Lucid dreaming - being aware that you are in a dream and the ability to control it

in #psychology6 years ago
Lucid dreams are those in which you are aware that you are dreaming and have some or total control of what is happening. You can control your surroundings in a dream and remember experiences that you had in your normal awaken state. When you do wake up your dream will be remembered as something between a memory and a dream. It will not fade away as fast as dreams do and your memories of it will resemble those of an actual event that happened in awaken state.

History and science behind it

Ever since Aristotle, Galen of Pergamon, Saint Augustine of Hippo as well as ancient Hindu and Buddism, people were aware that dreams can be controlled. In recent history, Sir Thomas Browne (1605–1682) published "Religio Medici" in which he describes his ability of lucid dreaming and Marquis d'Hervey de Saint Denys (1822-1892) published "Les Rêves et Les Moyens de Les Diriger; Observations Pratiques" (Dreams and the ways to direct them; practical observations), but it wasn't until the 20th century that things began to be taken seriously. Frederik (Willem) van Eeden (1860–1932) used the term lucid dreaming in an article entitled "A Study of Dreams" published in 1913.

Among many kinds of research, two stand out, the one from Celia Green in 1968. and that from Stephen LaBerge in 1980. Here is a list of their work:

  • "Lucid Dreams" by Celia Green (1968)
  • "Lucid Dreaming: The Paradox of Consciousness During Sleep"
    by Celia Green and C. McCreery (1994)
  • "Lucid Dreaming: The power of being aware and awake in your dreams"
    by S. LaBerge (1985)
  • "Exploring the World of Lucid Dreaming"
    by Stephen LaBerge (1990)
  • "Lucid Dreaming: A Concise Guide to Awakening in Your Dreams and in Your Life"
    by S. LaBerge (2004)
I do encourage you to read about it and check the research, as well as the history, since the continuation of this post will be based entirely on personal experience and with no reference to any published work. You can read more about the information, that I wrote in this part of the post, by following the link

Lucid dream

What is a lucid dream?

Since I did say that the continuation of the post will be from a personal experience, I will avoid giving any "official" definitions and try to explain lucid dreaming in simple terms from a personal standpoint. When we usually dream, we are not aware that we are dreaming. It is when we wake up that we realise that what we experienced was not real, but it doesn't have to be like that. You can learn how to become aware that you are dreaming while you are dreaming. In those kinds of dreams, that are referred to and called LUCID, you have the power to observe and/or control your dream surrounding as you would those in real life but with one major difference. Rules from real life do not apply here. Physics does not exist, and nor does time. You can manipulate surroundings by changing your appearance, other peoples appearance, material objects and the very fabric of reality. Fire can be cold, metal rods can be soft as pillows when you touch them and there are no limits to your flying, disappearing or transporting abilities. Anything is possible and anything is probable. Imagine a world with no boundaries and no social construct in which your actions have different or no consequences. That is the world of your lucid dream.

"All men whilst they are awake are in one common world: but each of them, when he is asleep, is in a world of his own."
Plutarch

Learn how to experience a lucid dream

When talking to other people, who have experienced them, I have found that there are those who did it by accident but they are a minority. Most of the people, including myself, have been practising for years and using different kinds of exercises to be able to achieve a state of lucid dreaming. The good thing is that as soon as you start, you will see progress. This does not take a lot of your time or your effort, only perseverance and a strong intention.

The first step is recognizing that you are in a dream, becoming aware of it. When I first started lucid dreaming I would wake up whenever I realised I was in a dream. Everything was going fine and normal and the second I had a realization that I was in a dream, I would wake up. My brain or my consciousness was not yet ready to deal with that. In time, I was able to stay longer and longer in a dream without waking up. I had to learn how to control my emotions because I realized that they were the trigger for waking up. I can feel anything now, except the shock. I can be happy or scared, sad or joyful but as soon as I experience a shock or a surprise, I wake up. The other thing I have to keep in mind is that a sudden loss of balance will also end the dream. This is experienced in normal dreams too. When you trip on something or fall, you will wake up. Do not think of this as a bad or negative thing. It has always been my way out. If I want to wake up, I just find a way to lose my balance in any way and I am back in the real world.

You can not recognize a dream just by seeing strange or weird things because they are not strange in dreams. They are observed as normal. You can dream about flying elephants or blue dogs and accept that as a normal reality. There are 3 exercises that I do, and that have become a habit of mine, that helped me recognize I was in a dream.

1. TIME CHANGES RANDOMLY

There is no time in dreams but there are clocks. When you look at a clock in awaken state and it shows a specific time it will be showing the same time if you look away and then look at it again. That is not the case in dreams. You can see a clock showing 11:15, look away and then return your eyes to that clock to find that it shows 15:48 or 02:00 or anything else. This is an excellent way to realize that you are dreaming. I have a habit of always looking at the time twice when I am awake and that habit transferred to my dreams. When I am asleep and see a clock in a dream I will always check the time twice and if it changes I will realize I am dreaming.

2. TRAIN YOUR ATTENTION TO DETAILS

As time on clocks changes so does everything else. A person could be wearing a blue shirt in one moment and the red one in another. A picture can be on the left wall and then on the right one. You can be in one place and in a completely different one the next moment. Those are your clues that you are dreaming but to be able to use them your perception has to be trained in awaken state. While you are awake practise your attention to details. Observe the world around you by testing your memory. When you look away, try to remember what you saw in the previous setting, describe it and then look back and check how good your attention to details was. This also transferred to my dreams so I often find myself looking around a room or a person's clothes checking for clues of change. It is like that game where you get two pictures and need to find 20 or so differences except in this case, the first picture is in your memory.

3. KEEP A DREAM JOURNAL

I am not sure how this helps and if it helps at all but I did use to have a dream journal beside my bed in which I wrote my dreams as soon as I woke up. Since I don't do that anymore, at least not that often as I used to, I can say that you can experience a lucid dream without it. This is more of a tool that helps you remember those dreams that were regular and not the lucid ones since the lucid dreams will stay in your memory much longer, even those that are "freaky" like changing your skin colour and gender or flying and levitating experiences.

OBSERVE and CREATE lucid dreams

I have experienced two types of lucid dreams, I call them observe and create. I am aware that I am dreaming in both of them but there is a slight difference between them. In the observing dream, I can not change anything, I can participate and observe everything that is going on but I can't influence it. My explanation for this is that it is an important message from my subconsciousness or external energy source that I need to hear or see. These dreams are usually the ones that need some decipherment and have things in them that the real world does not like smurfs, flying pigs or blue dogs. Symbolism and hidden meaning are often a part of it and it can take me up to a week to figure out what the message that I needed to receive was. The other type, create dreams, are those in which I have complete and total control of everything. Those dreams are more realistic since I do not have the need to see blue dogs and flying pigs. In these dreams, I travel to different countries, talk to people, fly, visit space or my spiritual guides, play with breaking the rules of physics or experience things that I usually do not in the real world. I can be big or small and see things from a different perspective and I can use my senses in a different way by amplifying them. The most fun part is playing with the reality and mixing different things in one, like fire and water, letters and sounds. Imagination is my only boundary.

I have been able to lucid dream for about ten years now. Sometimes I do it every day and sometimes only a couple of times a month. It all depends on my daily activities and distractions as well as my intention and the will to do it but there were times I experienced it without any expectation. Meditation helps and the more I meditate the greater are the chances I would have a lucid dream.

Have you experienced lucid dreams? Let me know in the comments, I am curious to learn about your experiences.


Unsourced images are under CC0 License and are free for personal and commercial use. You can find them on pixabay.com

In my post Happy π day - a 3.14 celebration with 3.14 SBD giveaway! I have asked you to count how many times has the symbol π appeared in the post. The answer is 28 (post includes title, text, pictures and a gif and π was everywhere ). Using random.org for users with correct answers, I found a lucky winner of 3.14 SBD!
Congratulations @svarozich, check your wallet :)

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

wow what a cool voice you have @zen-art 😆

🤣🤣
I thought tts was spam. people are listening to these?

I did a lot of study on dreamwork years ago. I still find that fascinating. I knew at the time I began reading about lucid dreams that there were dreams I'd had that were so startling, so real, that it was like I was there ... actually experiencing them with all the physical sensations we know in material reality.

The sensation of smell, in particular, seems to be uncommon in normal dreams, but in these "as real as real dreams" I could smell things (I hugged a friend of ours in one, and I could smell the tobacco on him. I said, "You've started smoking again," disappointed and worried. And several days later when talking to him on the phone I confirmed that this was true.)

I could feel the texture of things -- like the nubby yarn on a sweater my then-husband was wearing in another dream.

These dreams leave you with a totally different sensation when you wake than do normal dreams. Sometimes, their impact is stunning.

I had one a few weeks ago where one of my favorite dogs -- who died some 20 years ago -- came running past me while @catweasel and I were out for a walk on one of our favorite paths. And I called to him and he turned and came running back toward me ... jumping into my arms so overjoyed to see me -- and I could feel the heft and solidity of his body ... just as if this was real. And when I woke I was crying so uncontrollably that for a moment The Weasel was sincerely alarmed ... thinking I was in pain or something. And when I calmed down enough to tell him, "I got to hold Charlie again" ... he understood. He's had dreams like that, too.

I had another dream like that last night ... and more of my long-ago dogs were with me. Ones that I've loved and lost through the years. One from my childhood ... was with the others for a few minutes and then wandered off. I was looking for her ... calling her name, but certain she would be ok, and find her way back. (But still, I wanted to lay eyes on her and know for sure where she was.)

It wasn't nearly as dramatic as my "I got to hold Charlie again" dream ... but close. And it all seems to confirm my conviction that there are other realities ... and life never ends ... and what we call conscious reality is just the tip of a gigantic iceberg. Because not long ago, in my dreams, I got to hold Charlie again. And there's no convincing me that I didn't. None at all.

The-STEEM-Engine

Thank you for sharing your experience, I am happy for you and your chance to hold your dog again. Our pets are the best example of how we should live our lives. They serve as a reminder how to act. If you like something wiggle your tale and either lick it or eat it. If you do not like something, piss on it and walk away. Take little naps whenever you can and play with everything. :)

wow what a cool post! I have been practicing lucid dreaming but was not having much success until I started working on these remote viewing exercises and then I started waking up inside my dreams and realizing I was lucid.. it's spotty and comes and goes but it's progress!
Kudos to you for the detail that went into this post, there is a lot of great info in here! You've got yourself a new follower :)

Thank you, I am glad you liked this post and I am so happy for your experience in remote viewing 💚

Very common phenomenon for me that's why I find this post SO interesting!
And for sure I'm going to check the works you mention !!! :D Thanks girl!

I am happy you find this interesting and that it is a common phenomenon for you! 💚

What a nice post about dreaming.

Thanks @zen-art for this read!

Wow, you are here instead of drinking beer somewhere and celebrating the green beer day?
I don't know if I should feel honoured or shocked :D
Thanks for stopping by... 💚

The time for the green beer day starts later on today.

Now some weekend family time

Have a great weekend yourself!

Thx for the award :) About the lucid dreams - I haven't been practising, but they happen to me from time to time. Tthey usually stop at the moment when I realize glitch in matrix.

Hihhi, yeah does "glitches" used to wake me up too.

So interesting to hear your lucid dream experience. I found it different than those I’ve heard before on that the change of who you are, where you go, using a clock. Personally, I travel and Dreamwalk so it’s quite different than lucid dreaming. I will most likely write something about that, it’s not controlled like this, but more like an appointment or someone pulls me into another realm. I saw someone posting on their lucid dream journal on here too. Thank you for sharing your experience. It’s always nice to hear about others experiencing similar things. Blessings

I am looking forward to reading your experience. Someone pulling you into another realm is similar to mine "observe" dreaming. Yes, I can change everything even the way I look because physical me is physical in that shape only in this realm, we are not our bodies. Thank you for your lovely words and a great comment. 💚

Great! I'm not sure it is similar with the "pulling" it may be hard to explain but I will try when I write a post about it. Someone literally calls me in and something my Soul just does. There have been moments of pure safety and my soul just pops out and it goes like an NDE, outer body experience but deeper. There are many levels to it and not many people can do it.
Thank you again for sharing and I love that we can talk about this. I do not have much belief in many people, but I do believe you. :)

I had a lucid dream once but only for a short time, I just "hovered" in the air and saw myself sleeping, but I didn't know about lucid dreams then, or how to control or move in there. When I started researching I realized you could actually die in a lucid dream and with that die in real life as well. That was a big no for me and I never tried to research it more or practice it. Although now when you delivered your personal experience I must say I am intrigued and I might even try doing it one day, but for now, I'm fine in the real world. :D Thank you for sharing!

Where did you hear that BS? No, you cannot die, do not worry :D
Every shock or sudden loss of balance will wake you up.

Awesome :D Well, I couldn't have known is the information true because I didn't want to see for myself haha. Thank you for the information I will let you know if I try it sometime soon.

@zen-art amazing article once again 😉 you always do one heck of a job on all things you write.

Let me just give you some insight on some things from this article, and this can go well with your mindset or not, it just depends on your belief system.

OBSERVE dreams are ASTRAL dreams, this is a 4'th dimension universe which co-exists with the 3'rd dimensional material plane. And you cannot change everything because it is the MACROCOSMOS we are all there just as we are here and the power to bend the time and space is just called "magic" there as it is here, and the CREATE dreams are SUBCONSCIOUS (which is not just brain but a whole real universe) dreams where you have no limit because it is your own MICROCOSMOS this is where your foundation to create your own universe in a zillion years lies 😉 haha

The symbolism in the OBSERVE(Astral) dreams are there because even when you are completely "lucid" if your mind is not trained enough to resist the 3'rd dimensional mindset you will start to hallucinate in the astral plane by giving many things references from the 3'rd dimension, and yes this hallucinations in the OBSERVE(Astral) can give you the answers to a lot of things about you, just as hallucinations in the 3'rd dimension (that we call reality) can give you a lot of answers.

I hope to talk some more about your dreams in the future @zen-art I am really interested 😉

Thank you for making a spoiler alert for my future posts about lucid dreaming :P

I wanted to go into the whole astral explanation here but thought that it would be too much for people to handle so I a made a "light" post about it by just giving people the general idea behind all this and some personal experience. And then you came... Thanks a lot 😆 But I will not let you open the can of worms here and will take you up on that offer to talk about it in the future, in private. Not all things are meant to be in posts.

Joking aside, thank you for your comment, I know people will benefit from it and receive a valuable piece of information on this subject. 💚

Your words land like soft summer rain drops @zen-art 💚
I'm glad you appreciated my insights 😉
Yes we have tons of subjects to talk about, looking forward to both that and your next posts

I had a lucid dream only once or maybe twice in my life I'm not sure. That is the coolest freaking experience in the world but sleep paralysis which happened next somehow balanced that experience haha.
I've been reading about training that and now I have that here.
I may try that once but not quite sure.

Good luck with your trying, it is not that hard actually. 💚

It's not that I think it's hard, I'm kind of scared of paralysis..

Why do people think that lucid dreaming has anything to do with sleep paralysis? :D

Because in my experience sleep paralysis was right after the lucid dream, and as I was reading sometimes lucid dreams can lead to sleep paralysis.

Sometimes after sex, people eat ice cream. That does not mean that every person you see eating an ice cream just had sex :)

Your experience is important and maybe we can look at it as traumatic even but it is your choice whether you will be in your comfort zone or take a risk and step out. I know a lot of people who have experienced lucid dreaming and/or paralyses but those two are definitely not connected in any way. Whatever you do is the best thing for you, just follow your intuition and everything will be fine. Those books you read and me here writing are not you and never will be. You are you honey, and you are the only one that has the power of control. 💚 I am not important and those books are not important, you are and I wish you all the luck and smiles in the world.

Hahahah well I'm gonna believe you then. I wish you very best too because you deserve everything you want 💚

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61577.64
ETH 3448.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53