NSAS Idea Suggestion #10 - Does The Brain Talk To The Immune System?

in #nsas6 years ago

In this series I propose daily ideas for new members who are interested in becoming #steemstem authors.

NSAS: New STEM Authors Support

I will post an idea a dayish (it is the goal to post daily, but again real life>steemit for now). With this idea I will include a short description about aspects you may be interested in. If you read this idea proposal, and you like it, and you want to write about it:

Go to the comments and write: "I, username, claim this idea"

Obviously "username" is where you write your own username. This is so that I know who is interested in @steemstem and science in general and I am always looking for a good read. This is honor system stuff, so please respect someone claiming an idea. Again, this is just the first step towards writing a good science post. There is more to it. Do your research, use scientific sources and try to use some proper language and attractive design.
This series will have their own hashtag #nsas, so that you can go back and sort through some of the ideas I have shared and what people made out of it. If you decide to use the idea I propose, please also include #nsas on your posts so that I can have a look at it and maybe get you connected in the steemstem group.
Please also visit @steemstem on steemit as well as on Discord. Follow the guidelines and appreciate the community. That means engage, upvote and comment until your fingers bleed.

dementia-595638_960_720.jpg
Public Domain

My grandpa had it and the transition was something scary to observe - dementia, Alzheimer´s disease. It is a rather fascinating disease, one that we still do not fully understand and one that we cannot heal as of now. This post is not just inspired by my grandpa´s disease (which became worse until he died), but also by some seemingly promising advances made in Israel. I saw a post on Facebook (out of all the available sources on the internet), which claimed that Israeli scientists found a drug that targets many different neurodegernative diseases. Supposedly it is a single peptide. Unable to find the facebook post (it had been a few days since), I searched Google and found this article in the Jerusalem Post. Their website does not seem to be too legit so I decided to find the source of these news, Prof. Michal Schwartz. In deed, on the website of Prof. Schwarz´s Institution, the Weizman Institute of Science I found a short post about her recent work, which included a new found link of communication between the brain and the immune system. She then came to the conclusion that boosting specific immune cells in the brain could reverse the effects of Alzheimer´s. This seems to have been confirmed in studies with mice. Today´s suggestion is to explore the ongoing conversation between the brain and the immune system and the link to curing Alzheimer´s Disease. This is something really new, so you will explore front-end research. If nobody claims this idea within the next few days I may jump onto this. I will be busy until Tuesday (my oral defence of my research proposal will happen soon), but then I will again write a longer post and this topic is really interesting. Anyways, if you want this, just claim it in the comments as outlined above.

Previous Idea Suggestions:

Helpful Links

  • How To Find Scientific Sources For Free - Post
  • SteemSTEM Guidelines - Link

Steemit-big.png

As always,
Cheers @lesshorrible!

Sort:  

I @telorgulung claim this idea. Wonderful

Hey @telorgulung! Awesome! Do you think you are up for this? Are you in the sciences? Cheers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58306.22
ETH 2596.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39