Steemit Open Mic Week 50: SMITTEN - an original song

in #openmic7 years ago (edited)

This is our 3rd entry into the Steemit #openmic contest, strike 3 is an awesome original song that was written by my husband (muso in question) about 12 years ago when we first met. Yup, it’s a love song, dedicated to me! So obviously it makes it one of my favourites – I hope you feel the same. Please listen and enjoy! Your feedback is appreciated! 

Smitten – Original Song by Lannon Harms (a love song)   

Video recorded using a Samsung Galaxy S5 

----------------------------------------------------------------------------

Smitten is a song that is full of emotion. It was written in our early days when we first started dating, when we were both madly in love with each other but were unsure of where we were heading. Even through our doubt and uncertainty though, we were very positive about our relationship and that it would last, we were meant to be (this year marks our 7th wedding anniversary)! 

 

The Lyrics 

Desperate measures measure up to

Complicated thoughts we both think

Losing you would be losing myself though

I have lost myself years ago


Before I start talking way too much 

Please just interrupt me instead 

For my mind’s always playing tricks on my head 

But here with you I feel I belong, that I do   


Chorus

Love is something like the ocean 

It pushes and pulls you love 

Back and forth 

But I ride these swells with a smile upon my face 

It’s soothing love 

Your embrace   


And do I leave you in anticipation? 

Or am I making myself as clear as it’s written on my forehead? 

And if I lose this touch on you love would you remember 

‘Til the day you die what made you fall in love the first time? 

What’s got you so smitten anyway? 

----------------------------------------------------------------------------

More About The OpenMic Contest 


This is a weekly contest where musicians of all genres can submit originally recorded videos of their work/art. The contest was initiated by a fellow Steemian, @luzcypher and is panelled by a team of judges. 

Find out more about Steemit Open Mic Week 50 HERE! 

Thank you for listening, every upvote and resteem is greatly appreciated! 

Team South Africa banner designed by @bearone

Much love - @sweetpea 

(bringing you original content)

Sort:  

Just finished judging this week's open mic contest, as I had said earlier, I really enjoyed this song, here is the full review including your husband's song.

https://steemit.com/openmic/@verbal-d/steemit-s-official-open-mic-judge-verbal-d-s-top-5-entries-for-week-50-original-blog

Wow! This is awesome news to wake up to, thanks so much! Can't wait to tell my hubby, as soon as the bugger wakes up!

You're very welcome, Good morning to you both

Love listening to music but do not play any instruments and only sing when I am on my own. Talented and lovely share @sweetpea

@steelygeoff congrats on the 44, we have reached 41 and never had a serenade (just as well the dogs would have taken flight).

This post was resteemed by @resteembot!
Good Luck!


Curious? Check out:


The @resteembot users are a small but growing community.
Check out the other resteemed posts in resteembot's feed.
Some of them are truly great.

What a frikkin' awesome song and performance! I loved everything about it, especially the story behind it, and that funky twist 2/3rds of the way through! Alt/Grunge at it finest!

Your response made my day, will let my hubby know! We're 90s kids all the way and grunge will never leave us! Appreciate your feedback!

Hi @sweetpea I am listening to your rendition while I am typing my reply, your voice is kept at a soft low tone at the beginning, which is soothing and complimented by base strings on your guitar, i like that.

Thanks :) Appreciate your feedback! The tone is rocky, gets a bit more upbeat, just like the meaning of the song.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by sweetpea from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

This post has received a 0.78 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

tu daras la guerra en el concurso

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56766.86
ETH 2492.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36