NSAS Idea Suggestion# 2

in #steemstem6 years ago

NSAS: New STEM Authors Support

I will post an idea a dayish (it is the goal to post daily, but again real life>steemit for now). With this idea I will include a short description about aspects you may be interested in. If you read this idea proposal, and you like it, and you want to write about it:

Go to the comments and write: "I, username, claim this idea"

Obviously "username" is where you write your own username. This is so that I know who is interested in @steemstem and science in general and I am always looking for a good read. This is honor system stuff, so please respect someone claiming an idea. Again, this is just the first step towards writing a good science post. There is more to it. Do your research, use scientific sources and try to use some proper language and attractive design.
This series will have their own hashtag #nsas, so that you can go back and sort through some of the ideas I have shared and what people made out of it. If you decide to use the idea I propose, please also include #nsas on your posts so that I can have a look at it and maybe get you connected in the steemstem group.
Please also visit @steemstem on steemit as well as on Discord. Follow the guidelines and appreciate the community. That means engage, upvote and comment until your fingers bleed.

beverage_breakfast_ceramic_container_cup_drink_food_hot-939887.jpg!d.jpg

Tea - The Silent Killer

For this post you will need some balls. The way I was thinking about this post was to make it a little bit of a parody. I once wrote a post about water fluoridation, and it was quite succesful because it is a controversial topic. It was interesting research and during it, I stumbled upon some case studies about two ladies who had skeletal fluorosis because they were drinking A LOT of tea every day. Some people like to generalize, so I was thinking that you could write about tea being a silent killer cause everybody thinks its healthy when it can be dangerous. With this being a parody, you could highlight the fact that people often disregard the fine print, namely that you have to drink 20ish tea packs a day. You will have to really blow up these few case studies and blame the billion dollar industry. People may get a little pissy at you, but this could be an educational post. However, you could obviously also approach this as a review article. Aspects to look at would be fluoride contents of tea leafs. You could also write about herbal teas and show differences. If you want to be balanced and move away from the parody idea, you can try to balance health benefits versus the risk of fluorosis. But that is totally up to you.

I am also a mentor for @steemstem. Currently, I do have one mentee (I just started being active as a mentor yesterday) so, if you want me to help you get your foot in the stem-door, leave a comment or find me on Discord. Depending on where you live, it may take me a day to reply.

Steemit-big.png

As always,
Cheers @lesshorrible!

Sort:  

Reply to this comment if you want me to resteem your last blog post to my 32,500+ followers. Then whenever you make a new blog post that you want me to resteem go to my Comments and reply to any of my comments on other steemians blog posts. Please upvote my comment after I resteem your blog post. @a-0-0

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64453.36
ETH 3507.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56