OpenMic Songwriters Challenge Week 6 - Austen Ballard

in #openmic7 years ago (edited)

Week 6 - 'Special Delivery' (lyrics below)

What a week!

After being ill for, well, most of this contest so far, I was absolutely FLOORED to make both @meno and @passion-ground's Top 5 entries last week ( meno's post / passion-ground's post) along with the overwhelming amount of positive comments on my post. I really appreciate the love and I only hope I've managed to meet the bar I've apparently set for myself with this week's song.

Follow @luzcypher and @meno to stay up-to-date about the Steemit Open Mic & Songwriters Challenge!

Adding Elements

A few people suggested that I do more production on some of my songs from previous weeks- and while the time for those ones has passed, I decided to try it out this week, adding a backing track of electric piano, synth bass and drums to the live guitar and vocals. Please tell me if you think it sounds good or not. I live for (constructive) criticism. Just go easy on my voice, okay? Winter and sickness haven't been kind to me lately :/

Click here to see this week's entries in the Open Mic Songwriters Challenge!

Lyrics

Week 6 - 'Special Delivery'

You said you went to send a letter
You always go alone
You said you went to get a package
But you never brought one home
 
But baby I been trackin' all your bad laogistics
I know youre telling tales
I think I oughtta call you Postman Pat
The way you run around handling the males

So pack your shit and say good bye
Cause I know  you been shipping with him overnight
You took my love like it was yours to sell
And sent it special delivery 
To someone else

I don’t wanna know about the destination
You just have to go right now
Don’t you come at me like I should pay your postage
You just stamp your feet right out of this house



Thanks for listening! Leave a comment if you liked my song :)



austenballard.com austenballard.com austenballard.com austenballard.com austenballard.com austenballard.com austenballard.com austenballard.com

austenballard.com

Sort:  

Where words fail, music speaks.

always

Hehe, very witty lyrics here, 'handling the males' had me giggling. You still sound a bit sick, so keep cozy in this fur jacket of yours ;). Loving the backing tracks, it gives it a full arrangement.

Thank you :) I had fun doing the backing track, I think it adds a lot to have more instruments.

Loved the song!!! I'm so glad to see you again! Watch our entry for this wek :) hope you like it! https://steemit.com/openmic/@miguelarl/openmic-songwriters-week-6-special-delivery-quizas-no-eras-tu-la-nina-ingravida

Thanks, will do!

Sounds really good. Thanks for entering.

thanks_for_playing_steemit_open_mic.png

Happy_New_Year_Steemit_Open_Mic.png

Thanks man! Great happy new year image haha.

Dude, man - you're makin' me proud, brother! This is pretty much the shit!

Thank you! :) I had a lot of fun writing this one.

I can tell you did - it shows! :-)

:)

I am upvoting this in advance of actually watching the video.. i do not have a good internet connection right now.. but i do trust it's an awesome song (as all the other ones i 've heard from you! ) so , i am blindly upvoting.. but as soon as i get the chance.. i will actually hear it.

I am glad to see you are feeling better and you are back here!

aw thanks for that! i'll hit your channel soon too

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by ausxen from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @ausxen to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54280.30
ETH 2452.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.24