🎶 Open Mic Songwriters Week 6 - Theme: Special Delivery - My Top 5 Judges Selection 🎶

in #openmic6 years ago

Well 6 weeks down and 2 more to go and the Challenge is growing every week, with new entrants comes new talent and sure enough - new contenders for the amazing prize being donated by the amazingly generous @meno!

I have almost managed to catch back up with the other judges, so I'm super happy and have been loving the intense week of Open Mic entries - I can think of a worse way to spend my time that's for sure.

I will keep it short but sweet, this week again there were heaps of amazing entries - you are all such legends for not only taking part, but keeping going with the weekly pace of creating new music.

Without any further delays, here are my top five entries for this weeks Songwriters Challenge...

This week's top 5:

1st Place - @tarotbyfergus - When Animals Attack

Well this is just brilliant, the moment you started and I heard that classic @tarotbyfergus sound I settled in with a keen ear - this week my friend you hit it out of the park with an original entry of pure brilliance!

The first time I heard it through your line "we are the animals" made me completely lose it, I just didn't see this coming and you absolutely smashed it out - with a great energy and commitment to the story and characters.

Firstly I will say you captured this week's theme so well, using it as a method of conveying the central theme of your song - the images this song provokes in my mind are priceless.

I saw in the comment section of your post people discussing what it reminded them of most, I would have to say I loved their suggestions - but I have to add what about "Cows with guns"?

The songs have massive differences but I feel the essence and motivation behind the two are very similar, pointing out the issues humanity have inflicted upon nature - and that the time for the reckoning is upon us, honestly do we really have any right to complain?

Your song was the perfect combination of serious topic mixed in with a hilarious outcome and situation, your energy and performance were absolutely brilliant and I wouldn't change a single thing.

Your playing was as always faultless and created such a full and textured feel to the song overall, it's the tone I have come to expect from an awesome entry from you - I do have to say this time that little smile at the end of your video, made me think you really enjoyed creating this little gem for us!

The songs structure was everything I wanted it to be, you had me hooked from the first line and you held me until the end effortlessly - I love songs that pack a punch and better yet leave you actually laughing throughout.

There really isn't anything I would dare to change with this little beauty, trying to think of just a line or two to reference is impossible - so please forgive me but here are the ones that just shone like gold!

Today is the day that we deliver the 2 legs their doom
We are the animals!

And what you gonna cock-a-doodle do?

Well this is just the start of the brilliance yet to come...

The spiders and snakes will infiltrate your homey homes
The beavers will make shiny dams with your boney bones
Sloths won't do shit because there's really nothing they can do
And what you gonna cock-a-doodle do?

This verse was just so fucken brilliant and the vocal effects you used throughout were perfect!

If you hide in the ocean, then you will feel
deliveries from the electric fucking eel

Well it really just speaks for itself, but with the additional lines ...

What you gonna cock-a-doodle do?
You're gonna fucken die!

Echo call back effect as an outro ended the piece as perfect as it had been started, you really had me enjoying every single moment of this song - I have really lost count of the number of times I have listened to this song, I never get tired of it and my smile never fades.

I can see this song making its way into my regular playlist for regular listens, you have shown me yet another entry that is ready for mass consumption in the mainstream - you have yourself a hit plain and simple.

To convey to everyone just how brilliant I truly thought this entry was, I am giving you one of my Golden Mic Awards - there are several reasons why I think your entry was worthy, but let me just say first that I wasn't ever planning on using it at all!

So one reason I am choosing this entry for a Golden Mic, is because I think it was superbly written - I believe it could reach a massive audience resulting in mass adoration, for the sheer awesomeness of the song.

Another reason, is that you have entered the Songwriters Challenge almost every week so far and this isn't the first song you entered that really blew me away - you have two of my all time favorite Songwriters Challenge songs, that list is growing but is still no easy feat with the Challenge jammed packed full of golden entries.

Then let's look at the very specific elements of this song, you have managed to take a very serious and daunting concept and turned it into not only a great song - but a learning experience and better yet you added some much needed humor, to lighten the deeper concepts you have shared.

Basically your song not only stood out from this weeks round of entrants, but it stood out amongst the absolute leaders of the Challenge overall - able to hold its ground not only providing a beautiful and thoughtful song, but a comedic and energetic one that will stand the test of time!

So a massive congratulations to you @tarotbyfergus, if any song deserved it this week it was yours and I am just so glad you were inspired to write such a piece of pure brilliance - such an absolutely enjoyable entry to watch and listen.

I can't wait to see what you have for us next week, or how this rather full on Challenge will end in just two weeks time - but you're in the thick of it and rightly so!


2nd Place - @anniemacleod - Special Delivery

Just a beautiful enchanting song, with a divine melody and encapsulating everything I look for in a great song!

For one of our newer entrants I am just stunned by the brilliance of your entries so far, this song perfectly captures the essence of this weeks theme - and is just a brilliant evolving story that spoke to my heart.

Your choice of song structure was perfection, starting your story as a child and showing the ever growing evolution of a person's likes, wants and loves - finishing with the best gift of all, receiving the gift of our children it's just impossible to top.

I think this song will hit the note perfectly for a great many parents (I know it did for me), you weaved a beautiful story of your life (I'm assuming here) - and best of all you sound so fricken brilliant throughout the whole thing.

Now I am a sucker for a sweet and controlled melody and the one you have created here is just stunning, it is coupled to perfection with the gentle rhythmic guitar - but it's the combination of the two together that really create the full and moving piece a whole.

I get a little tear thinking about the lyrics you have chosen, my favourite line would have to be:

Decades passed and then it came
The delivery that put the rest to shame
A beautiful new girl, who overturned my little world
Two years later I received
The final gift I’ll ever need
With my cheeks and daddy’s smile
Just like you’d been here all the while
You sang, you played, you laughed my fears away
I know nothing could top these days

This verse is what just melted me inside, as a mother I can appreciate the sentiments entirely - the emotions you forced to the surface take skills to accomplish, this song is just amazing and I can't get enough of it.

A big thank you for creating such sweet and pure song, it really is a pleasure not only to hear but to sing along with you - this week your vocal control was just phenomenal!

You have an amazing gift not only with your voice and playing but with your songwriting skills, your song feels like one you have had polished for some time - it's so amazing when we get entries like this, you have a week to create something and I never expect the master pieces we keep getting.

I think you are going to be a force to be reckoned with, in not only this Challenge but also Open Mic in general - it has been an absolute pleasure hearing your music once again, I truly cannot wait to hear more from you soon!


3rd Place - @vera.carla -I don't like you anymore

Your voice has gone and gotten me again this week, wow what insane vocal control you have and the range is just as impressive - you have amazing skills and I am stoked to have you joining us here, at the Songwriters Challenge as well.

You captured this weeks theme perfectly and what's more you even themed it around writing a song, I love the choices you have made throughout this entry and the amazing, haunting quality of you voice.

I love how effortless you make this look, as a vocalist myself I am in awe of your skills - not to mention just loving how awesome it sounds.

Your choice of structure works well to convey the story you are telling us, you tell a unique and interesting story - with a really strong ending.

I honestly couldn't hear the uke being out of tune, I may have been to focussed on your vocals but I swear it all just sounded pretty darn amazing to me!

I would have to say I love it when I hear our entrants do little sections like yours here:

Da-rara, darara-da
Da- rara, darara- deia
Da-rara, darara-da
Da- rara, darara- deia

Again as a singer I never have the confidence to write non lyric sections, so when I hear someone pull it off with such precision I get a little awestruck - I mean it sounds awesome.

But the overall home run for me would absolutely have to be your vocal composition, the melody you have created is sublime - so varied and complex, that I just couldn't help but swoon to the skills you showed.

The ambient noise from you being outside, actually adds a gentleness to the overall feel of the song and I really enjoyed the birds chirping seemingly along with your amazing vocals - it added a really interesting tone to the piece.

I'm so happy you have joined both Open Mics now, willingly sharing your insane gifts with all of us here in Open Mic but also steemit and the world - thank you for yet another priceless brilliant entry, I can't wait to hear more soon!


4th Place - @basilmarples - Special Delivery

I just love everything you bring to the table each week, what a thoroughly enjoyable and amusing song - you are always right at the top of my list each week and with another brilliant entry it's easy to see why!

You have captured this weeks theme in your own amazing and unique @basilmarples way, that only you could pull off - you not only managed that, but in my opinion you absolutely nailed it again.

Your songs always paint such a vibrant and unique picture, your personal takes on each weeks theme has also kept us all on our toes - I am loving the comedic element in most of your music, you bring such an amazing energy to every single entry you've submitted.

This songs composition really highlights your stand out piano skills, you play beautifully and with such an fantastic ability to capture the songs individual spirit and tone.

On top of the amazing composition and playing, I also want to point out that you always perform your entries - you have a great energy that you convey through your music, you capture the attention of the listener with every single song you write.

Best yet is your always entertaining vocals, man you may end up doing amusing effects and inflections at times - but I can hear a rather impressive vocal range, with a sublime amount of control to boot.

What can I say man, you have more than made me a fan of your music - you've made me have a laugh and see just how different each weeks theme can be interpreted, you really do create one of a kind songs that I just adore.

Once again you have me enthralled in your entry and even on listen 30 I am still thoroughly enjoying it, your lyrics are again the shining beacon of your comedic music - who would have thought we would end up with an outer space themed song, let alone one that is so fricken awesome.

The composition is so varied and complex I don't always know where it's going, sometimes its really nice to just be taken on a ride - and not to be in constant anticipation of where you think the story and vocals were heading.

I'm just so impressed with the sheer variety of music you have shared with us in the 6 weeks so far, each song is a standalone masterpiece - all of your songs tell intricate and vibrant stories, where you take the listener on a magical journey with you.

You're an absolute legend and I am so excited to see what we inspire in you in the next two weeks, you really are such an impressive entrant into this Challenge - each and every week it has been an absolute pleasure to partake in your exceptional music, I really can't wait to see what you create next week!


5th Place - @onetruebrother - Special Delivery

Once again another absolutely amazing, brilliant and unparalleled entry from @onetruebrother, you are an absolute music legend my friend - each week you have left me jaw dropped and in awe of your insane talent and phenomenal skills.

There was no question on first listen I knew you were in the top this week again, you always create the most amazing music that just takes me places.

I love how you work certain elements into your music, you have such a specific sound I can tell it was you without looking - best of all again this song has a great depth and character of its own.

Can I also say holy shite you held that note for a really long time, I wish my lungs were up to that sort of punishment - but you just took it in your stride effortlessly!

Such a beautiful and poetically tragic song, along with other entries from you during this Challenge - you manage to create such a bitter sweet combination of perfection.

Your vocal control through this entry was just a step above, I love all of the beautiful range and control you display each week - this week you didn't fail but took it up yet another notch, I just didn't see it getting better than the awesome I had already come to know.

I was sad to hear about your hand injuries, take care of those bad boys please - I just love hearing your music too much for it to just end now.

As always you hit the nail on the head with this weeks theme, incorporating it as the main hook in you chorus and having it evolve as the song continues - it's just what I have come to love from your entries, that plus all the rest of the brilliance I have been outlining for weeks now!

You make everything always sound so full, you are your own band mate - you create the music in such a manner that ensures not only an enjoyable sound, but one so varied and complex it fills the sound out alone (you just don't ever require back vocally or instrumentally).

You have made me love a style and sound of music that isn't in my usual wheelhouse, but there are no regrets here - you have become a clear and solid frontrunner in our little Challenge, always upping the ante in the best possible way!

You embody the total musical package for me, with such amazing and flawless skills - with not only your impeccable playing, your stunning composition, your heartfelt lyrics, your sensational performances and your insane vocal control, I really couldn't ask for more.

I am a big fan and each week I now wait in anxious anticipation of the gold, I know you will have sent our way - I am so grateful to have you as a valued member of our ever growing community, the world needs more music like this so keep it coming!


Honourable Mentions:

@ceparl - Perdóname


Well guys as I start to wrap up this weeks post, I am again bursting with excitement to see where this Challenge will lead - the challenge is getting closer and we only have to wait two weeks now to find out who our very lucky winner will be.

It has been an absolute pleasure as always, I love hearing everyone's own personal take on the same theme - the sheer variety of choices is just amazing.

All that being said, with only two weeks left the Challenge is quiet close and this really could be anyone's game now - so keep pushing yourself, create the masterpiece we know is inside and who knows you could be the overall winner of the Songwriters Challenge!

Don't forget were all here to help decide who is most worthy of the amazing guitar, valued at $600 USD and graciously donated by our own legendary ninja nugget warrior @meno - he has ponied up and offered this insane prize for one lucky winner and I have to say the results we are getting have been sublime.

With all we have seen in the past 6 weeks I am really anxious to see what we get shown next week, you have all pushed yourselves to keep creating such brilliant entries - the results have been truly outstanding and simply a pleasure to watch each week.

A special shoutout to @luzcypher for hosting this and the Open Mic Contest, you are the legendary leader of Open Mic and without you this wouldn't be possible so thank you for that.

Another mention for @meno I mean with generosity like his, what more could you want in one of our brilliant judges and the brainchild of this Challenge in the first place you kick some serious ass my friend - then of course @passion-ground the always encouraging and supportive judge for both Open Mic and the Songwriters Challenge, keep being awesome!

Anyways I need to cut this off, but you all should be absolutely thrilled with what you have all produced for us - you are accomplishing a great deal just by participating, so thank you for sharing your amazing music with us we all really appreciate it.

So until next week, keep creating the brilliant music we all know you for!

Which was your favourite entry this week?

Like what you've read so far?
Check out my story

or follow me on twitter @krystlehaines
Please consider voting @ausbitbank for witness here

Sort:  

Wow there were some great entries this week! I am beyond humbled to be in your top 5 again, especially with some of the awesome songs kicking around.....your write ups continue to blow me away and make me feel way too special for my own good :) Thankyou for all your work krystle x

Oh no worries mate, it's a pleasure as always and yeah this Challenge is getting more and more challenging for the judges to chose only 5 of you guys each week - the level of quality is just out of this world!

You deserve all the praise you get, so just take it :P - Have a good one and thanks for dropping by. Cheers :D

Thank you again @krystle for the inclusion
😁 last time I'm using DTube for OpenMic I get what @luzcypher was telling me about

Haha no worries, Dtube can be a pain for Open Mic but great for other vids for sure - just makes our lives (the judges lives) a little easier each week.

But yet again another brilliant entry, you guys are amazing together and I can't wait to hear more :D

Thank you @krystle! You totally made me blush:)
I just watched "Cows with Guns" lol

Haha no worries, you made me laugh so I guess we're even :P

Yeah "Cows with Guns" and then "Chickens in Choppers" I'm laughing my ass off just thinking about it and I also realise I know way to many of the lyrics of that song by heart...

Anyways thanks for dropping by and of course for the amazing new song, gonna go have another listen now hehe - have a good one :D

Wow, @krystle! I am so glad that you are part of this team and able to articulate in a way that no other can - just how incredible these artists truly are! For that, I am forever grateful!

Fantastic picks, girl, and a super high-five for showering @tarotbyfergus with a well-deserved Golden-Mic Award!

Oh thanks man, I try my best and I think may need to spend some time with a thesaurus to expand upon my most frequently used praises - I'm giving out so many brilliant, amazing and phenomenal no longer feel as shiny and amazing as I intended them to be.

As for @tarotbyfergus, that song is a classic I love it so much and can't get enough of it - definitely a perfect choice for the big award, thanks for dropping by and leaving me such a wonderful comment :D Cheers

@krystle your posts are probably the best around... I'm reading this in awe... amazing work, just amazing... great write up, just beautiful...

Wow thanks so much @meno, I really appreciate you saying that - I know I get a bit wordy at times (like all the time lol) but with the entrants we have, the music they are creating it's hard to not get carried away by the awesomeness.

Cheers mate xox

Shit... What extensive reports on each entry! Love @tarotbyfergus tune. Hilarious and Satirical to the max. It was written with wit. A little animal farm-esque I found.

Vera's tune was also a pleasant surprise, she's got great vocals and i loved how her song eventually turned into bashing her buddy for making her write a song (or something along the lines of that).

And of course Basil was a rockstar this week. He's so corky.

Oh thanks man, I apologise for the length but when something inspires you sometimes you just gotta talk about it ;)

The Songwriters Challenge has become the elite group of Open Micers continually kicking musical ass, I love this Challenge and all of the amazing music that has been created because of it.

Even with the smaller group of entrants, the bar is so high amongst so many of you - each week is a constant stress to ensure I pick the very best, I love so many of them I am often reshuffling people until the last minute to ensure I have it just right.

Cheers for the awesome comment, I really appreciate it :D

haha oh i know what you mean & I meant it as a positive thing!

As in: you are obviously quite involved and thorough in your analysis, communication of said analysis & role as a Judge. Clearly you're a music appreciator and I believe I can probably speak for most of the participants when I say that it's sincerely appreciated that all of the judges seem to be this way respectively.

This contest has definitely brought out some serious writers to the forefront who are outputting some very good works continuously IMO.

I'm personally not in it to win it (as I know is the feeling among a few others). I'm getting something much deeper and more valuable out of this experience from where I stand...

Great post! thanks for sharing! Follow you and Restreem!

Nice videos @krystle. Music is the best! :)

owenderfull post

This is for the Gong Show right? :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63464.16
ETH 3111.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98