NSAS Idea Suggestion #7 - Target Delivery Of Cancer Therapeutics

in #steemstem6 years ago

In this series I propose daily ideas for new members who are interested in becoming #steemstem authors.

NSAS: New STEM Authors Support

I will post an idea a dayish (it is the goal to post daily, but again real life>steemit for now). With this idea I will include a short description about aspects you may be interested in. If you read this idea proposal, and you like it, and you want to write about it:

Go to the comments and write: "I, username, claim this idea"

Obviously "username" is where you write your own username. This is so that I know who is interested in @steemstem and science in general and I am always looking for a good read. This is honor system stuff, so please respect someone claiming an idea. Again, this is just the first step towards writing a good science post. There is more to it. Do your research, use scientific sources and try to use some proper language and attractive design.
This series will have their own hashtag #nsas, so that you can go back and sort through some of the ideas I have shared and what people made out of it. If you decide to use the idea I propose, please also include #nsas on your posts so that I can have a look at it and maybe get you connected in the steemstem group.
Please also visit @steemstem on steemit as well as on Discord. Follow the guidelines and appreciate the community. That means engage, upvote and comment until your fingers bleed.

Breast_cancer_cells.jpg

Breast Cancer - Image released by author to Public Domain

Back in the day when I was writing my nanotech series I had a post about nanotech in cancer. During my research I learned about target drug delivery systems that bring therapeutically active agents specifically to tissue where it is needed. This approach would maximize efficiency, lower risk of side-effects by lowering spread throughout the body and possibly also decrease the amount of drug needed for treatment. Drug delivery systems is a very interesting, yet complex area in science. I think this would be a great article, however, research will be challenging so I would recommend this to someone in biochemistry and medicine (or if you are just very passionate). I found a very nice article in Nature Communications (my new favorite website), that talks about nanocarriers. This article is called Progress and challenges towards targeted delivery of cancer therapeutics. Given how many sources there are dealing with this or related topics, it should not be a problem to find information. Here is a proposed outline:

  • Introduction to cancer (statistics, types of cancer, etc.)
  • Short explanation of conventional approaches
  • Overview over current developments
  • Describe 2-3 new methods in detail
  • Conclusion

I am too lazy these days to write such review articles. But if you have time this could be a really great post.

Mentoring

I am also a mentor for @steemstem. Currently, I have one mentee so, if you want me to help you get your foot in the stem-door, leave a comment or find me on Discord. Depending on where you live, it may take me a day to reply. I will also help you with any of the proposed ideas. Just contact me and send me a draft and I will give you my two cents.

Previous Idea Suggestions:

Steemit-big.png

As always,
Cheers @lesshorrible!

Sort:  

I, @lianaakobian, claim this idea :)

Yeah! Now I consider this project a success!;) Cheers!

Thanks for your kind information about Cancer...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64383.21
ETH 3098.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89