Open mic Songwriters challenge week #5 - The wait

in #openmic7 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemians!!

This is my entry for this weeks open mic songwriters challenge week #5 and Open mic week 65! :)

Here are the lyrics:

Pull me apart
you would have seen
there's something there
inside of me.

Ready to lose
hoping to win
the underdog
eager to feed.

Oh I was there
reluctantly
crushed by the weight
of their believes.

Thought I was open
just like a wind swept shore
just waiting for whatever's coming
if something was coming.

Walking the talk
but now I see
there's something there
inside of me.

Think I could to lose
fighting to win
this underdog
don't bow its head no more.

No longer there
submissively
crushed by the weight
of my believes.

Though I was there
But now I see

I waited for so long
I waited for so long
I waited for too long
Now I know
not waiting anymore...


This is the first time I actually make a whole song by myself with just my looper so I'm really happy how this one turned out. :)

I started this song from a chord progression on the piano, and I wanted to play the piano while doing beat box and looping and singing but I couldn't manage to make it work well enough so I could rehearse it and record the video in time, so out came just the looper hehe.

This song is about two distinct times of my life, a sort of before and after in the way I think and do stuff. The first part references that placid state in which we all fall sometimes, the point of view of a victim, life happens to you in that state , you don't make it happen, and you are reduced to a person that only hopes for things, but doesn't do anything to really get them done.

The second part is about actually walking the talk, about not letting yourself become just words, turning hopes into realities.


I hope you're having a great Christmas/holiday with a lot of your people and a lot of food and a lot of joy.
I also hope you enjoy this entry :)

I have a lot of people to thank, and I will start with @pechichemena and @meno, I would have no idea this amazing space existed if it wasn't for them both.

I also have to thank @luzcypher for the incredible job he does with the open mic and songwriters challenge contests, last week they received 153 entries, which is insane! However, all of them were acknowledged and that is a lot of work.

Also to the incredible team from both contests, @jessamynorchard, @soundlegion, @krystle, @verbal-d, and @passion-ground, you actually heard every entry and chose really great ones for your top 5, and that must have taken a lot of work. I know cause I heard a lot of them and it wasn't an easy choice at all, there were many great ones.

To @ausbitbank and @xedal and @pfunk for being so generous!

To @isaria and the MSP-waves team for sharing my entry!

And to @hendrikdegrote, @liberosist and the @curie curation team and every single person that upvoted and commented and resteemed my posts, you made all the difference in the world to me! THANK YOU!!!!

Ok!!, and with that, I bid you farewell until my next post! :D

P.S.

I made a post sharing some awesome audio plugins that are being given away for free, if this is of use to you, get them while you can!, Here's the link:

https://steemit.com/music/@luisferchav/merry-xmas-to-all-of-you-free-audio-plugins

Sign off.jpg

Sort:  

Yes, ladies and gentlemen, he did it again!
I love you are trying different things and colours, too :)

Hahaha! Thank you!,

Yeah, I've wanted to make a full beatbox and loops song since a saw a video from this beast of a looper:

I actually saved up to get a looper with effects so I could learn how to do that haha (still can't)
And this time I had a song that worked well with loops so I had to go for it :)

Yeeey! I love dub fx, I saw him live, busking on a square in amsterdam in 2007 (wow, long time ago), bought his cd for 5 euros, and after we even exchanged some emails. What an exciting time that was.... :)

( Hm, I should really get into this art curation thing. )

He is just an alien who walks amongst people, but really does not have the same brain :)

Wow, that must have been something to witness!
I think you should!, I heard and now love Dodie and tank and the bangas thanks to you, and you knew about dub fx before it was cool to know about him haha

You may have a knack for it ;)

I agree, he's an alien, but such a cool alien! hehe

Haha 😄 @luisferchav ain't he the pioneer of looping, yeah for sure it made me start to loop 10 years ago, even bought the Roland KC 150 he had at that time, your vocal rhythm and the beat box reminded me on his style, just wanted to comment that and then seen @chaifm comment below already mentioning him

Haha, I had seen a little looping before I saw him on that video, but never something on that level, it felt like a completely produced song done by a single human on his own and performed live, it blew my mind. That day I understood that you can do anything you want with music as long as you put in the work, looping became one of my obsessions right then and there hehe

For sure man, me as well, when I've seen him on youtube for the first time singing/looping "Love Someone" I was blown away by his technique and the pure sound he produced by his voice, and then afterwards I heard "Society Gates" and was amazed by his sincere lyrics, he truly shows his talent in that song

Siempre es un gusto escucharte! Mucha suerte, pasate por mi blog para que veas el de nosotros jiji

Hola!, muchas gracias! lo voy a ver! :)

Shut it down. This is the winner.

Wow!, thank you so much, That's very kind of you, it humbles me.
I just saw you resteemed it :D
this truly helps a lot! I'm really really happy you liked it :)

The luchers is destroying!

Jajajaja The luchers suena como alto personaje!

Excellent, brother... Your creativity abounds here!

Hey @passion-ground!! Thank you very much!! I did try!! :)

I love the lyrics and your voice. Great job with the challenge! Good luck!

Hey!, Thank you so much, I'm really glad you enjoyed it! :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Luisferchav from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Dude that was totally unexpected and awesome! Really enjoyed your entry this week. Love the Dub FX vibe you have going on here and the duality posed.

Really catchy melodies too and of course I liked the groove ;)

Hey @jaybird!!
Thank you very much!!!
Unexpected and awesome!! That's very flattering to me, I do try!! :)
Dubfx Is pretty much the reason I got into looping and beatboxing, so to have you even mention him regarding something I made is incredibly humbling and joyful for me!, thank you for that!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64302.59
ETH 2654.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83