Steemit Open Mic #80 - I Love You in Past Tense (Original Song) - Breanna Faye aka @itinerantartist

in #openmic6 years ago

This is my entry for Steemit Open Mic #80. I originally wrote this song as a poem a few weeks ago (you can read the original poem here), and after some lovely supportive comments and a suggestion from @maverickinvictus, I turned it into a full-fledged acoustic song :) Poems dont always translate into songs easily, so a lot of the words have been changed but I tried to preserve the nature and essence of the poem and also adding the emotional fragility in the way its sung to express its melancholy meaning.


Lyrics with Chords

I Love You in Past Tense

I loved you when my thoughts rolled around
the inside of my mouth
and when id try to make words
from my consonants and vowels,

And when oxygen found its way
deep into my lungs
I loved you every single time
my eyelids began to touch

With or without it ever making any sense
But now I love you in past tense
Now I love you in past tense

I loved you when Id run my fingers
through my tangled hair
I loved you when I’d find myself
lost within your stare

And when it grew too intense
I had to turn away
I loved you when the moon said goodnight
and the sun bid good day

Whether or not it ever made much sense
Well now I love you in past tense
Now I love you in past tense

I loved you when I'd talk too much
and the times I had no words
I loved you when it was sensical
And when it was absurd

I loved you every time I laughed
and even every time I cried
I loved you before i was born
and even when I died

With or without it making any sense
And now I love you in past tense

When I said goodbye for the last time
I even loved you then
And now I love you in past tense
Yea now I love you in past tense
I love you in past tense



Chords:
Dm - G - C - F

Capo:
2nd fret



Listen to more of my original songs on Soundcloud

Check out my other open mic videos featuring more original songs:
Open Mic Week #71
Open Mic Week #73
Open Mic Week #75
Open Mic Week #76
Open Mic Week #77
Open Mic Week #78
Open Mic Week #79

Sort:  

Oh IT the song is so beautiful as I listen to it for the 8th time while writing some comments.

Your voice has this ethereal quality, an almost elf like beauty to it .

The lyrics are powerful and voice conveys the message oh so well.

Thank you so much IT and may you write more songs that will touch our hearts.

im so glad you liked it may :) <3

Lovely song. Nice playing and your vocals are beautiful :)

thanks so much for the support!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 57951.98
ETH 3051.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26