Steemit Open Mic Week 50 - Selling the Sunshine (Original Song)

in #openmic7 years ago (edited)

A few years ago I was introduced to the idea that oil could be considered to be ancient sunlight, stored as energy in the bodies of the plants and animals of prehistory. This song ponders the relentless use and pursuit of oil from this perspective.

It assumes that oil is of biogenic origin, which I'm not quite so convinced about these days.

Thanks for listening!

Selling the Sunshine

What's the reason?
Tell me the reason
They're taking the sunshine
They're chasing the sunshine

East and West
They're not prepared to share the remnants of the ancient death

What's the reason?
Tell me the reason
They're stealing the sunshine
They're selling the sunshine

There and then
Had the tipping point arrived?
Again... you assure me things are fine, but you can't see what they're doing to the song

What's the reason?
Tell me the reason
They're taking the sunshine
They're selling the sunshine

Here and now
As the future hurts my eyes
I know that although I may be right, this is lost upon most everyone I know


SHA256:17cfa259a51e01221f0b9be8a321fad86e5e9219c17536d4d3662b99799561af

Sort:  

I just finished judging this week's open mic contest, your song is so catchy, it is a legitimate musical earworm, please check the full review of your song here.

https://steemit.com/openmic/@verbal-d/steemit-s-official-open-mic-judge-verbal-d-s-top-5-entries-for-week-50-original-blog

Thanks man, I appreciate that!

You're very welcome

👏👏👏 Great song Andy. Not sure if I've heard that particular one previously. 👍😊

Thanks Dad. It's another one I never quite perfected, but decided to upload it anyway. 😊

Steely is your Pops Andy? For real? If so, WOW!!! So cool... You two must collaborate on something down the road at some point... :)

Thanks man... it has been discussed, and will hopefully happen sometime soon!

That would be splendid, Andy!... I can't believe it - two of my favorite people on Openmic are Father & Son and I hadn't a clue...

What a thought-provoking piece of artistry! Beautiful Andy, simply beautiful! Nothing lost on me, friend - I'm buyin' all your sunshine... :-)

Amazing song and now I know where you got your guitar skills. Great work brother.

Cheers !!!

Hi guys, I am sure it won't embarass him if I say it was a struggle to get @andybets started on the guitar and I am sure he will correct me if I am wrong here, but I believe he was around 18yrs old when he finally took it up. Also, he certainly did'nt learn the clever chord progressions and picking syles from me! 😉

Thanks. We certainly had a lot of music around while we (my sister and I) were growing up! :)

I like picturing oil as ancient sunlight. That is great - hadn't encountered that idea before. I really dig your fingerpicking style, such a nice jaunty bounce to it - a great fit with your clear voice and wistful melodies. I really like this. Cheers

Thanks, it is an interesting idea. I can never quite seem to play the thumbed notes at the right volume compared to the fingered ones in this song, but it's not too bad.

Beautiful song! Well done Andy!
Upvoted and resteemed!

Congratulations @andybets! You won the 2nd place in Steemit Open Mic!

Want to see Open Mic at Steemfest? Read Help Get Steemit Open Mic To Steemfest 2

Click this image to go to the winner's page.

steemit_open_mic_second_place_winner.png

it's beautiful , great job man , loved the song , I just heard it late

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66095.77
ETH 3184.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.12