OFFICIAL: Open-Mic Judge @passion-ground's Top-5 Entries for Week 59steemCreated with Sketch.

in #openmic7 years ago (edited)

Top-Five.png


Steemit Open Mic Week 59

Libra-Man SCALES.jpg

My Top-5 Picks in Order


As one of the esteemed Open Mic judges, it is my job to come up with a short-list of my top 5 entrants each week. With all of the great talent here, that is by no means an easy task. Sure, tossing in another 5 honorable mentions helps, but not when my weekly list starts out with 30 or more of my favorite entries... You guy's rock - I'm tellin' ya!

Yes, I’m a Libra – so I have an inherent drive deep within me to be fair and balanced – good qualities for a “judge” if you ask me. That being said, I’m still human – filled with emotion and subjective feelings – just like you. So, in order to mitigate my subjective tendencies to the best extent possible, I’ve come up with a method by which to narrow down my selections in a more objective vs. arbitrary manner.

Here’s how I go about my personal judging process: I first start out with a list of 30 or more of my most favorite entries for the week, and score them (yes, subjectively) in six distinct categories via a spread sheet. The categories I’ve selected for scoring are in general harmony with those explained by @luczypher in his post titled How We Pick The Top 3 Entries, referencing such.

To get a more in depth perspective as to how I personally go about selecting my artists, please refer to What I go through as an Open-Mic Judge.

Even though it’s still a “subjective” process – diligently going through each scoring category to come up with a “total” score for each entrant helps to minimize any overzealous subjectivity that I may harbor with respect to any specific entrants.

Quite often, this exercise doesn’t give me the exact results I would personally prefer to see – but that only means that my system of judging is working as intended and designed.

GENERAL NOTE: Beginning Saturday, November 18, 2017, I will be entertaining house guests over the next week for the Thanksgiving Holiday. As such, I will likely not be as "visibly present" as I typically am, but I’ll still be listening! That you can count on!

With all of that said, here are my top-5 picks for the week – in order.



First: @stanhopeofficial - Moving On - (Original Song)
In my opinion, @stanhopeofficial is very much a “Sleeping Giant” not only here on Open-Mic, but on any worldwide musical stage! His guitar intro here is amazing - in concert with his on-point vocals and melodic composition skills. The commercial viability of such talent should be readily obvious to the most casual observer. His lyrical story-lines and accompanying melodies are quite simply phenomenal!
https://steemit.com/openmic/@stanhopeofficial/steemit-open-mic-week-59-moving-on-original-song


Second: @melavie – At All - (Original Song)
The level of emotion that @melavie is somehow able to routinely express is rather profound! The melodies she constructs alongside her clear lyrical acumen is nothing short of amazing! Yet, she’s just a girl in her bedroom - burning some candles and playing her self-composed music. I don’t know about you, but for me, such a miraculous combination of intense talent and organic purity is simply far too priceless - by any measure - to ignore!
https://steemit.com/openmic/@melavie/steemit-open-mic-week-59-at-all-original-song


Third: @g10a – At Sana – (And I wish) - Original Song
I for one thought that this cat, @g10a, was just a karaoke type dude. How wrong was I! He can most certainly play a guitar, compose a meaningful song, and sing his passionate ass-off! For all of that and more, he has earned my utmost respect. @g10a is the quintessential Open-Mic artist/entrant that I so love to embrace and encourage. I know what such encouragement might mean, as I for one, never had any such encouragement. If only I did, perhaps things might have turned out differently for me musically. Be that as it may, and apart from any such philosophical introspection, this is one pretty-darned good song and performance! And I hope that @g10a is able to maintain access to that guitar he managed to get his hands on, - in order to up his game, and follow his dreams! This guy rocks, and he’s a good guy… And that’s all that matters to me.
https://steemit.com/openmic/@g10a/steemit-open-mic-week-59-at-sana-and-i-wish-or-my-own-composition-or-20171112t21378305z


Fourth: @mogatiexperiment – Luchin’ - (Victor Jara) - Original Song
Yeah, I get it… Two of the fine artists in this entry have won last week’s competition. Trust me; I took major points away from this entry for that specific reason. Despite such a subjectively imposed handicap, they still managed to rise within my top five picks. I can only do so much in the way of trying to create a level playing field as it were. If it weren’t for the handicaps I imposed upon them – there is no doubt that this performance would have topped my list in the number one position. I especially enjoyed the addition of the very fine bass player @choby, as well as the fun loving professional camaraderie witnessed at the end of this classic submission.
https://steemit.com/openmic/@mogatiexperiment/open-mic-week-59-mogati-steemit-experiment-luchin-victor-jara


Fifth: @travisacid – Comin’ Around - (Original)
If you’re anything like me, sometimes you like your music “raw!” And raw organic bluesmanship is just what @travisacid graced us with this week. Sure – it’s nowhere near a perfect performance - but it very much struck a chord with me, as I’m sure it did with you, and that’s precisely why he’s here in my top-5!
https://steemit.com/openmic/@travisacid/steemit-open-mic-week-59-original-song-travisacid-comin-around


Honorable Mention.png


My Top-5 Honorable Mentions in Order:


Fifth: @the-vile-maxim – Winter - (Bayside Cover)
https://steemit.com/openmic/@the-vile-maxim/steemit-openmic-week-59-winter-cover-by-bayside


Thank you all so much for taking some of your precious time to review my take on all of the magnificent artists here at the Open-Mic venue this week. Thanks so much as well for up-voting and re-steeming this post in order to spread the word that Open-Mic is clearly taking Steemit by storm - and shall remain a collective people-oriented force of love and artistry to be reckoned with on every level of measure.


Judges Graphic - Open Mic.png

Peace, Love, and Justice for All


A very special shout-out to: The following artists who were very much on my radar and within a splitting hair of -making it into my overall top-10, and whose performances I loved, cherish, and respect most assuredly. They are - in no particular order:

@wethepatsies, @drewly, @trillex, @jeusman12, @owner99, @pechichemena, @finkenchris, @donatello, @joeduke, @addiesworld, @alejandra23, @lisamallerart, @oliverwaterman, @soykatonline, @teukurobbybinor, @wbwillie, @brimax, @nirtsfaty, @digitalopus @steemmatt, @claratymusic, @joseacabrerav

Much love and thanks to each and every one of you who have touched a part of my heart and soul - not only this week, but forever!

Sort:  

Its an honour being mentioned by you sire! Thank you🙌

The pleasure is all mine, @trillex!

First place? Thank you very, very much, @passion-ground! And for the incredible write up. I am humbled. Thank you, thank you, thank you!

You can just really make it happen, Stan! Don't stop!

Passion Ground maybe the coolest cat on Steemit, or me..it's a toss up..😎 I'm glad I don't have to pick the winners because they're no losers in this post

Oh, I think you clearly have the win here, @goldenarms! You're right about there not be any losers - no doubt about that!

Wow man thank you!

Thanks for sharing your talents, man - you're awesome!

thanks, mate

Thank you, Joe - I really like your style!

I have no words to express than thank you so much sir.. you really hit the piece of my emotion, you're a damn cool inspirational bonafide musician yet you embrace a simple masterpiece like mine with a big heart of yours. You really touched my soul man! Thank you so much sir!!

daog naka ani sir? congrats!

hehehe not yet mam, selection pa lang na ni sir passion-ground, hopefully tomorrow it will be announced.

The pleasure is all mine @g10a... Thank you for sharing your talents and passion with all of us here on Open-Mic!

sir @passion-ground thank you so much for all of your inspiring words as always and thank you for recognizing my own music. to the rest of the open mic team bless you all. Peace & Love.

@g10 FOR THE WIN!!! he deserves it because he is so talented! not to mention the song he's singing is he's very own composition! IMAGINE THAT?!!! WHAT A TALENT!

My god thank you so much mate hehehe relax, be cool. sir @passion-ground is doing it well as a genuine musician himself.. Rock 'n Roll mate.. hehehe

Keep it up bro...

I shall do my best, @owner99 - you do the same!

Thank you so much for mentioning me!

Don't mention it @donatello - My pleasure!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64814.42
ETH 3450.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52