY I DIDN'T SEE THIS COMING

IF YOU GO PLEASE DONT WRITE
PLEASE DONT CALL CUZ YOUR VOICE WILL MAKE ME CRY
NOTHING GOOD IN THIS GOODBYE
SO LET ME GO ON WITHOUT YOU

EVERY TIME I END UP WASTED
EVERY TIME I FEEL THE PAIN
NOT THIS TIME I JUST WANT TO FEEL NOTHING

IF YOU GO PLEASE DONT WRITE
PLEASE DONT CALL CUZ YOUR VOICE WILL MAKE ME CRY
NOTHING GOOD IN THIS GOODBYE
SO LET ME GO ON WITHOUT YOU

I KNOW THAT YOU'RE ALONE TONIGHT
AND SO AM I ... BUT I WILL FIND YOU

HOPING I COULD FINALLY BREAK YOU
I SAID GOODBYE TO YOUR FACE
KNOWING I COULD NEVER REALLY FEEL THAT WAY

IF YOU GO PLEASE DONT WRITE
PLEASE DONT CALL CUZ YOUR VOICE WILL MAKE ME CRY MY LOVE
NOTHING GOOD IN THIS GOODBYE
SO LET ME GO ON WITHOUT YOU

UP ALL NIGHT...

Sort:  

I love it! Dog's always "get over it" post haste! Perhaps that's why we love and need them so much... All that said, this is beautiful composition and performance, brother! I truly enjoyed and appreciated it for everything that it is! :-) !!

haha yes a dog doesn't fake his emotions: he's into it or he isn't. so present! but thank you for listening and writing and really feeling what i'm putting out there. it's always a bit of a scary moment to hit "post" on something like a performance piece, so it really is wonderful when people receive it so kindly. thank you @passion-ground !

oh so good my friend. I love the expression you give in your face when you sing and I can feel those notes. skin rose

what a great response! thanks @soundlegion ... i really can't express how great the support on steemit has been. and you are part of that. a thousand times, thank you.

Brother this is a beautiful song!!, congratulations!! following and hoping for more! :)

thank you so much @luisferchav ... really appreciate the kind words. i'll be posting more music next week. thanks!

Oh...this is just wonderful. You remind me of Nick Drake – similar soft strength in your tonality, your delicate guitar shapes and simple, unforced lyricism. The sirens in the background add some extra, sentimental relatibility. Really, so beautifully done. I'll definitely be watching for future entries /examples of your exceptional talent.

soooo, you just made my week! thank you SO MUCH @zipporah ... Nick Drake?! definitely a hero of mine, and a compliment i do not take lightly. thank you thank you thank you. it's folks like you that keep me going and creating despite the setbacks of "the real world" - money, life, etc. ... and you caught me at a time of self-doubt, so thank you. you rock. happy steeming!

Really good song man!

Wow gorgeous tune. Have you tried uploading to dtube? they tend to give a decent upvote if you post videos via the platform. I had to download another browser "Opera" to use it though. Anyway, love this tune. And your voice always.

cheers, ben! my first submission to open mic was via dTube and i was told by the moderators that i had to use youtube for open mic. so that's what i've been doing. i guess for all other video posting services, dTube is better. thanks for the tip!

you should definitely upload this to dtube. and for future entries provide youtube at the top of your post and dtube down below so you can hit two birds with one stone :)

I love the rhythm, it's consistency and the passion you portray, it just gives the song a deep meaning. Thank you and keep up on the good work, I just followed you.

thank you SO MUCH @awesomeabasiono !!! that really means a lot to me. not only your kind words, but your kind "follow" as well :) thanks for being such a great part of this amazing online community! happy steeming!

This was such a great original song, well performed, this was super deep

thank @verbal-d ! you have no idea how much that means. i'm gonna start using dTube more as well. thanks for advice! happy steeming!

Wow. That was wonderful. Such raw and emotional lyrics, but somehow beautiful and vulnerable. My eyes feel a little moist after that. Those chords in the bridge were really cool and the way in went back into the verse worked really well. I'll be looking out for your submissions. Well done on getting fourth place - well deserved!

thanks @camuel ... i actually had no idea i got fourth place! that's awesome! thanks for letting me know. and super thanks for such kind and detailed words about my performance. the whole community has been so supportive. i really appreciate you taking the time and energy to write to me. it means the world. happy steeming!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62184.89
ETH 2995.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97