Steemit's Official Open Mic Judge @Verbal-D's Top 5 Entries For Week 55 (Original Blog)

in #openmic7 years ago (edited)


Steemit Open Mic Week 55

My Top 5 In Order


As one of the 5 judges, and as an original artist also, I aim to represent the best original artists in this contest from our wonderful Steemit community. I am keeping my ears open for cover artists as well, don't worry but creating an original song is indeed impressive, especially if executed and performed well. Best of skill and performance to you all next week. This week was had a lot of entries, and I am really happy to see a big resurgence of skillful original songwriters bringing their best creations forward, and there were still many talented performers who entered, so forgive me if I didn't list you, I definitely heard everyone's entries. See you next week!



1. @addiesworld's "Holy" Original Song
You are no stranger to my top list and that is for good reason. You certainly know how to perform your instant hit songs to our awaiting Steemit community with such empowering performances. It is hard to deny your talent and you give us quality original entry after quality original entry and I can definitely appreciate and give acknowledgement to your efforts. This song is an impacting and memorable feeling that drives the heart and soul forward, and your sweet singing leaves an audience hoping for more. I can't wait to see what you come up with or share with us next. Your talents are indeed gifted by The Holy One

https://steemit.com/openmic/@addiesworld/steemit-open-mic-week-55-original-holy



2. @tombalistreri's "You'll Walk Alone" Cover Song
You truly have outdone yourself this week. This was a near flawless performance and I was there in the moment of your powerful singing. You delivered this with such poise, control, passion and impactful vibrato that would get acknowledgement and appreciation from similar great singers of this classic era of music. Way to be a positive role model and influence of hope for all of us other generational artists and, as well as, showing us how to present Crooning at its highest level, and the beauty that attracts all listeners to its refined and distinct sound of soulful singing.

https://steemit.com/openmic/@tombalistreri/steemit-openmic-week-55-you-ll-walk-alone-cover-performed-by-tombalistreri



3. @stanhopeofficial's "Out To Sea" Original Song
This was a very deep and emotionally moving song. You have such a unique and refined vocal tone quality that it is clear cut amongst the rest in its distinct sound. You sang this original song of yours so wonderfully. The acoustics and overall sound was encompassing and welcomingly surrounding. The lyrics are quite poetic and profound and your guitar playing was the complimentary backdrop to the scenes you painted with your voice. I really enjoyed this song of yours and I look forward to more entries from you in the future.

https://steemit.com/openmic/@stanhopeofficial/steemit-open-mic-week-55-out-to-sea-original-song



4. @lucybanks's "Another Chance" Original Song
You are consistently on point and you are now bringing forth wonderful, original & catchy songs. But as I can tell from your passion and how you craft your melodies and lyrics, to the way you perform them, it is more than just about making catchy, memorable songs. You create songs with a bigger purpose and this original tells a story and gives a glimpse of real human emotion and how you felt at a certain time and place in your life, and I feel it is something that many of us can relate to. I hope you too also got another chance. Your vocals as I have mentioned before are just naturally gifted with a high quality, easily enjoyable texture. Please keep sharing your songs.
https://steemit.com/openmic/@lucybanks/steemit-open-mic-week-55-another-chance-by-lucybanks-original



5. @drewley's "A Hero's Theme" Original Song
If this doesn't inspire you to want to save the world, then I don't know what else to say. This was another beautiful composition from you. You interweave so many different components of your creative playing into your grand masterpieces that it deserves to be repeated back to back to enjoy each section individually as well as the entire piece as a whole. This one is as uplifting as ever and has a captivating and motivating energy within it. Keep up the great playing and thank you once again for sharing your gifts with us all.

https://steemit.com/openmic/@drewley/steemit-open-mic-week-55-a-hero-s-theme-original-piano-piece





Honourable Mentions


My Top 7 In No Particular Order



7. @branhmusic's "What We've Got" Original Song
https://steemit.com/openmic/@branhmusic/steemit-openmic-week-55-original-song-what-we-ve-got


Thank you for viewing and reading this post in its entirety, I hope you enjoyed it for what it's worth.


All Gifs used from Giphy.com

Next Post coming tomorrow

Sort:  

Nice picks this week @verbal-d! There were a lot of new faces and some great performances. Thanks for your help. Resteemed.

You're most welcome bro, each week seems to get tougher and tougher. Appreciate the resteem as always

I think @addiesworld entry this week as a new level of ninjaism... i had her tune stuck in my head for a whole day... and im listening again right now so its going to stay in my head again all night... awesome pics!!! upvoted

Thank you very much, I appreciate it, yeah her entry was stealthy and effective! It is also stuck in my head

Congratulations to all chosen entries! Great choice, @verbal-d! :)

Thank you very much, I appreciate it. Congrats to them all, yes indeed

Thank you very much for having me on your list!!

Thank you for playing so wonderfully and with precise carefulness

@ verbal-d I am totally honored to be included in your top pick for this week and for your kind words. It means a lot. Resteemed. Thank you! Here is my entry for week 56. An original song debut. Take care. https://steemit.com/openmic/@stanhopeofficial/steemit-open-mic-week-56-road-made-man-original-song-debut

You are very welcome, I am glad to write them. I shall hear your original song debut soon when I have time, take care and Steem on!

Thank you very much for your most kind words.
I realize I often choose material and vocals that were out of style long ago.
So I do appreciate your comments.
Thanks again.

You're very welcome, they are a treat to listen to when you bring them full to life like this entry. Your last week's was solid as well.

Thank you very much for including me on the list! This feels great.

You're welcome, glad to give back a great feeling to our fellow musicians, you deserve it

@verbal-d! Yet again you have said such nice words!
Thank you so much! Your confidence in me has definitely kept me going!!

You're are very welcome. So glad to boost your confidence, sometimes we all need a bit of inspiration and push to keep going. Music is amazing, but can be draining and disappointing too when we don't reach our own expectations at times. You are doing very well, keep it up and don't back off. The moment you do, could be the moment you could have opened a new opportunity or made a new connection and so forth. I have learned to push forward no matter what, and nothing but good has come from it as a musician.

If you haven't already, feel free to check out my Official Steemit Song
I wrote the lyrics for all of us Steemians
https://steemit.com/music/@papa-pepper/verbal-d-s-the-official-steemit-song-featuring-edgarstudio-and-papa-pepper-music-video

You're definitely right! It's so upsetting when you have a creative block and lose all momentum for what you have been doing. I quite often get a bit tired and drained of my originals and give up so I need to do as you said and just keep pushing on!

I'll have a look now, excited :D

Yes definitely, I have done so many originals to the point it becomes second nature and a natural skill to rely on, and you definitely have the same capabilities to bring out more of your own voice, style and impact to the music world. I look forward to hearing what you say about this song, I have many more I can recommend, but my library nowadays is quite ridiculous. I can truly say Steemit has inspired and encouraged me to write and create more than I ever have before in my entire life

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66631.72
ETH 3487.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71