NSAS Idea Suggestion# 1 - Sharing Is Caring

in #steemstem6 years ago (edited)

Dear STEMians,

You want to be a succesfull STEM contributor and get "paid" to learn? You want to expand the boundaries of your knowledge and enhance that of others? Are you passionate about science? Do you want to be the next Da Vinci and write about your new amazing knowledge and your new innovations?

LessHorribleProfile.png

We have all been at this point - aspiration and motivation are overwhelming us and our ambition is only overshadowed by ...... our lack of ideas. One of the biggest challenges I faced when I was writing a review article for steemit a day was finding an idea. Don´t get me wrong, there are SO many things in science you could write about. But finding something that is of interest to you, while bing feasible and not too difficult can be difficult. Because I want #steemstem and #de-stem to grow and improve in quality, and because I decided to take a step back to be able to get my own real life (yeah, there is such a thing as a real life), I want to give some of you aspirating authors a few ideas about what to write. These ideas are no guarantee for you to become the next @egotheist or @sco, but it shoud get you somewhere into my rank and I am more than happy about my place on steemit. I have started a few projects and this is the first post of a new one, which I call NSAS.

NSAS: New STEM Authors Support

I will post an idea a dayish (it is the goal to post daily, but again real life>steemit for now). With this idea I will include a short description about aspects you may be interested in. If you read this idea proposal, and you like it, and you want to write about it:

Go to the comments and write: "I, username, claim this idea"

Obviously "username" is where you write your own username. This is so that I know who is interested in @steemstem and science in general and I am always looking for a good read. This is honor system stuff, so please respect someone claiming an idea. Again, this is just the first step towards writing a good science post. There is more to it. Do your research, use scientific sources and try to use some proper language and attractive design.
This series will have their own hashtag #ians, so that you can go back and sort through some of the ideas I have shared and what people made out of it.
Please also visit @steemstem on steemit as well as on Discord. Follow the guidelines and appreciate the community. That means engage, upvote and comment until your fingers bleed.

cream-onion-885923_960_720.jpg

Public Domain Background

First Idea

I have gotten a question on one of my posts about the antibiotic effect of onions and garlic. Since I love garlic, I decided to write a post about garlic. It has been one of my most succesful posts on steemit and - not padding myself on the shoulder - it is also one of my better ones. During my research I also read quite a bit about onions. Now, I did not want to write two very similar posts. The research would have been boring for me and my readers. However, there is quite a bit to write about and if that is something you may be interested in, this idea is yours to claim. Here is a link to a google scholar search that should help you find scientific sources: Onions Health Benefits
Here is also a link to my garlic post. You can use it as an orientation. Garlic: A Survey Into Its Antibacterial Properties
This should get you set up. I think this idea has a great potential as it will appeal to scientists (when using scientific sources), as well as alternative healers and people with funny diet ideas.
I will not write this post for you and let you submit it. Neither will I give you any more help except for feedback.

I am also a mentor for @steemstem. Currently, I do not have any mentees (I just started being active as a mentor yesterday) so, if you want me to help you get your foot in the stem-door, leave a comment or find me on Discord. Depending on where you live, it may take me a day to reply.

Steemit-big.png

As always,
Cheers @lesshorrible!


PS: Lizard people are the most hilarious thing in the world!!!

Sort:  

the next @egotheist or @sco

lol, I don't know what to say now. You shameless flatterer!^^
But it worked, I just manually removed the 1% vote of the steemstem curation trail and gave you 100%.

Jeez. I've been doing this internet thing for more then ten years now and suddenly people are praising the things I do. This is such a weird feeling. But, well, thanks, I guess :)

I have to thank you for introducing me to #steemstem. Cheers!

Absolutely! You were definitely a find and you are writing great posts so I am glad you took a chance! Cheers!

Just so you know, there is already an #ians tag for introduceanewsteemian that I started a while back.

Sorry @gmuxx, I was unaware of that. I will change this then. Thank you for letting me know. Cheers!

No problem.

Sounds interesting. I'll be watching.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61159.70
ETH 2631.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63