Film & TV Friday: It's All About Infinity War

in #news6 years ago

This is one of those weeks when everything is about one movie, a movie I watched yesterday and predict will be controversial. This is Film & TV Friday.

The News

Will Avengers: Infinity War Break The Record?

Sitting in the theater last night, before the film opened, I was struck with the realization that some of the kids in the room have literally had the MCU as part of their entire lives. The Marvel Cinematic Universe has been around for a decade now, and is firmly established as a cultural pillar, rivaled only by another of Disney's franchises, Star Wars. And it's all been leading up to this. To break the record and have the best weekend ever, it needs to beat The Force Awakens' $248 million opening weekend. Will it do it? I'm going to say no. I think it's too dark, and some of the choices made will piss people off. Big time. It will open over 200 million, and Disney's gonna have to be satisfied with that.

Cosby's going to jail

I try to stay away from celeb news here, but this is much bigger than that. This is a man whose deeds were known for DECADES, who preached to his community about their style of clothing while sexually assaulting women time and time again. I was a teen in the 80's. The Cosby Show was a cultural touchstone for me. But much like Woody Allen and Roman Polanski, I have been avoiding Cosby's work for years now. Is it sad that a man in his 80's is going to jail? To a certain extent, yes. But he should have gone there years ago, sparing dozens of women assault and trauma.

Star Wars: Resistance is the next SW animated show!

Okay, back to this post's regular fare. Dave Filoni, the brilliant creator behind Star Wars: Clone Wars (which I dropped because I couldn't stand Anakin) and Star Wars: Rebels, which I adored is back at the helm for Resistance, which will lead up to The Force Awakens in much the same way Rebels led up to A New Hope. Oscar Isaac and Gwendoline Christie will play Poe and Phasma, which hopefully means the Shiny armored captain will finally get the story her awesome look deserves. The story will center around Kazuda Xiono, a young pilot recruited to spy on the emerging threat of the First Order. I will definitely be watching this show.

Wide Release Films Opening This Weekend:

Film# of Theaters
Avengers: Infinity War4,474

Source: BoxOfficeMojo
Have I mentioned that this weekend is all about Infinity War?

TV Show Premieres This Week

ShowSeasonCountryNetwork or ServiceDayTime
James Cameron's Story of Science Fiction1USAMCMonday10:00PM EST
Elementary6USCBSMonday10:00PM EST
Take My Wife2USStarzTuesday3:01AM EST
Colony3USUSAWednesday10:0PM EST
Dear White People2WorldwideNetflixFriday3:01AM EST
The Rain1WorldwideNetflixFriday3:01AM EST

Source: The Futon Critic
So happy that Take My Wife found a home for its second season after Seeso went under. The Rain seems intriguing, but likely too dark for me.

Trailers

Crazy Rich Asians


This film has a lot of hype. Romantic comedy isn't my thing, but it looks good and fresh for the genre.

Venom


Cards on the table: I hate Venom. I've always hated Venom. He is a product of the worst of the 90's comics boom, and he's terrible. But I love Tom Hardy, and this trailer makes it seem like the film will actually focus more on Eddie Brock (and a not terrible version of Brock, to boot) than on the alien, which is a good call.

Woman Walks Ahead


Welp, it certainly seems historic and earnest. Though I question the wisdom of making a film about Sitting Bull that's really about a white woman.

Smallfoot


Well, this is just adorable.

Uncle Drew


I remain unconvinced about the wisdom of basing a film on a series of tv ads starring basketball players, but this does seem kinda fun.

Don't Worry, He Won't Get Far On Foot


The subject matter's interesting, and a good Gus Van Sant film sounds nice. But I don't think I can support a Juaquin Phoenix film at this time.

Kin

Sort:  

Looking forward to the new season of Dear White People :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56298.58
ETH 2463.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32