Film & TV Friday: Hello, Mr. Pool

in #news6 years ago

After clearing a wide path for Avengers: Infinity War to make all the money (1,686 million and counting), it's time for some competition. And right now, the only film that can unseat a Marvel movie is... well, it's another Marvel movie. It's Deadpool 2 week, and this is Film & TV Friday.

The News

Guillermo del Netflix

I have conflicted thoughts and feelings about Guillermo del Toro, mostly stemming from the fact that while he makes the kind of movies I like, he often puts bugs in them, so I can never watch them. I expect 10 After Midnight, his announced anthology horror series with Netflix, to be in the same vein, except just generally too scary for me. I am very much into the notion of del Toro selecting a young and up and coming creators to write and direct the episode, and hope and believe he'll have an eye to diversity in those departments.

Ms. Marvel is coming to the MCU

"Ms Marvel ... the Muslim hero who is inspired by Captain Marvel, is definitely sort of in the works." With that quote, MCU head Kevin Feige has launched a whole lotta hope. Count me among those who are feeling the hope. To my mind, Kamala Khan - who took the Ms. Marvel title and name after Carol Danvers became Captain Marvel - is the single most important new comics character since Stan Lee, Steve Ditko, and Jack Kirby created most of the core characters in the 1960s. She's relevant, she's relatable, she's engaging, and she brings in an entire huge audience who never got to see themselves positively represented in mainstream superhero comics. This, if and when it happens, is huge.

Peele's Nazi Hunt

It is hardly surprising that I consider a Jordan Peele produced series about Nazi hunters in the US to be incredibly timely. I'm a bit worried because series creator and head writer's David Weil's top "known for" on IMDB is a thing that is in pre-production. But with Peele giving a guiding hand, I believe The Hunt will be good.

Does Deadpool 2 have a post/mid credits scene?

Yes, yes it does.

Wide Release Films Opening This Weekend:

Film# of Theaters
Deadpool 24,349
Show Dogs3,145
Book Club2,781

Source: BoxOfficeMojo
So this is definitely Deadpool 2 week, with the other two films basically serving as counter programming ("DP2 is too violent, what will I take my kids to?" and "DP2 is too violent, what will I take my elderly family members to?"). I will say that Show Dogs being "Miss Congeniality, but with dogs instead of women," is a whole new way to dehumanize. So that's way more gross than any gross violence or humor likely to be found in DP2.

TV Show Premieres This Week

ShowSeasonCountryNetwork or ServiceDayTime
Fahrenheit 451TV FilmUSHBOSaturday8PM EST
Robot Chicken9bUSAdult SwimSunday11:30PM EST
The Toys That Made Us2WorldwideNetflixFriday3:01AM EST

Source: The Futon Critic
Another slow week of premiers. I mean, we've got a tv film (with an amazing cast), a documentary series, and the mid season premier of an animated comedy sketch show.

Trailers

Incredibles 2


It's billed as a teaser trailer, but kinda seems to lay out the entire plot. Still, you know. Incredibles!

BlacKkKlansman


I genuinely do not remember the last time I was excited about a Spike Lee joint. But this, produced by Jordan Peele and based on a true story looks like it may be pretty great.

Bohemian Rhapsody


Me: I don't care for biopics
Also me: HERE FOR THIS FREDDIE MERCURY BIOPIC

Mile 22


It's a Wahlberg/Berg film. It'll be competently made, and I won't watch it.

Mission: Impossible - Fallout


Welp, that sure is a Mission Impossible movie. It'll have problematic politics, a star that may be an actual human monster, and is responsible for Henry Cavill's messed up CGI in Justice League. I'll probably watch it on Netflix one night when I'm bored.

Destination Wedding


It's a romantic comedy, a genre I care neither for or about. But cast Keanu Reeves and Winona Ryder, and I'm intrigued!

A.X.L


It's... A Boy And His Dog meets ET meets those robot dogs from the second Kingsman movie. I think teen me would be super into this.

Sorry to Bother You


I remain super into this film.

Bleeding Steel


I'd be excited about this Jackie Chan fights evil robocop film if it wasn't released internationally last year, and hadn't already gotten a whole host of terrible reviews.

The Happytime Murders


A Muppet movie, from the Muppet movie people, including Brian Henson, that has a long jizz spraying scene. I mean... o...kay? This seems like it may be funny, actually.

Bonus: Black Panther Honest Trailer

Sort:  

Excellent news about Ms. Marvel. Super excited for Deadpool, Incredibles, and Freddie, and the Blackkklansman looks good too. Thanks for the lowdown. We really need to get up to the big city to see some things.

Hello @didic, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94