Film & TV Friday: Toxic Fans

in #news6 years ago

This week's news segment will be dedicated to one topic: The toxicity of some fans. Specifically, Star Wars fans. This is Film & TV Friday.

The News

So this week, Star Wars actress and all around awesome human Kelly Marie Tran deleted her Instagram account. She did that after months and months of harassment by some so-called Star Wars fans. And I want to talk about that.

There's a strain of Star Wars fans that somehow missed the basic point of the series, which is about fighting space Nazis. I mean, their soldiers are literally called Stormtroopers. But now they're complaining that evil Disney put social justice in their series of movies about fighting space Nazis? This is like Star Trek fans making the same complaint about their show, which Gene Roddenberry expressly created to express diversity. And also Marvel fans complaining about social justice in Captain America, a series about a character literally created to punch Hitler.

I mean, in case some of y'all are reading this: The fact that a thing you love can be about someone other than a white dude is not actually hurting you. You still have white dudes representing you in most media. And also, y'all can do what women and people have had to do for years, and find ways to identify with folks who don't look like you. It's called empathy. Look it up.

Now, these people are very obviously very wrong about their favorite franchises, but that's mostly pitiable. What isn't worthy of pity or empathy, is they way they have expressed their ire. These abuse campaigns, usually aimed at women, and especially women of color, aren't any kind of just fight. They're racist being racist.

Wide Release Films Opening This Weekend:

Film# of Theaters
Ocean's 84,145
Hereditary2,964
Hotel Artemis2,407

Source: BoxOfficeMojo
This almost never happens. This week actually has two films I want to watch! The reviews for Hotel Artemis have been mixed at best, but I still think I'll dig it. And I've been all in for Ocean's 8 since it was announced.

TV Show Premieres This Week

ShowSeasonCountryNetwork or ServiceDayTime
Big Hero Six: The Series1USDisneySunday9:00AM EST
Claws2USTNTSunday9:00PM EST
The Bold Type2USFreeformTuesday8:00PM EST
Lucha Underground4USEl ReyWednesday8:00PM EST
Strange Angel1USCBS All AccessThursday3:01AM EST
Lip Sync Battle4USParamountThursday10:30PM EST
Goliath2Some CountriesAmazonFriday3:01AM EST
Queer Eye8WorldwideNetflixFriday3:01AM EST
The Ranch3WorldwideNetflixFriday3:01AM EST
12 Monkeys4USSyfyFriday8:00PM EST

Source: The Futon Critic
There's all kinds of intriguing stuff here, bu only 1 show I can actually guarantee I will watch. That's right, Lip Sync Battle, y'all!

Trailers

Last week, I wondered why we had so few trailers. Turns out they were all waiting for this week! There's a huge variety here, and a lot to like!

The Children Act


I love Emma Thompson, and the Tucc is great, but this looks like a bummer.

Widows


Four women's criminal husbands die, and leave them in debt. Now, they need to do something bold - and probably criminal. This looks interesting!

Suspiria


I'm glad for Dakota Johnson that she's done with the 50 Shades movies, and Tilda Swinton is the very best, but this was too creepy for me to even finish watching the trailer.

Ralph Breaks the Internet: Wreck-It Ralph 2


If you've seen one trailer from this week, it was probably this one. And rightly so. It looks utterly delightful. I loved the first Wreck-It Ralph film, and I am here for this one.

White Boy Rick


This true life crime story has a stellar cast, but I am very unclear on how good this will be, or even what the tone of the film really is.

The Lego Movie 2: The Second Part


I am less certain about this sequel to a delightful animated film than I was about the second Ralph movie, as the trailer isn't as good, and the original directors aren't on board.

Bumblebee


Will this be the Transformers film that doesn't suck? The odds aren't great. But being better than the Michael Bay films in the franchise is a low bar, and one I think it will clear.

Operation Finale


Huh, it's the Eichmann capture movie. I have seen too much holocaust media in my life as it is. So even though Oscar Isaac is great, and seeing Nick Kroll as a serious spy is just inconceivably bizarre and intriguing, I won't be seeing this.

Mortal Engines


Am I entirely off base and off my rocker, or does this look super awesome?

The Old Man And The Gun


Another true crime story, but damn, the cast here makes the one in White Boy Rick look like a bunch of amateurs. Except that Casey Affleck's in it, and I don't watch his movies.

A Star Is Born


I'm not entirely sure this one needed another remake, but it seems updated, and I am very curious to see Gaga's acting chops and Cooper's directorial abilities.

London Fields


This is intriguing, and also possibly terrible? I honestly can't tell.

The Girl in the Spider's Web


New Lisbeth Salander actress, based on the book by the new Lisbeth Salander author. This looks less brutal that the earlier works, so maybe I could bear to watch it?

Serenity


The second Matthew McConaughey film in this trailer rundown is a noir thriller that is mostly interesting for featuring a blonde Anne Hathaway.

How to Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World


I liked the previous two films, and I expect I'll like this one as well!

Bad Times at the El Royale


I've loved Drew Goddard's work ever since he became the third and best writer called Drew working on Buffy - thus becoming Ultimate Drew. And this looks great. Creepy, but just the right amount. Beautifully cast, and just delightfully odd. I think I'm here for this one!

Related Posts

Film & TV Friday: Bye, Roseanne
Film & TV Friday: O Solo Mio
Film & TV Friday: Hello, Mr. Pool
Film & TV Friday: What We Do In TV's Shadow
Film & TV Friday: It's All About Infinity War
Film & TV Friday: DC's New Plan Is To Not Suck
Film & TV Friday: Netflix vs. Cannes
Film & TV Friday: Unready Player One
Film & TV Friday: Oh Captain My Captain
Film & TV Friday: Ava Duvernay Is A New Goddess
The Shape of Film & TV Friday
Film & TV Friday: Oscar Preview
Film & TV Friday: The Zombies Are Coming
Film & TV Friday: A Tale of Two Ryans
Film & TV Friday

TGP_Light_Banner.jpg

steemsig.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63924.41
ETH 3120.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88