STEEMIT Open Mic Week 73 - "Future" (Original Song) by @itinerantartist

in #openmic7 years ago (edited)

I'M NOT SICK ANYMORE!

Finally regained my voice after being sick with Mono for the past 5 days (I was literally bedridden and lost my voice completely for part of it), so I am ecstatic I'm feeling better and am able to talk let alone sing - and just in time for Steemit Open Mic Week! on behalf of our amazing hosts @luzcypher and @pfunk.

I've been itching to get back into full creative mode since I couldnt write, draw, or be active at all for the past few days, and all the lack of being active must have been building up because today I awoke with an explosion of creativity and whipped up this song out of thin air. Typically I will spend weeks writing and refining a song. I think this one came so suddenly because of how elated I was to be able to physically have the energy and capacity to create it.

The song is called Future and is inspired by aspirational futurists and dreams of interplanetary habitations and species, fun intergalactic travels, and what it would feel like if global warming really did destroy the planet we call home. This is the kind of song that's built on dreamers' dreams and environmentalists' fears, and turns science into some sort of nostalgic love song for our ears and brains to consider:

How would it would really feel - if we were living on another planet in the future and reflecting back to where we are today?

What effect would catastrophic global warming play on our future lives and feelings ?


If science could sing, this would be her song;)

Check out more of my music on my Soundcloud and be on the lookout for when this song is recorded and released!

Lyrics:
One day we'll live among the stars
Remember what once was ours

We'll walk alone together
Reminiscing gravity
Grounding us and giving us
A home to place our feet

But it's not here anymore
No It's not there anymore

Well reminisce the feeling of air
And the breeze upon our cheeks

We'll miss the days the rain came
And washed away our dreams

But it's not here anymore
Theres no more here anymore

The grass the always greener
When you're galaxies away
And it's easier to sound profound
When you're floating out in space

Because now we're here where we are
We're here now, we are

We built our utopia
And made it on our own
Now we find ourselves with an urge
To send a postcard home

But it's not there anymore
Nobody's there anymore

Sort:  

Amazing song! Keep it up :)

thanks for the support @futurethinker :D this one probably hits home with you just bc of its name and meaning, eh?;p

I thought you were going to cry midway through the song :D Like the guitar tune and your idea of what this song is about. It is kind of exciting, and a little sad at the same time... to be able to think of such amazing possibilities but to always know that the earth is no longer home is a little sad...

What happened, why were you bed ridden? Did you end up in Manchester or yet to go there?

haha ive been an emotional and feverish wreck the last week so crying midway through this wouldve not surprised me at all lol. i like your reaction though - to be honest its kind of how i felt writing it. i feel like a lot of the times when we talk about futuristic projections they're either around high-tech, aspirational, what's scientifically possible, etc. So when I started writing this song I was really wondering but what would happen emotionally to us - like how would it feel- if we were really living on a different planet and reflecting back to where we are now. I imagined it as a sort of nostalgic sense of loss and love. A lot of thought packed into a little diddy tho, huh? lol

I had Mono (Espstein Barr I think they call it in the UK) and have been so sickkkk! And yes! I actually recorded this on the one sunny day in Manchester haha

Indeed, I've been a gamer for quite some years of college and one of my favorite games is Mass Effect, and it's all about travel across galaxies, different home worlds, aliens and cultures. It brought back many nostalgic memories as well, your song. But in Mass Effect, Earth is indeed home, so happy ending there.

Quite some thought into the song and I love songs that have depth like these. Makes you think and imagine.

Did you head out to Scotland like you planned?

no haven't got the bike yet but I've been so preoccupied with job hunting and being sick as a dog - haven't had the time lol ;p

Are you gonna be living in Manchester for a while? Don't worry, summer will be around for quite some time! :)

This post has received a 1.99% UpGoat from @shares. Send at least 0.1 SBD to @shares with a post link in the memo field.

Invest your Steem Power and help minnow at the same time to support our daily curation initiative. Delegate Steem Power (SP) to @shares by clicking one of the following links: 1000 SP, 5000 SP or more. Join us at https://steemchat.com/ discord chat.

Support my owner. Please vote @Yehey as Witness - simply click and vote.

You have a beautiful voice and I really liked your song.

thanks_for_playing_steemit_open_mic.png

thanks @luzcypher! glad i got my voice back just in time to enter this week! I'm trying to post earlier for next week so i get more exposure :)

I'm glad that you're doing better. Lyrics are strong as heck. You're hotter and sexier today.

It's so good that you are back to singing. This was one of the reasons you got scouted in the Promo-mentors.

I hope that you are having a great time in that community :)

You just received a 6.94% upvote from @honestbot, courtesy of @itinerantartist!
WaveSmall.gif

Absolutely gorgeous! I can't believe how creative you have been in the past two days. An explosion of creativity indeed! I love your voice and the way you play, so glad you're feeling better :)

im glad you liked it :) i kind of had a feeling a lot would come pouring out after i was going insane being so unproductive for the entire week. being sick is such a waste of time!;p

Well it was worth the wait, for sure!

Nobody's there anymore.... Beautiful lyrics and voice :).

❤️❤️❤️loved it! So soulful too :) you are very talented!!

thanks @polebird :) I'm glad you get soulful from it! i think its sort of the vibe i was going for. a love song for the planet:) <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 58039.01
ETH 2460.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32