What is the philosophy of HAPPINESS? - everything, it's everything 😎

in #psychology6 years ago

We all know the difference between being sad and being happy, but can we control it? Are we in control of our emotions or are we being controlled by them? I know what you're thinking, you can't control your surroundings and there for you can't control your emotions which are a direct result of what is happening around you. What if you're wrong?

20150803182047-cute-breakfast-smile-happiness.jpg
image source

NOTHING IS OUTSIDE OF YOU

You are living in this world and you are surrounded by it but there is actually nothing outside of you that controls your life, everything is inside. Have you ever heard of a saying:

"The problem is not the problem itself but your thoughts about it."

Our emotions are a direct product of our thoughts, you can not control your emotions but you can learn how to control your thoughts. It is ok not to feel ok but it is not ok to stay in that state. The goal is to feel better and be better just a little with each moment. Politicians, world hunger, wars, injustice... I am not saying we should ignore all that, I am saying we should take a different approach and concentrate on the positive instead of the negative and bring more control to our lives. Do you know what anger is?

"Anger is when you let someone live rent-free in your mind"

People are not mind-readers and the fact is; when you are obsessing about someone and are angry with him or her, you are damaging you, not them.

for-or-against.jpg
image source

AGAINST SOMETHING AND FOR SOMETHING

Have you ever protested against something? Have you noticed the vibe that was going on?

You should be aware that your mind and the Universe itself don't know and don't use negation. If you are a parent you already know that because whenever you say "Don't do that." to your child, he does just that. Adults are the same. Where attention goes, energy flows.

By saying you are against something, you are actually empowering it. "But how do we fight injustice?" you ask, be FOR justice. Instead of being against war, be FOR peace and change the way your attention is going.

"You don't know what you're saying Petra, people are negative and there is no changing them."

"BE THE CHANGE YOU WISH TO SEE IN THE WORLD", Mahatma Gandhi

The only person you can change is yourself, start with that.

Happiness-is-a.jpg
image source

THERE IS NO PATH TO HAPPINESS, HAPPINESS IS THE PATH

I often see people in search of their happiness, struggling to find the things that will make their lives better and put a smile on their face. Why not decide to be happy right now instead? "How can I be happy when this or that is going on?" By choosing so. You have the power to choose. You CAN be in control of your life, you just have to make a decision and stick to it.

If you are struggling with depression, you can't be joyous in the next moment. That is too big of an emotional jump, but you can say to yourself that you will be better and better with each passing second, just a little better. You will see in no time that you are smiling again.

Choose to be happy right now. Look at your life and find at least 5 things you are grateful for. It can be your house, friends, lover, kids, the weather outside, your new clothes, a pet, that cute neighbor that winked at you this morning, anything. Concentrate on that for a moment, and repeat this exercise two times a day or more.

The other great way of practicing happiness is trying to find something positive in everything. For example, if you are stuck in traffic say something like "Look at how all of these people can afford cars, they must be doing great" or "I am so comfortable right now and so happy for not having to take the bus, I am warm and can listen to my favorite music."

Happiness-image.jpg
image source

HAPPINESS CONTEST IS ABOUT TO START SOON!

My life's mission is to bring happiness to people and/or to spread happiness around so I have decided that along with my motivational and psychology posts (which I hope are benefiting my readers), I will create the HAPPINESS CONTEST which will start this Sunday and last for a week. Winners will receive a big rewarded in SBD and SP and all of the participants will get to share their happiness as well as enjoy others. So stay tuned happy people :)

Sort:  

@zen-art, I embrace and live by these truths you have shared!

Indeed, "The problem is not the problem itself but your thoughts about it." The realization that we are not our thoughts and feelings, rather the "creator" of our thoughts and feelings is powerful and freeing! Like Anais Nin said, "We don’t see things as they are, we see them as we are." Observations of self and life confirms "where attention goes energy flows."!

Continue to share these "Happiness Truths"! The world is in desperate need! I look forward to your upcoming Happiness Contest! Cheers!

I 💚 Anais Nin
Thank you for your lovely comment and your words of encouragement. Stay tuned for the happy contest that will soon begin and benefit us all.

I cant wait either. Create happiness wherever you are

Your comment is appreciated, thank you, stay happy and make others happy too 💚

Well said @zen-art. 👍😄
-@lil-mich

Thank you so much 💚

Thank you 💚

Divnoo, slazem se u potpunosti sa tim da sreca dolazi iznutra :)

Baš mi je drago to čuti! Veseli me jako kad vidim sreću u ljudima, hvala ti 💚

This was a really good thought provoking post @zen-art! I totally agree that though sometimes we can’t change the circumstances around us we can definitely control our thought process. I find myself sometimes constantly trying to fight bad thoughts and stay on the positive side.

I like the phrase from above about anger is when we let someone live rent free in our minds. Wow that’s one of my struggles. It’s crazy because while we allow people and their actions to keep us bonded with anger, they probably have moved on and aren’t even thinking about us. I have come along way from letting my anger control me because I now think positive thoughts quite often :)

I find myself sometimes constantly trying to fight bad thoughts and stay on the positive side.

The fight will never stop, it is an ongoing process and you are doing really well darling.

I now think positive thoughts quite often :)

Kudos! Keep up the good job! It is so nice to hear that people are embracing positivity.
Thank you for your lovely comment 💚💚💚

Thank you so much for the encouragement! It truly is an ongoing fight and process. I hope more and more start to embrace it :)

I am staying tuned

I am putting my money where my mouth is on this one :)
Thank you for staying tuned 💚

Just like I said we wrote almost exactly the same thing but in our little way. And, you are absolutely right about every single thing you wrote in here.

Happiness is a choice, and it starts for being thankful you got another day to live it. Life is a gift. So be thankful for each day you wake up and go to sleep. Being thankful is one of the best kept "secrets" to be happy. :)

And, yes we can't control what other people are doing, or what will happen in our life sometimes, but we can control how to react to the situations and people around us.

I leave you with my original quote:

"It is never about the situation around you, but rather it is about the situation INSIDE YOU."

And, to tell how we wrote the same thing in our own words here is the link to my post about it. I know you will enjoy reading it. :)

https://steemit.com/blog/@awakentolife/my-life-s-journey-found-a-message-i-left-myself-on-facebook-part-1-happiness

Hihihi, I had that song "Always look on the bright side of life" as ringtone on my phone :)
I am not surprised you wrote about this too, I checked it out and of course, it is wonderful 💚

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Petra (zen-art) from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Courtesy of @aschatria this post received 100% FREE UPVOTE for quality post submitted to Die Hard Steemit Discord group. Thank you for being our valuable member and active content creator on Steemit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61577.64
ETH 3448.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53