Steemit Open Mic Week 71 - "Unreasonable" (original song)

in #openmic6 years ago

Greetings Steemit open mic-ers, artists, and music lovers! This is my first entry to Steemit @openmic (and actually my first music video uploaded publicly on the Internet - gasp!).

Thank you to the hosts @luzcypher, @krystle, @verbal-d, @passion-ground, @pfunk, @isaria, and to everyone who is participating, singing, cheering-on, and listening. Our art couldn't exist without ears :)

This is an original song called "Unreasonable" and I decided to publish today for the first time as a tribute to the #SpaceX Falcon Heavy Rocket launch taking place in Florida (Today! 1:30pm EST). History is being made today (look and listen for the nod to #ElonMusk in the song). Praying for all the hard work and dedication to pay off, for a safe and successful launch, and to remind everyone to look into the sky as we begin this incredible journey and advantageous pursuit of intergalactic dreams:

"When Falcon Heavy lifts off, it will be the most powerful operational rocket in the world by a factor of two. With the ability to lift into orbit nearly 64 metric tons (141,000 lb)---a mass greater than a 737 jetliner loaded with passengers, crew, luggage and fuel--Falcon Heavy can lift more than twice the payload of the next closest operational vehicle, the Delta IV Heavy, at one-third the cost. ... Following liftoff, the two side boosters separate from the center core and return to landing sites for future reuse. The center core, traveling further and faster than the side boosters, also returns for reuse, but lands on a drone ship located in the Atlantic Ocean. ... At max velocity the Roadster will travel 11 km/s (7mi/s) and travel 400 million km (250 million mi) from Earth. Falcon Heavy was designed from the outset to carry humans into space and restores the possibility of flying missions with crew to the Moon or Mars."

Unreasonable

If I could begin describe it
Something remotely like it
This impossible unreasonable
Unfathomable feeling
Associated with loving you

It's like tap Dancing in quicksand
Not quite the romance of tango in the rain
It's like running in hexagons
And kind of completely insane

It's Like listening to playlists
of only trance, top 40 and Fox News
It's so Frustratingly infuriating
but even though it makes you mad
At least it makes you feel

No I cant describe it
There's nothing quite like it
But theres just something so unreasonable
About thinking of you

It's never boredom , Not quite indifference
it's never comfort , And it's surely not with ease
But is it worth it? I think it's worth it
And I'd take on anything

I'd take on monsoons, Earthquakes in Asia
All the cons and pickpockets galore
Extra wasabi, even drink coffee
Because with love, Mies, less is never more

I'd launch a spaceship, Relaunch a spaceship
Channel Elon and go down in history
I'd levitate at the speed of sound
Underground - Yes, I’d do anything

I'd write this song, get Pharrell to clap along
And do a remix with Jay Z
I'd be a pop star, duet with Vance Joy
Because I'd be anything
If it’d bring you back to me

No I cant describe it
There's nothing quite like it
But theres just something so unreasonable
About thinking of you
Yes theres just something so unreasonable
About still loving you

Sort:  

welcome to open mic, your song is beautiful, I think you will be a great participant in this great contest. I will be careful because with what you do you show a lot of originality.

hahah awww thats so sweet - but in a very sweetly competitive way ;p
thats ok - a love a good-spirited challenge :)
and none of us can lose when we're creating art in the process!

Sorry, i think the translator did not help me express what I meant, ha ha. I will be following your songs with great interest

hehehe thats ok! translators aren't perfect - although google is getting pretty smart these days! happy to have your support here, and i look forward to seeing more of your music in future open mics!

Hey @itinerantartist,
You have a lovely voice <3
Take care,
@amymya

thank you @amymya - that is very sweet of you:) i hope you liked the song as well!:D

Lovely performance. You have a sweet voice, there's a beautiful honesty to it. Welcome to OpenMic, I look forward to hearing more.

thanks @trevorpetrie ! i just took a look at some of your music on your page - really cool stuff! even though our styles are very different i think the way we do vocals has some similarities. i look forward to hearing more of it! and the motorcycle - a dream! looks like youre out in the desert!?

Thanks again @itinerantartist! Yeah it's my favorite photo of that bike, it was actually an old steam rail station between Maldon and Castlemaine, not far from our old house. I used to ride out there every now and then, very picturesque.

sounds lovely! i was going to ask if they were in the UK (im living in the UK right now), but looked them up on the map and saw theyre in australia! bet its a beautiful riding country over there! :) ive never been, but when i do make my way over there ill have to find a bike to tour on. would be amazing!!!

The roads here are totally made for riding, wide, long, cruisy. It's a big open country that is great for touring on a bike!

so amazing! cant wait to explore it!

The lyrics are so great in this song and your voice is so sweet. Great job girl, love it!

awww thanks @lillym ! the lyrics are my favorite part - im so glad you like them! :)

This is really cool! You're a very talented artist! I had no idea the Steemit open mic existed until yesterday... Looks like, at some point, I'll upload some new videos. I actually haven't posted a new video in a few years. I posted an old one on my Steemit from 2014 but this is motivating me to get new material out there!! :)

you definitely should! it takes a while to build your own community, but the more honest and authentic your interaction, the more you truly are rewarded with great people surrounding you. its kind of the closest thing to relationships IRL in my opinion - you spend quality time and receive quality interactions:) ill look forward to seeing your work! you might be able to catch the tail end of this open mic week if you upload today! otherwise, see you next week ;)

Welcome to Open Mic on Steemit. Loved your song.

thanks_for_playing_steemit_open_mic.png

thanks so much @luzcypher ! i really love what youre doing with the weekly open mics and ill definitely be a regular participant now !

(got most of the nerves out on this one!;p )

This is really great. Great lyrics, great tune, great sound!

Also, don't worry about cheetah. She's a bot that helps find folks who plagiarize. It's just a heads up to the humans who read. Anyone looking would clearly see what's going on, so no worries. :)

Wow, thank you so much for taking the time to listen and comment!:) I'm so happy when people relate to or enjoy my music - it just fuels me and motivates me even more.

And thanks for letting me know about the cheetah bot - it makes sense now but yea I was so confused at first and thought I was being accused of plagiarizing the song! Yikes! But no, it's 100% mine and in fact is so personally about me it really wouldn't apply in its entirety to everyone else ;p

You're welcome! I hope to see you over on one of the music/artist shows on mspwaves sometime!

i didn't know about it! will check it out :) :)

your voice is as beautiful as you are! :) love the stuff you create!

thank you love! >.< you're very sweet! i look forward to doing more open mics so keep an eye out. and I'm excited to see some of your work!

Ohh for sure!! Can’t wait to hear more of your voice! And see more of your original work in general :) and eeep thank you ✨

:) the eeeep feeling is mutual ;p
<3

Like i promised i came here to listen to the song, i loved it!!
You got an amazing voice!! And i see nothing wrong with being a little "nerdy" at the end.. nerds will be the ones to rule the world in the end xD
PS- going to replay it again xD

awwww amazing!! an encore is the highest honor any musician or singer or receive :D
i missed the open mic this week but be on the lookout in the next few days for week 73 because I'm planning on it!

(note to self: must write more songs with hidden nerd things in them ;p)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63595.77
ETH 3415.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49