Steemit's Official Open Mic Judge @Verbal-D's Top 5 Entries For Week 50 (Original Blog)

in #openmic7 years ago (edited)


Steemit Open Mic Week 50


(Click Blue Link Above To View All Entries For This Week)

Original Artists

My Top 5 In Order


As one of the 5 judges, and as an original artist also, I aim to represent the best original artists in this contest from our wonderful Steemit community. I am keeping my ears open for cover artists as well, don't worry but creating an original song is indeed impressive, especially if executed and performed well. Best of skill and performance to you all next week. Luck is not needed here. This week was really good. Like last week, I found more amazing music from you participating musicians, I definitely heard everyone's entries. Some really powerful stuff here. See you next week!



1. @trevorpetrie's "Lion In The Closet" Original Song
I want to commend you on a very powerful, yet extremely uniquely written song. I found your lyrics so intriguing in how you described Depression as a Lion intimidating and dominating your Thoughts, which is represented by the claustrophobic and imprisoning confines of a closet. I am very happy to hear you are on your journey to overcoming depression, I am rooting for your success and you are an inspiration for all who suffer these same oppression conditions. Music is indeed a wonderful way to express and combat our trials and tribulations in this life. Your melodies and your chilling singing really brought to life this moving song. I connected with the feelings of hurt and pain that sifted through the verses and the chorus is very memorable. I hope you receive more recognition for this life-changing song. It has the power to affect others on a positive level and give them more hope in life. Keep battling that Lion and become King over it! The reasons and background for a song's creation also means a lot to me in my choices as well as song presentation and execution. Yours is definitely underrated and I look forward to your next entry.

https://steemit.com/openmic/@trevorpetrie/steemit-open-mic-week-50-original-song-lion-in-the-closet



2. @sweetpea's "Smitten" Original Song
As usual, before watching any video, I never know what to expect from a new artist, and this grunge alternative love song you dedicated to your wife is beyond amazing. It is very powerful because of the passion and intention flowing through your music can be easily felt. You can sing greatly with emotion and control which is always a nice balance to witness. Your guitar playing and the chords chosen for this piece are memorable of the 90s age for sure as others have referenced. I can hear the influence from this time and you certainly made this your own. I can see why it is your wife's favorite and you presented her a wonderful gift that represents how much you care for her. It has very high replay value and profound. I wish you both a long-lasting marriage and many more creative jams that you two can share together.

https://steemit.com/openmic/@sweetpea/steemit-open-mic-week-50-smitten-an-original-song



3. @andybet's "Selling The Sunshine" Original Song
This was a very interesting topic about ancient Sunshine being the oil stored within plants, but it definitely provided a cool backstory to this extremely catchy song. I really enjoyed the notes you sang​ for this song, and the accompanying guitar chords smoothly complimented your storytelling in this poetic piece. I couldn't get this song out of my head since first listening to it, and definitely deserves top 3 recognition based on many aspects, especially creativity, originality, and your falsetto voice was pretty on point, presenting your idea very well, even if you feel you have yet to perfect it; I hear the idea clearly and is definitely a hidden gem and a striking conversation piece. Looking forward to your next entry as well, thank you for sharing this one with us all.
https://steemit.com/openmic/@andybets/steemit-open-mic-week-50-selling-the-sunshine-original-song



4. @michaelstellaire's "Psychedelic Improvisation" Original Song
This was simply masterful, and on the contrary to being simple, but the way you played and executed your improv with the delayed effects really helped to create and enveloping/surround sound kind of environment for my listening enjoyment. It was indeed a cool experience with the headphones on. I commend you for your excellent creativity and this kind of song improv could be used in a multitude of projects. It has a lot of feeling and energy in it, and I especially appreciated the subtle nuances and details to how you transitioned between rhythmic runs, strums, finger taps, and other Sounds that you could make on the fly within the moment. Thank you for showing us how creative improv can be, as well as impactingly captivating. This was a strong and powerful piece.
https://steemit.com/openmic/@michaelstellaire/steemit-openmic-week-50-original-michael-stellaire-s-psychedelic-delay-steemit-improvisation-1



5. @fael's "Dos Rios" Original Song
I definitely recognize and acknowledge artists who are multifaceted and talented in their musical expression. When you started with a clearly controlled and effortless trumpet intro, then into your swift guitar playing, complimented by your cultural singing, it just made for an overall really well-done​ presentation. This would definitely make all of Brazil proudly content to be represented in such an artistic fashion. You created a very mysterious vibe with those slightly dark chords leading into a storytelling flow. I appreciate you sharing this gem with us all. Thank you very much. I may not understand the words, but the emotions conveyed translate effectively. Feel free to provide lyrics in your post next time, but it is definitely not required by any means.
https://steemit.com/openmic/@fael/steemit-openmic-week-50-original-song-by-fael-dos-rios


Cover Artists


There were so many amazing original artists, that I had no room for any Cover artists for my Top 5 picks




Honourable Mentions


My Top 5 In No Particular Order



5. @musiccircle's "It's Raining" Original Composition
https://steemit.com/openmic/@musiccircle/steemit-open-mic-week-50-it-s-raining-original-composition


Thank you for viewing and reading this post in its entirety, I hope you enjoyed it for what it's worth.


All Gifs used from Giphy.com

Next Post coming tomorrow

My very own wonderful gif logo provided to me by the generous and kindhearted @papa-pepper Thanks again very much!

Sort:  

Beautiful words man!!!! Thanks a lot!!! Words like these make me stronger! Thanks... Hugs from Brazil!

You are most welcome. It was a privilege. I am glad my words have strengthened you. Peace and Blessings to Brazil!

haha we both had andy at 3 ... i make a point not to look at the other picks till after I have made my picks. Great great mr. verbal-d always insightful and encouraging to the artists and the community.

Nice that is very cool my friend, it was such a catchy song from him, and I am the same way, I make my selections first, then post them, then I check out the other judges' selections as well. :) I am just doing what I can, cause I know what it means to receive quality feedback as an artist.

A fantastic write-up on your top picks this week. I'll be listening to these again.

Thanks, @verbal-d for all your help.

You're most welcome bro, glad to help. Definitely will be hearing this entries again.

Awesome "D" - I'm feelin' it all the way - right on!

Thanks bro, appreciate you and your support. I see you leaving solid comments of encouragement as well :)

How awesome is this! Thanks for taking the time to listen to all the entries and carefully selecting your favorites, thats what makes this contest work so well and why we keep coming back for more! My hubby is going to appreciate this so much and I hope it encourages him to share it with the world (he's so private about it)! Thanks again! Good luck everyone!

You're welcome, I hope it encourages him too. The Open Mic Contest is indeed well balanced for the community's engagement and enjoyment.

Thanks so much for the review @verbal-d! I greatly appreciate the level at which you've listened to my song. It really means a lot to my when I hear that one of my works has resonated with someone, especially with this piece which has so much personal significance. I will indeed to continue to tame the lion. Cheers!

You are most welcome @trevorpetrie, I really enjoyed your song and the depth and meaning within it. Best of success to you. Cheers!

Thanks for your support may the Lord Bless you

You're most welcome, God bless you too

Thanks a lot ! I'm realy happy to be in your top 5. It brings me motivation to keep on participating on the openmic.

Youre most welcome i look forward to continue judging each week, there are so many talented people here on steemit to share all the music with one another and inspire more great creations

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63815.31
ETH 3124.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99