"Heart after surgery" toy - TUTORIAL

in #needleworkmonday6 years ago (edited)
It has been 4 days since my father had his heart surgery and I decided to make him a little get well gift. Here is a tutorial for a felt toy heart that looks like it has been through a lot but is still happy and smiling. It is a short and easy project that took me 2 hours to make. Here is how it turned up at the end:

List of materials used

  • black, red and white thread
  • sewing needle and scissors
  • black, white and red felt
  • paper and pencil
  • 2 black buttons
  • 1 bandage and cotton wool
  • thicker white thread for hair

Preparations

The first thing you will have to do is take your paper and pencil and draw your moulds which will help you when cutting felt into needed shapes. Draw one heart, one circle (for eyes), mouth shape, arms and one semi-large shape that will act like a patch you will sew on a heart. I usually write the numbers on my paper moulds so I know how many parts out of felt I need to cut out.

The next part is cutting felt. I use felt that is recycled out of plastic bottles and urge you to do the same. It is soft and easy to work with. I first thought that I would make those tiny black parts for eyes out of it too but then decided to go with the buttons instead, it looked cuter. After seeing the parts I was not happy with the mouth so I made a larger one and cut a small red piece of felt to be the tongue. I wanted the heart to look as happy as possible.

The sewing part

  • Take one piece of your heart and first sew on the red patch on it with red thread

  • sew the buttons to white circles with black thread and then use the white thread to stitch it to the heart. Now you have eyes

  • use your red and black thread to sew on the mouth

  • take two pieces of arms and sew them together leaving a small hole for your cotton stuffing, fill it and finish your sewing. Repeat that with the other arm.

Finishing

Cut about 20 pieces of thicker white thread and bind it together in the middle. You will have a little lump at one end and fuzzy hair at the top. That lump will be sewn to the top of the head but do not worry, you will not feel it because the stuffing will even it out and make it smooth and soft.


Now all you have to do is sew the two pieces of the heart together and attached the arms. I start at the bottom of the heart and go counterclockwise so when I am at the end I have a hole at the bottom that I use for stuffing the toy with cotton.



While you are sewing it together keep in mind that you have to put the arms between two hearts and sew them to the large heart pieces of felt for them to be properly attached. When you get to the top, do the same with the hair, put the lump between two pieces and just sew.

STICK A BANDAGE TO IT AND YOU ARE DONE!

Do you like my little cute felt heart that just got out of the surgery? Will my dad like it? I hope he will 😁. Feel free to leave me your opinions and reactions in the comments below.

KEEP YOUR SMILE ON!

thealliance_pagebreak (1).png

For my "Philosophy of happiness" posts, please follow these links:


made by @simgirl

Sort:  

That is so cute! I hope your dad has a full recovery. My dad had a couple of heart attacks years ago and he is fine now. I send you lots of good Karma! Give your dad a big hug from me when you can.

Thank you very much, you are so kind and sweet 💚

That is so cute and such a great idea! I love it. Thanks for sharing the tutorial as well for how you made it. I'm sure that your dad appreciated it. :)

He did 💚 Thank you for your kind words 💚

Hello @zen-art, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Thank you very much 💚💚💚

Awwww what a nice way to show your love and support to your dad after what he went through. This is such a cute and thoughtful gift. Thank you for sharing the instructions on how to make one of these :) I’m glad to hear he liked it and I hope his recovery is going well ~ 💜

He is doing fine and will probably be released from the hospital on Monday. Thank you for your kind words 💚

I’m so glad he is doing well :)

Soo sweet and thoughtful! The best wishes for your father's recovery!

Thank you honey 💚

Is he going to be okay? The DIY looks like I would see in a store but sewing and me... eh.. xD

He will in time, the recovery process is long but it is going ok 💚

Wishing for a speedy recovery, nice to see you around on various shows :)
b.a.

It is nice to see you around too 💚

It's great!!!I want one too.. <3

Thanks, try and make it, it is easy :)

I'm guessing your dad will keep that heart for the rest of his days. Those are the things of the fabric of life.

Thanks for a great post, Petra.

When I brought it to him to the hospital he had me hang it up over his bed so everyone could see it :D


Hi @zen-art, I just stopped back to let you know your post was one of my favourite reads and I included it in my Fiber Ramble. You can read what I wrote about your post here.

Join us on Mondays for Coffee Hour at 1pm EDT in the Steemit Fiberartists on Discord or view it live on the Steem Star Network.

Thank you 💚💚💚

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53807.82
ETH 2237.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30