NSAS Idea Suggestion #12 - The Forest

in #nsas6 years ago

In this series I propose daily ideas for new members who are interested in becoming #steemstem authors.

NSAS: New STEM Authors Support

I will post an idea a dayish (it is the goal to post daily, but again real life>steemit for now). With this idea I will include a short description about aspects you may be interested in. If you read this idea proposal, and you like it, and you want to write about it:

Go to the comments and write: "I, username, claim this idea"

Obviously "username" is where you write your own username. This is so that I know who is interested in @steemstem and science in general and I am always looking for a good read. This is honor system stuff, so please respect someone claiming an idea. Again, this is just the first step towards writing a good science post. There is more to it. Do your research, use scientific sources and try to use some proper language and attractive design.
This series will have their own hashtag #nsas, so that you can go back and sort through some of the ideas I have shared and what people made out of it. If you decide to use the idea I propose, please also include #nsas on your posts so that I can have a look at it and maybe get you connected in the steemstem group.
Please also visit @steemstem on steemit as well as on Discord. Follow the guidelines and appreciate the community. That means engage, upvote and comment until your fingers bleed.

trees-251923_960_720.jpg

I love the forest. Whenever I have the time (and I will have plenty this summer), I go on hikes and my favorite hiking is through German forests (have not tried many other forests yet). However, the forest is much more to us humans: it is a resource, a spiritual place, food source as well as basis for many businesses. This leads to the following problem: How do you satisfy all these needs while ensuring a healthy forest?
This proposal is for a biology/ecology post. You can explore and share how we humans have influenced the ecosystem forest. What impact do hikers have on local flora and fauna? How does lumber production affect the composition of forests? How does the soil develop when we grow certain trees in a culture? There are many possible questions you can answer. You can even go and give this a historical touch. You could write about what role forests have played in human history, how certain religions have evolved around forests. To get you started, here is a Nature Review editorial called At the human-forest interface

Previous Idea Suggestions:

Helpful Links

  • How To Find Scientific Sources For Free - Post
  • SteemSTEM Guidelines - Link
  • Everything You Need to Know about Uploading Images on Steemit [Tutorial & MarkDown] - Link - by @katerinaramm

As always,
Cheers @lesshorrible!

Sort:  

I, @davidrhodes124, claim this topic, but give me a few days to put an article together. Thanks.

I would love to contribute to ecology. I hope to reduce my carbon footprint and I live in Romania, a country disfigured by illegal logging (Austrian logging companies, IKEA and even Harvard Institute). I would like to write about it but I am not sure that negative content would get a massive traction here. Here are some highlights in a huge investigation: https://www.occrp.org/en/investigations/4990-ikea-s-forest-recall

Maybe I will find time to write about this or other ecology related subjects soon.

Well, who cares? If you have a topic that you are interested in, you should write about it. This topic actually sounds very interesting! The catch is that you will need reliable sources/proof to back up your claims. I don’t see why such a post wouldn’t be successful. Cheers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58167.06
ETH 2592.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44