Felt butterfly keychain - TUTORIAL

in #needleworkmonday6 years ago (edited)

Let's make cute butterflies!

When I woke up this morning, I knew this day was going to be special. We brought my father home from the hospital, the Sun was shining, it was warm and I saw a lovely little butterfly, first one this year. It inspired me to write a tutorial so all of us can carry these little guys around with us where ever we go.


List of materials used

  • black, pink and purple thread
  • sewing needle and scissors
  • purple felt
  • paper and pencil
  • buttons
  • cotton wool
  • metal keychain
For the purposes of this tutorial, I made a purple butterfly. You can make them in any colour you wish, I already have seven different ones. You can even make them multicoloured.

If you do not like buttons, your butterflies could be decorated with any small things that you like, just glue the decorations at the end.


Step by step instructions

1. The first thing you need to do is draw a butterfly shape on your paper and cut it out. This will be your mould that will help you cut the same shape out of felt. Use a normal paper of average thickness, it can be white or in any other colour.

2. Using your paper mould, draw the shape in felt two times. You will need to use a darker pencil on this colour, but if you are making a white butterfly, any pen will do. You need two pieces because you will sew them together later.

3. Carefully cut your two butterfly shapes out of felt. When you have the two pieces, put them one under the other and fix them a little with your scissors if needed because they have to be the exact same size.

4. Arrange the buttons on one piece of your felt. Use the black ones for body and the others as you wish. Using your black thread, sew the black buttons and using your pink thread sew the pink ones on to the felt butterfly shape. Now you are ready for the final part of this project.


The sewing part

The first thing you need to do is sew the metal keychain part to one piece of felt. Sew it to the piece that has no buttons, it will be easier for you.

When you have one piece with the buttons on it, and another with the metal keychain, put them one atop the other so the small piece of metal thing is between two felt pieces and the buttons are facing you.

Using you purple thread, sew two pieces of felt together leaving a small hole at the end. Fill the butterfly with cotton and then finish off the sewing.


Congrats! You made a butterfly keychain!


Do you like my little cute felt butterflies? I hope you do 😁. Feel free to leave me your opinions and reactions in the comments below.

KEEP YOUR SMILE ON!

thealliance_pagebreak (1).png

For my "Philosophy of happiness" posts, please follow these links:


made by @simgirl

Sort:  

very nice work and easy to do! upvoted and follow you!
#thealliance

Thank you, I am glad you enjoyed it 💚

Zanimljivo ... lijepo .... korisno ....
Samo malo fancy.

Fancy :D Hahaha, možda, ali može biti i manje fancy ako se umjesto filca koristi pamučni materijal, odlična je stara odjeća

What a wonderful thing to make an every day item into a reminder of something much more.

Thanks Petra.

Thank you, it is always good to have reminders of happy things 💚

This is a nice idea to rip some old clothes and make more mess in my place, kid will love it. I am not showing her this, those rocks from yesterday got me into enough trouble already. LOL

Hahaha, yes, whenever you have old clothes, they are perfect for this. Show her, be brave 💚 :D

They are so lovely the butterfly key chains, the purple colour is my favourite😍. I like your very easy to understand and follow steps. It makes me feel like it could be cool to make a key chain. Today really is a good day.

It is cool and nice, thank you for your kind words 💚

These are the cutest little keychains! I’m so glad to hear your dad is back home :) Thank you for sharing these colorful little cuties with us and providing the instructions on how to make our own! 😊

You are welcome honey, I hope you all try and make them, they are a lot of fun 💚

Oh wow! That's so cute and such a great idea! I may have to get my kids to do some crafting this afternoon and make a few of these. Or at least start them. Thanks for sharing the tutorial!!

You are welcome, have fun with your kids! 💚

I heard you on the fibre ramble and directly searched this beautiful project. I will tell a good friend who wanted to crochet some butterflies, but cannot crochet :-D I think this will be the perfect tutorial for her (and she does not need to learn to crochet)

Yeah, this is simple sewing, the hardest part is getting the thread to go in the needle :D The rest of it is easy

Wowo..so nicely made @zen-art. For sure my drawing queen love it...she always make herself busy with all the crafts works....drawing is one of them....i will make sure to show this ...and she will definatelly prepare one...steem on !

Let me know if she does, I am interested in seeing it 💚

Cool Idea and they are so cute may be a good project to try with the grand daughter I feel she would love these

Try it out, help her with the needle 💚

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66258.39
ETH 3170.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.07