The Shape of Film & TV Friday

in #entertainment6 years ago (edited)

So I was wrong, and The Shape of Water won the big awards at the Oscars. And I haven't watched it yet, but I'm gonna call this a retroactive award for Pacific Rim and be happy. This is Films & TV Friday.

News

Jon Favreau gets a Star War all his own.

The Iron Man director will show-run a new Star Wars tv show that will air on Disney's upcoming Netflix competitor. I'm conflicted. Favreau certainly has the chops, and he's a fan. But Wonder Woman and Black Panther have proven what many of us have been saying for a long time: that's it's past time to let some people who aren't white dudes a chance at the big geeky blockbusters. We need fresh perspectives. Star Wars needs fresh perspectives.

Cheetah Wiig

Speaking of Wonder Woman, Kristen Wiig has been confirmed as Cheetah in the film's sequel. Cheetah is a classic WW foe, and Wiig is a terrific actress. I am very much here for this. I hope having Wiig around also means the WW sequel will be funnier than the first film.

Disappointing Wrinkle?

The reviews are in for Ava DuVernay's adaptation of A Wrinkle in time, and they are a collective "meh." I still hope and expect to like it a lot. We'll see how it does.

Wide Release Films Opening This Weekend:

Film# of Theaters
A Wrinkle in Time3,980
Strangers: Prey at Night2,464
Gringo2,404
The Hurricane Heist2,402

Source: BoxOfficeMojo

So this is Wrinkle plus 3 fairly random movies, and with the early reviews and Thursday returns for Wrinkle, it looks like another week at the top for Black Panther.

TV Show Premieres This Week

ShowSeasonCountryNetwork or ServiceDayTime
A.I.C.O. Incarnation1WorldwideNetflixFridayn/a
Love3WorldwideNetflixFridayn/a
Sneaky Pete3WorldwideAmazonFriday3AM EST
American Ninja Warrior10USNBCSunday8PM EST
American Idol16USABCSunday8PM EST
Deception1USABCSunday10PM EST
Rise1USNBCTuesday10PM EST
For The People1USABCTuesday10PM EST

Source: The Futon Critic

That's a bunch of shows, huh? You may be surprised to learn that the one I'm most interested is American Idol. In my 10 Facts and 1 Lie post, I totally should have put in "wrote a popular weekly column about American Idol. No one would have guessed it, and it's 100% true. I loved the show for a few seasons before I stopped caring. Luke Bryan, Katy Perry and Lionel Richie are the judges, and I have NO idea how that will go. I'll give it a shot.

Trailers

Interesting bunch this week. Let's take a look.

Submergence


Honestly, this looks like 3 different films, at least. But it's Wim Wenders, who used to make great films, and the cast is very good.

Mary Poppins Returns


They had me at Lin-Manuel Miranda. And at Emily Blunt. I really want this to be great. Can it please be great?

Christopher Robin


I have waaaay less faith in this being good. I mean... is this a gritty Pooh movie? Who wanted that?

Tully


Diablo Cody and Jason Ritter make smart films. Charlize Theron is super great. Maybe I'll watch this at home one day.

The Seagull


So... is Saoirse Ronan in all the movies now? I mean, we had a trailer with her for a different depressing adaptation last week. This thing has a terrific cast, but do I want to watch a Chekhov movie? Not unless it's the one from Star Trek.

Show Dogs


Is... is this Miss Congeniality with a dog in the Sandra Bullock role? This looks awful.

The Grinch


Ugh. Do. Not. Want.

The House of Tomorrow


This looks like a Wes Anderson movie, except not as pretty. And I'm here for it! Certainly looks like the best film of this week's lot. Unless the new Mary Poppins is great. Have I mentioned how much I hope it's great?

Related Posts

Film & TV Friday: Oscar Preview
Film & TV Friday: The Zombies Are Coming
Film & TV Friday: A Tale of Two Ryans
Film & TV Friday

Sort:  

I am really happy to see Merry Poppins returning.

Join me in crossing fingers that it's actually great!

Oh no I have such high hopes for a Wrinkle in Time! Still keeping my fingers crossed.

Totally hear ya bout a Star Wars show. I love the universe there so I'll likely give it a try but my hopes aren't as high...

I mean, I'll take his series over whatever the Game of Thrones guys are gonna do.

When I have time, I'll write a post about the just concluded SW: Rebels, and how much I loved it.

“Gritty Pooh movie”... 💩😄

In the Shape of Water was great. I knew nothing about it. NOTHING and my husband popped it in for us to watch on Friday before the Oscars. I was so surprised when it won, and felt all “in the know”.

I like John Favreu for Star Wars, but your are right, Wonder Woman & Black Panther definitely show we don’t need more white guys for great blockbuster movies.

I am not excited by the casting in a Wrinkle in Time. Isn’t that the one with Oprah, Reese Witherspoon and Mindy Kaling? Some actors get lost in their characters, to me these three are always just Oprah, Reese and Mindy no matter who they play. I worry they will be distracting.

On what hand, I get what you mean about Oprah, Reese, and Mindy. On the other hand? They're Oprah, Reese, and Mindy! They're awesome! And their roles aren't exactly regular folks, you know?

Maybe it is just all of them in one place that is making me feel like it’s too much? Like looking straight into the sun? 🌞😄

I am also excited about the new Marry Poppins :D .With Emily Blunt, how can it be anything less than amazing>

I mean... she was also in The Huntsman: Winter's War, and that was not great. But when stuff is great (Looper, Edge of Tomorrow, Devil Wears Prada), she's great in it.

Fair enough, I didn't actually see The Huntsman: Winter's War so I can safely say I love everything I've ever seen her in, haha.

Boost Your Post. Send 0.200 STEEM or SBD and your post url on memo and we will resteem your post on 6000+ followers. check our account to see the follower count.

Such mixed feelings on Mary Poppins. This is the first I've heard of it. But it truly is in my top 3 movies of all time. And Julie Andrews is honestly my hero. So I suppose I will be watching and comparing to her.

Idol is one of my guilty pleasures. Pleased to see it's surviving. Sort of.

Hi,
You're an entertaining reviewer! I'm sorry to hear about a Wrinkle in Time. I wanted it to be good as well. I'm also hopeful about Mary Poppins.
Janice

After hearing Pop Culture Happy Hour's discussion of the film, I am way more upbeat about Wrinkle in Time!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 56208.10
ETH 2476.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26