NSAS Idea Suggestion #3 - Essential Oils

in #steemstem6 years ago

In this series I propose daily ideas for new members who are interested in becoming #steemstem authors.

NSAS: New STEM Authors Support

I will post an idea a dayish (it is the goal to post daily, but again real life>steemit for now). With this idea I will include a short description about aspects you may be interested in. If you read this idea proposal, and you like it, and you want to write about it:

Go to the comments and write: "I, username, claim this idea"

Obviously "username" is where you write your own username. This is so that I know who is interested in @steemstem and science in general and I am always looking for a good read. This is honor system stuff, so please respect someone claiming an idea. Again, this is just the first step towards writing a good science post. There is more to it. Do your research, use scientific sources and try to use some proper language and attractive design.
This series will have their own hashtag #nsas, so that you can go back and sort through some of the ideas I have shared and what people made out of it. If you decide to use the idea I propose, please also include #nsas on your posts so that I can have a look at it and maybe get you connected in the steemstem group.
Please also visit @steemstem on steemit as well as on Discord. Follow the guidelines and appreciate the community. That means engage, upvote and comment until your fingers bleed.
essential-oils-1958551_960_720.jpg

Third Idea - Essential Oils

I have no idea what those essential oils are about. It seems that there are many people, especially on the esotheric spectrum, who believe that they can help to prevent diseases, make you prettier and heal cancer (the last is slightly overstated). The idea for this post is to go to google scholar and NCBI (for example) and do see what research has to say about essential oils. Please, if you pick up on this idea, try to make your argument balanced. Maybe there is some science behind these oils. I do not know. Honestly, I hope somebody takes this idea because I would certainly be interested in it. If not, I may take it next week. There is also a group here on steemit who seems to sell those.
A possible structure could be:

  • What are essential oils, what is their history?
  • Components of essential oils and their effects
  • Studies of health benefits/potential harm
  • Conclusion

I am also a mentor for @steemstem. Currently, I have one mentee (I just started being active as a mentor yesterday) so, if you want me to help you get your foot in the stem-door, leave a comment or find me on Discord. Depending on where you live, it may take me a day to reply. I will also help you with any of the proposed ideas. Just contact me and send me a draft and I will give you my two cents.

Previous Idea Proposals

Steemit-big.png

As always,
Cheers @lesshorrible

Sort:  

I, @crescendoofpeace, claim this idea.

Unless of course you have already done so and are working on the article. Please let me know. Thanks!

This interests me a great deal, as I've been using essential oils regularly since the 70s, and I am a big believer in their effectiveness, having experienced it first hand, and having helped a number of other people over the years.

But at the same time, there is a lot of hype, and an awful lot of just plain lies circulating out there, particularly from some of the multilevel essential companies.

I'm looking forward to doing the research for this! Thanks for the suggestion!

Cool @crescendofpeace! Just make sure you make a balanced argument and use scientific sources. If you need help finding those, I can help you, just let me know. Cheers!

No problem, will do.

I was a science major, in marine biology, so I've written science-based articles in the past, though it's been a while. ;-)

Ok, I am looking forward to your post then. Cheers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66258.39
ETH 3170.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.07