OFFICIAL: Songwriters Challenge | @passion-ground's Top-5 Entries for Week 5

in #openmic7 years ago (edited)

Song-Writers Top-5 Image.png


Summary…

This week’s theme was “Wind-Swept Shore.” It marked the start of the second half of the challenge, which means that things are going to start getting very exciting around here. Let me explain:

Before we officially launched the Songwriters Challenge, all of the judges, the sponsor and host realized that we had to come up with an ongoing scoring method that would not only keep track of cumulative points for each of the Top-5 entries from week-1 thru week-8, but we also had to come up with a scoring system that would allow anyone (except the current Top-5 front runners that is) to start ranking super-high in the standings regardless of how they’ve done in the first half of the challenge – and even if they are a newcomer, entering the challenge for the very first time! Here are the simplified basics:

In a nutshell, we created somewhat of a “fork” in the scoring dynamics. Here’s how it works. Beginning here in week-5, each of the three judges, me, @meno, and @krystle will get just two chances each over the remaining 4-weeks of the challenge to shower two of our individual 1st place picks with a “Golden Mic Award.” That means that as many as 6 people have a shot at “Golden-Mic Awards” from this point forward! As mentioned earlier, “Golden-Mic Awards” can be captured by anyone EXCEPT those who are already within the Top-5 amid the current standings.

So, what do you get if your performance receives a “Golden-Mic Award?” You get a one-way express ticket to an instant “tie-for-second-place” amid all of the top entrants thus far! However, you’ll still have to maintain that standing, and eventually, overtake whoever is in first place in order to win - but Wow, how about that!

And if all that wasn’t enough excitement for you – although it’s a super-long-shot - there is a way for someone to jump straight into first place at any time throughout the remainder of the challenge! How, might you ask? Well, if all 3-judges award the same person a “Golden Mic Award” in the same week, then that person jumps right into first place by a small margin – WHOA!

I’m telling you, things are going to get very exciting around here real soon - and for the remainder of this challenge as well – so stick around for all the thrills, and whatever you do, never stop creating and listening to great music!

Setting all of the pending excitement aside, all of the judges, sponsors, and hosts have made it clear from the start that the Songwriters Challenge is not at all about simply “winning-the-prize,” rather it is more about nurturing and encouraging artistic growth amidst a community of very talented people at every skill level.

The Songwriters Challenge is truly a place for artists of every ability to express themselves most creatively while gaining valuable feedback from their respected co-challengers, the music-loving community at large, and of course, with regular doses of love and praise from my esteemed colleagues, the judges. It’s a place to grow, flourish, and have fun stretching oneself amid the vast challenges and demands of creative musical expression – and that, my good friends, is what the Songwriters Challenge is truly all about.

To be honest, “the Grand-Prize” and the excitement of “Golden-Mic Awards” are more intended to entertain the non-participating viewing audience rather than to entice the artists. I believe that most all of the participating entrants already know this at heart and are driven to the challenge for far more altruistic reasons, some of which I’ve described above and below.

Prizes and the like simply pale in comparison to the respect, camaraderie, and admiration earned via the varied interactions and recognition one gets from the community as a whole – and at the end of the day, that makes us all winners!

So buckle up, and let’s keep on having a great time making and listening to some truly outstanding music from some of the most magnificent and talented artists from around the world!

Song Writers Challenge: Week-5 (Wind-Swept Shore)


Libra-Man SCALES.jpg

My Process


Aside from a few key category modifications (and dynamic forks) with regard to scoring and awarding points to the entrants of the Songwriters Challenge, I am basically using very similar methods to arrive at my picks and honorable mentions as I do in the general Open-Mic contest.

To get a more in-depth perspective as to how I personally go about selecting my artists, please refer to What I go through as an Open-Mic Judge.

My Top-5 Picks in Order


Buzzer Hit.jpg( )

GOLDEN-MIC RECIPIENT: @ausxen - “Wind-Swept Shore”

I had every intention of using my two “Golden-Award” votes very selectively – saving them for week’s 7 and 8 perhaps – and reserving them only for those two select 1st place picks of mine whom I thought would be best suited and most deserving of such a power-boost.

Well, along comes Austen Ballard in week five with FOUR catch-up entries that he was unable to submit previously due to an untimely illness.

The sheer volume drop of music was certainly not enough to persuade me, however, the consistent quality of each of his entries including this week’s submission simply knocked me off my feet!

In each of his story-telling entries, his music reflects vividly clear pictures of the varied weekly themes. His melodies and lyrics are incredibly proficient and equally captivating as exemplified here for example, in “Wind Swept Shore.”

As such, in my mind, the moment I finished listening to all four of his entries and read through his entire post, I was extremely confident that there couldn’t possibly be anyone better suited and poised for a Golden-Mic Award other than Austen.

Congratulations, Austen! – At the end of week 5, you are now guaranteed to be tied for second place – that is of course unless the other two judges decide to award you a Golden-Mic this week as well, in which case you’d then be in first place overall with a slight advantage going into week #6.

You rock, brother! Please make it a point to go to Austen's post below and listen to each of his submissions – you won’t be disappointed and you’ll be glad you did, trust me!
https://steemit.com/openmic/@ausxen/openmic-songwriters-challenge-week-5-austen-ballard-a-little-extra


SECOND PLACE: @onetruebrother – “Wind Swept Shore”


Despite admitting to an occasional tendency to stray from conventional song structures, of which this is one such example, our resident musical handyman, “OneTrueBrother” still managed to effortlessly reel me into his never-ending web of musical prowess. I found his guitar intro simply captivating, bearing a subtle driving rhythm that persists with intriguing variations throughout. The transitions he creates in concert with the meaning behind his song together with the classic chorus returns like the one found at the end as he sings “Standing there together, waves go on forever” totally sold me on this tune – I love it! Do check out his post to get the backstory on the song's origins and to read all of the lyrics.
https://steemit.com/openmic/@onetruebrother/steemit-openmic-songwriters-challenge-week-5-wind-swept-shore-original-song


THIRD PLACE: @afrao0 – “Singing Winds”


So once again I find myself back at the musical table of my brother from the East. What can I tell you – if the food is good, you just keep going back for more! As is the case with artists such as Bob Dylan and Cat Stevens to name just two, I’d bet the ranch that @afrao0 has a plentiful dose of like musical muses working overtime, stirring about rather comfortably and whimsically, creating the secret elixir that creates a rich well of music that magically manifests from deep within his musical soul. “Singing Winds” is just one more brilliant example of such gifted artistry.
https://steemit.com/openmic/@afrao0/steemit-open-mic-songwriters-challenge-week-5-singing-winds


FOURTH PLACE: @kayclarity – “Take A Picture”


Even though Kay stated clearly in her post that she wrote parts of this song years back, and that she has just now completed it, presumably to suit this week’s theme, I simply couldn’t find it in me to use that against placing “Take a Picture” within my Top-5, which is exactly where it belongs! She’ll be pleased to learn from my summary above that the fact that she was “late to the game” in no way diminishes her ability to “win” even though she makes it quite clear in her post that she is more interested in the numerous benefits of “participating” rather than simply “winning” a grand prize. For that, I salute her! Kay has a beautifully poetic way of fashioning her lyrics to tell great stories, which is one of the cornerstones of great music. Her voice and vocal delivery of the catchy melodies she creates is equally impressive. Kay is a true artist dedicated to honing her craft to the highest of standards, and with this week’s submission, she’s shown us just a small glimpse of what such talent and dedication is able to produce.
https://steemit.com/openmic/@kayclarity/openmic-songwriters-challenge-week-5-take-a-picture-for-theme-wind-swept-shore


FIFTH PLACE: @chaifm – “Wind-Swept Shores”


I’m not sure exactly where @chaifm is from, but just like my brother in the East, my sister “Sunday” also keeps on serving up plate-after-plate of fine music – so I find myself returning to her often for more great musical meals from which to feast upon. Despite playing on an old out-of-tune piano, @chaifm’s composition is quite breathtaking. She has a special way of composing melodies in concert with her lyrical translations that feels like she’s speaking directly with you in conversation vs. simply singing you a song. I continue to find her artistry irresistible, and that’s why once again, she is here in my top-5.

As an aside, you simply must make it a point to not only read her post linked below but more importantly to read the entirety of the comment thread beneath it. There are numerous interactions with fellow songwriters therein, each with a kind word of encouragement and willingness to be of whatever assistance they can with technical questions concerning production and the like. That’s just a small example of what the Open-Mic and Songwriters Challenge is all about. Together, We Stand! Hey, perhaps that can be another theme for the challenge, what do you all think? Do share your thoughts in the comment section.
https://steemit.com/openmic/@chaifm/open-mic-songwriters-week-5-or-wind-swept-shores


Honorable Mention.png


My Top-5 Honorable Mentions in order:


Fifth: @luisferchav – “The Wait”
https://steemit.com/openmic/@luisferchav/open-mic-songwriters-challenge-week-5-the-wait


Thank you for reviewing my selections for this week’s Songwriters Challenge. Thanks so much as well for up-voting and re-steeming this post in order to help spread the word that Open-Mic and its subsidiaries are clearly taking Steemit by storm and that the Open-Mic brand shall remain a collective people-oriented force of love and artistry to be reckoned with on every level of measure.


Peace, Love, and Justice for All

Sort:  

Oh wow, thank you so much for the golden mic! I am absolutely FLOORED that you liked my songs that much. Thank you, thank you, thank you.

Better believe I gave you a shoutout in my post this week.

Cool, Austen! Thank you, my brother!

:)

My favorites are:

@afrao0 – “Singing Winds”
@chaifm – “Wind-Swept Shores”
@pechichemena – “Orillas de Soledad / Shores of Solitude”
@joseacabrerav – “The Coast Shore Song”

Very good your chosen ones!!

Those are some great picks, @miguelarl! Thank you!

Thank you very much for the mention @miguelarl :) . some really nice songs this week from everyone i must say!

Great picks! @ausxen really rocked it on this one. Good job everyone.

:) thanks!

You've got two of my all-time favourites on there!

Big supporter of @onetruebrother and @chaifm.

Keep going guys, you're doing great x

I'm glad to see @joseacabrerav has had his honourable mention too :D

Thanks, Lucy, glad you feel that way about these artists too! I'm looking forward to hearing more from you as you are one of my favorites as well!

Yeah they definitely show some true talent!
Ah thank you very much. Hopefully I'll make some more music soon, I've not been very well unfortunately and don't seem to be doing too well on here anymore so had to give my singing a bit of a break but hopefully I'll be up and running again next week!

You better be, girl! :-) Everything moves in cycles and waves, and as such, we all must "roll with it"... I'll be looking for you... ;-)

Thanks so much for featuring me and for the kind and sincere words again, @passion-ground! Really love your evaluations every week. Have a great day!

Thank you, Kay - and thanks for sharing your music with us!

wow awesome picks sir.,

Nice picks and you're right...probably no one else has deserved this golden award you spoke of more than @ausxen.

Glad you feel that way too, @jaybird! Thanks, brotha!

I love this post. I agree, the songwriters challenge is truly about appreciating all levels of ability and effort. And that the respect, nurturing and support are more valuable than the rewards. I am honored to be in your top 5 honorable mentions, its great to be seen and heard in such a big and beautiful crowd. Especially because I had stopped sharing my music until this came along. xoxo

You get it, @sazzler, and that's a truly beautiful thing! We are so honored to have you here with us and sharing your music once again!

Wow man , it is amazing how the level of this challenge is going UP! songs keep getting better and better! I really loved the picks from this week !

The Golden Mic is going to give such a nice twist to this contest , i was also very impressed with how @ausxen just came back with such force and gave us 4 songs ! I had to resteem his post , So it is a well deserved ''golden-award'' . Nice to have him back on track in this contest !

Thanks again for mentioning me my friend! I'm surrounded by a lot of talent here , good motivation to work a bit harder each time :) . Cheers bro!

That's so true, Pechiche. I would have never guessed that we'd be getting such amazing songs and music! Glad you can appreciate the "Golden-Mic" twist we've built into the program. I think that @ausxen's recent submissions and performances clearly validate the need for such a mechanism.

I have to be completely honest with you, Pechiche - If it weren't for the fact that you stated publically that you have disqualified yourself from ever winning the prize because you are @meno's brother, you would be placing in my Top-3 each and every week.

Knowing this, I figured it was fairer for all the other entrants if I left you out of my Top-5. That's truly the reason why you always find yourself near the very top of my honorable mentions more often than not. Your presence and inspiration within the Open-Mic and Songwriters community is priceless on so many levels. Thank you, my brother!

Wow ! Thank you very much for your words and encouragement ! Even though I disqualified myself from this competition , I'm winning big time , I am writing songs , some of them I might keep working on and record them properly , so I am extremely happy for that and I think thats the whole purpose of the contest , the guitar is just a bonus ( a VERY cool bonus )! . Having said this , finding myself surrounded by so many cool songs pumps me up , some healthy competition is always good ! Cheers my brother and thanks for your work here !

interesting!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59010.30
ETH 2515.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45