NSAS Idea Suggestion #6 - You Diet Changes Your Gut Microbiome Faster Than You Think

in #steemstem6 years ago

In this series I propose daily ideas for new members who are interested in becoming #steemstem authors.

NSAS: New STEM Authors Support

I will post an idea a dayish (it is the goal to post daily, but again real life>steemit for now). With this idea I will include a short description about aspects you may be interested in. If you read this idea proposal, and you like it, and you want to write about it:

Go to the comments and write: "I, username, claim this idea"

Obviously "username" is where you write your own username. This is so that I know who is interested in @steemstem and science in general and I am always looking for a good read. This is honor system stuff, so please respect someone claiming an idea. Again, this is just the first step towards writing a good science post. There is more to it. Do your research, use scientific sources and try to use some proper language and attractive design.
This series will have their own hashtag #nsas, so that you can go back and sort through some of the ideas I have shared and what people made out of it. If you decide to use the idea I propose, please also include #nsas on your posts so that I can have a look at it and maybe get you connected in the steemstem group.
Please also visit @steemstem on steemit as well as on Discord. Follow the guidelines and appreciate the community. That means engage, upvote and comment until your fingers bleed.

anatomy-160524_960_720.png

Gut Microbiome - CC0

I recently stumbled upon a Nature article by David et al.. The results are pretty cool. They found that changing your diet to either mainly plant-based or mainly animal-based can alter the composition of your gut microbiome, the transcriptome (which genes are being expressed) and the which proteins are being made by the microbes in your gut. This is a pretty cool topic that will require a bit of research. However, there is a ton of recent research made. Since a lot of people have been talking about the brain-gut axis, this article, should you take it, could be more focused on how your gut adopts to dietary changes. Here are a few highlights from this post you could elaborate on:

  • Animal-based diet led to upregulation of beta-lactamase (possible link to penicillin resistance?)
  • Biofilla microbes increased relative to other microbes (they are "pro" inflammatory - is here the link to why too much meat may be unhealthy?)
  • Why does animal-based diet bring about more changes in microbiome composition than plant-based diet?

Granted, this is a medicine topic, but it is an interesting topic. I hope somebody takes it because I won´t have enough time.
Sorry for missing yesterday´s suggestion, I was busy getting ready for exams, research proposal, etc.

I am also a mentor for @steemstem. Currently, I have one mentee so, if you want me to help you get your foot in the stem-door, leave a comment or find me on Discord. Depending on where you live, it may take me a day to reply. I will also help you with any of the proposed ideas. Just contact me and send me a draft and I will give you my two cents.

Previous Idea Suggestions:

Steemit-big.png

As always,
Cheers @lesshorrible!

Sort:  

Nice post, I hope that this generates a claimant. I can recommend Rob Knight's Ted Talk on the subject: https://www.ted.com/talks/rob_knight_how_our_microbes_make_us_who_we_are

Thanks @davidrhodes124, I will check it out later. It is a really cool topic. Cheers!

This topic is of great interest to me. My son was diagnosed with a rare liver disease (primary sclerosing cholangitis) (PSC) with ulcerative colitis (UC) at age 18. He was born by C-section, and had terrible gastrointestinal problems as a young child. I started this PSC literature web site , and helped establish PSC Partners Seeking a Cure and their research grant, and patient/physician conference programs back in 2004 -2010. There is growing evidence that PSC is associated with a perturbation of gut microbiota (see e.g. Torres et al. (2018)). I would not wish this disease on anyone! It comes with greatly increased risk of bile-duct cancer and colorectal cancer. The only "cure" seems to be liver transplantation and even then, the disease can recur in 25% of cases.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64093.86
ETH 3123.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94