Steemit Open Mic #76 - "A Song Called Mad" (original song) - Breanna Faye aka @itinerantartiststeemCreated with Sketch.

in #openmic6 years ago (edited)

This week was the first consecutive week that I was able to participate in Steemit's Open Mic Week, so I am pretty happy to be spending more time on my music. A Song Called Mad is a pretty straight forward song, and as you can imagine was written after a heartbreak which a lot of my writings are. It is unfortunately the thing that makes the art come out more in me. It's certainly a heartbreak song - detailing out different stages in the process of a relationship that starts to slowly erode and go sour.

The idea for the song actually came from saying the statement "I'm not mad at you - I'm...mad at the world and you're in it" - which is the premise for the chorus and the idea for the entire song. It's basically saying one of those situations where you feel like life is coming at you in all directions, and sometimes when you're upset at one thing it can be channeled to another person, which is never a healthy thing. But then the songs is conflicting in that there are obvious problems in the relationship in general, alluding to being in a "state of contemplation" about it and "loving you is like living on the fence" meaning the writer goes back and forth or up and down about the "rollercoaster of a relationship". And in the last verse and chorus it changes tone where it turns into full blown toxicity referencing "sarcastic unrealistic expectations were really just embedded within lies" and that the fights were ending in goodbyes, and in the chorus the lyrics shift to "And I'm SO mad at you" instead of the "not mad at you". And the last stage is the chorus that repeats the original verse "I'm not mad at you", which represents how a lot of times in the end of a relationship you're so angry at one point and then at some point sadness overtakes the anger and often times ends up softening the spite.

It's a very deep and emotional song and I had a tough time recording it as it brings up a lot of memories that are sometimes best left at bay. But also those memories and emotions tend to inspire and produce some incredible artistry that otherwise I probably wouldn't know I had in me all along. In that way, its quite beautiful.


Lyrics with Chords

A Song Called Mad - Capo 1

C - G - Dm - Am

Love can be quite lovely but it can also be quite mad
With you its quite confusing most of the time
And this roller coaster of what we call a relationship
Mostly makes me want to lose my mind

I'm not - I’m not mad at you
I'm mad at the world and you're in it
I forgave you a life time ago but
Unfortunately could never forget it
I forgave but could - I could not forget it

A perpetual state of contemplation
Loving you is like living on the fence
But as long as you are advocating for the devil
It will never go beyond pretense

And I'm not - I’m not mad at you
I'm mad at the world and you're in it
I forgave you a life time ago but
Unfortunately could never forget it
I forgave but could - I could not forget it

Sarcastic unrealistic expectations
Were really just embedded within lies
Every consequential confrontational moment
Eventually became a painful Goodbye

And I'm so - I’m so mad at you
I'm mad at the world and you're in it
I forgave you a lifetime ago
But I could - could never forget it

I'm not - I’m not mad at you
I'm mad at the world and you're in it
I forgave you life time ago but
Unfortunately could never forget it
I forgave but could not forget

I just wish I could forget it
And if I could - I would forget it


Listen to more of my original songs on Soundcloud

Check out my open mic videos:
Open Mic Week #71
Open Mic Week #73
Open Mic Week #75

Sort:  

This post has been voted on from MSP3K courtesy of @isaria from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ).

Bots Information:

Join the P.A.L. Discord | Check out MSPSteem | Listen to MSP-Waves

@isaria @minnowsupport @msp-music @msp-curation - I don't know what I did to earn this honor, but thank you from the bottom of my heart for supporting my art <3

Lovely performance! Thanks for sharing such a deeply personal and emotional song - it's a great composition!

thank YOU for coming here and making comment magic and filling my heart with love and enthusiasm :)

You are most welcome, @itinerantartist! ... Thank you for putting your soul on the line for the benefit of us all! Be nice to bump into you someday along your itinerant journey! :-)

it would be my pleasure and honor! maybe some day ill be playing in a venue near you - wouldn't that be amazing if you recognized someone from steemit open mic somewhere in the world! i bet it could - and will! happen! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64009.76
ETH 3148.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91