Your First Week In the Steemit Dojo

in #onboarding5 years ago (edited)

You step over the threshold and take a deep breath. You remove your shoes, place them in the cubby, and look around to see what the other students are doing. You are ready to learn. You await the instructor.

Sensei Leading Seminar BW.png

...Only in the Steemit dojo, there is no instructor. Just like in life, in the school of hard knocks, everyone is figuring things out as they go. If you are earnest and persistent, you will find your teachers and take lessons from your experience. If you expect an easy win, you may be disappointed to find yourself flat on your back, blinking up at the sky, time and time again. However, if you stay on the path, your reward will be knowledge and skills that can never be taken away from you. You are here for a reason. So, let's begin.

Your First Week on the Steem Blockchain

The following is a first draft of a lesson designed to help novice Steem users develop the skills necessary to build their first 20 Steem Power. Why 20 SP? My recent experience building this account tells me that 20 SP is the minimum amount needed to interact regularly without worrying about Resource Credits. Below 20 SP you are noticeably limited, even if you post less than three times per week.

Steemit Black Belt is building a path for new users of Steem to develop the skills and habits necessary to grow their accounts by creating value on this blockchain. For an overview of this concept, visit our introductory post. Unlike information hubs that rely on users to understand what they have read and apply the knowledge in practice, these lessons prompt actions that facilitate learning through experience.

If you are a new user with less than 20 Steem Power, you are invited to try the lessons as they are being developed. Provide me with feedback, and I will gladly gift you a @dustsweeper account with 1 STEEM worth of upvotes to help you build. If you have more than 20 SP, stay tuned - and consider referring new users here.

thumbs up.png

Week 1 Assignment

Welcome to the STEEM economy! We're glad you are here. Your first week on the Steem blockchain can be challenging, it helps to be prepared. To avoid burning through your resources in the initial excitement, it pays (literally!) to set up habits that will build your capacity to earn and create value in this economy as early as possible.

Know Your Limits: Resource Credits

Resource Credits are your bandwidth on the Steem blockchain. They are consumed by voting on posts (a little), following other users (a bit more), and publishing posts or comments (a lot). Resource Credits recharge over time, and your capacity is based on the amount of STEEM invested in your account. Until you have at least 20 STEEM powered up or vested in your account, you'll want to monitor your RCs and use them wisely.

Task 1 - Upvote a post, then check your Resource Credits
Only upvote posts less than 7 days old - after 7 days, the payout has ended. It is not necessary to upvote this post to participate (though it is appreciated)!
Resource Credits are not shown on the steemit.com platform. Check your RCs on steemd:

  • Go to https://steemd.com/@steemitblackbelt (this will show information for the steemitblackbelt account). Replace "steemitblackbelt" with your own username to see your information. You can view info and transactions for any Steem account with this tool.
  • Take a screenshot of your stats - you'll need to share it to earn the reward for this week's assignment.

    Know Your Training Environment: Where Will You Post?

Steem is the blockchain, STEEM is the currency, and Steemit (also called condenser) is the first and best-known interface for both. In a future lesson, you will learn to use other interfaces for Steem - there are benefits to moving off the beta platform - but don't worry, you can access your posts and interact from any Steem platform.

Task 2 - Login to your steem interface, and edit your profile
A quirk of the steemit beta interface is that only one edit can be saved at a time - so if you upload a profile image, save your changes before adding a description - then save at each step. Smaller images (800x600) work best.

Introduce Yourself to the Steem Community!

No matter which interface you use, an introduction post with the tag #introduceyourself is the best way to meet the people who will help you earn in the Steem economy. Your introduction post will earn you your first few upvotes and followers. If you also tag #steemitblackbelt, we will stop by to give you an upvote and offer our support.

Task 3 - Introduce yourself in a post or a comment, and share your work from tasks 1 and 2
If you have less than 10 Steem Power (less than $5 USD, at the time of this writing) invested in your account, you may not be able to post and comment in the same day. Make it count!
In a comment below, or in your own introduction post, include the following:

  • A screenshot showing your resource credits, from Task 1
  • The interface you are using, from Task 2
  • If posting on your own blog, use the #steemitblackbelt tag so we will see it!

Next Steps

Completing the steps here will earn you an upvote and a follow, but you will need to complete your profile and introduction post to earn your @dustsweeper account. This shows you are willing to put energy into building your account.

The #introduceyourself tag is read by community leaders looking to support new members, and by potential followers looking for new content. You will get upvotes and welcoming comments. Some of these will be automated and don't need a response. Respond to sincere, interested readers (or viewers) as your resource credits allow.

Your next priority is to grow your account to a level where resource credits do not limit your interactions. If you have $5-$10 to invest, you can do this the easy way. However, you can also build it up yourself. The next lesson will explore some methods.

Upvotes paid to your posts and comments take 7 days to pay out. You can also earn through upvotes you pay to others. Voting 10 times per day is recommended, both to earn STEEM and to earn goodwill from other users.

Halfway to Steemit Yellow Belt!


belt display.png
Let me know how you are doing! Discord is another lesson, but if you like you can find me there: LauraDee#9237


View this post on Steeve, an AI-powered Steem interface








Sort:  

Hi and welcome here! When I started on steemit, my biggest problem was to find interesting people to interact with. So, to help newcomers getting started I created a directory with other interesting and or talented steemians to follow or interact with. Feel free to check it out at https://www.steemiandir.com I am sure it will help you find like-minded people. Enjoy your stay here and do not hesitate to contact me if you have any questions!

I am wary of external links, but I see you have built a cool thing here @anonyvoter!
Something that eased my paranoia was seeing this nice write up on Steemhunt: https://steemit.com/steemhunt/@urbangladiator/steemian-directory-find-the-golden-steemians-on-the-blockchain (in case you want to include that in your welcome post).

Posted using Steeve, an AI-powered Steem interface

I love what you are doing @steemitblackbelt

I read your intro post early on when I joined, but my #introduceyouself post got grabbed up by the @welcomewagon people and I was gifted some SP to keep posting and commenting..

at least, they gobbled me up before I started down your path..

I think I mentioned it in my reply, but I love a good put together to do list and will play along and help out in any way I can..

@welcomewagon is a great group, and I'm glad you got some SP to get started!

My path here is just being forged, and you are welcome to participate! My guess is you are at least at yellow or orange belt already, but you'll have to wait till I write that part of the curriculum 😁

You did not mention what app or apps you usually use to interact on Steem...

Posted using Steeve, an AI-powered Steem interface

I did look at the intro post and yes, I am about at an Orange belt, but will post what I've done so far so you can verify and grade me, steem-sensi 😃

I am very interesting in this @dustsweeper as well..

I've used steemd to follow my resources, a few others I forget now to figure out sliding voting and auto voting.. all suggested by my @welcomewagon training team.. I was planning on doing a 'hey-guess-what-I-just-learned' post sometime soon and mention them all..

and for mobile, eSteem but intend to try out Partiko..

I have literally 20+ tabs open of steem schtuff and dApps based on steem I still have to check out, but loving it so far..

kudos to where I am now go to:
@dreemsteem
@eveningart
@bluefinstudios
and
@saffisara

and some of the members have loaned me that schweet schweet SP but wish to remain anonymous

Happy New Year, and a big Welcome Darren!

LOL not steem sensei, I am sempai at best. I don't quite have a black belt (on my main account) by my own grading system! But thank you. Dustsweeper account headed your way. It's one of the best tools for building small accounts out there, in my opinion. It basically banks the STEEM you contribute to it, and gives it back to you in the form of small upvotes to ensure the small votes you receive on comments aren't lost to the dust threshold (which is 3 cents).

Posted using Steeve, an AI-powered Steem interface

I've just seen the first of the @dustsweeper votes and they are muchly appreciated!

Something I will pass along to any new people I encourage to move their socialing media-lizing over to this platform..

I went back and checked and it was steemworld

I've also checked out Muse.io, some steem-based patreon thang, Dtube.. Dsound (I think I got the name wrong here?)

"Bravo!" for this project! I am currently working with one project to acquaint new users with the Steem blockchain, and am well-acquainted with the WelcomeWagon team and other projects. However, none of us can reach all the new users, so the more projects that exist like yours, the better! Kudos for what you are doing, and I wish you much success with your work! 😃

Thank you! Steem Terminal looks like a great project, I joined your discord. Will do a write up of different resources available in a future post. I must admit I pretty much learned by poking around, so I'm not sure I even know what's out there!

Most of us learned by poking-around, as there weren't many projects for newbies until the past year or so. And with the Steem blockchain being as vibrant and growing as it is, everyone needs to stick together to keep up with it!

Welcome to Steemit

The classic comment self-vote violation.

Nah, it's just spamming to farm votes.

@steemflagrewards

Steem Flag Rewards mention comment has been approved! Thank you for reporting this abuse, @enforcer48.

  • comment self-vote violation
    You left a comment favorable about the post, you didn't upvote the post, and upvoted your own comment.
  • spam
    You are repetitively posting the same content or recyling contents after a period of time.

This post was submitted via our Discord Community channel. Check us out on the following link!
SFR Discord

Hey there
Upvoting your own comment to the top of someone's thread without even upvoting the post, just so you can earn 7 cents per comment is bad form. Especially for so generic a comment as this.
It is grounds for flagging, and I suggest you stop using this method of grinding out upvotes. If you were to spare one upvote for the person whose post you commented on, you would earn goodwill and subsequent upvotes beyond your own - and make you less prone to getting flagged.
Should that fail, there is also @steembasicincome, @steem-bounty and contests. Surely you could earn $.70 per day that way.

Posted using Steeve, an AI-powered Steem interface

I agree on comment self-vote
@steemflagrewards

Posted using Partiko Android

This post has been included in today's SOS Daily News - a digest of all you need to know about the State of Steem.



Thanks! I love what you are doing with State of Steem.

Posted using Steeve, an AI-powered Steem interface


Welcome to Steem @steemitblackbelt.

Do read A thumb rule for steemit minnows - 50:100:200:25 for starter tips.

Spend time reading Steem Blue Paper to know how Steem blockchain works and if you still have any queries ask them on our Ask me anything about Steemit post and we will try to answer that.

All the Best!!!

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 8 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 9 SBD worth and should receive 283 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Welcome to steemit @steemitblackbelt.

Welcome the new steemians. Have a great day!

Congratulations @steemitblackbelt! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 10 replies. Your next target is to reach 50 replies.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Christmas Challenge - The party continues

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @steemitblackbelt! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 100 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 250 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Christmas Challenge - The party continues

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 60936.15
ETH 2921.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70