Needlework Monday: Organic Underwear!

in #needleworkmonday6 years ago (edited)

Hey all ♡ I hope everyone had a beautiful weekend! First of all I would like to give a big thanks to @lil-mich for pointing me in the direction of #needleworkmonday, which was created by @CroSheille ♡ Since joining Steemit, I have had the opportunity to converse with so many amazing humans! I had no idea to begin with that this community contained such incredible artists, @Fiberartists I'm looking at you! I'm honored to be here with you all.

On this fine Needlework Monday, I am glad to share with you the very first pair of organic women's underwear that I have ever made. They are crafted from a stretchy blend of organic hemp and cotton. Although I haven't had a chance to sew today, this will be the next thing under my needle. I spent a few hours today cleaning someone's house that they've just moved into ~ it took a while to get supplies gathered, and to get over there, so I haven't touched my machine at all yet. It was the first time I've ever earned $20 an hour - just a few days shy of my birthday :-) Anyways, here they are:

GOPR1382.JPG

Clearly my cuts still aren't perfect, and I hope to fix my mistakes by making a few more minor snips. Keeping my fingers crossed that these will turn out! Even if I have to add fabric though, I still think I could make it work. It brings me great joy to finally be working with this divine textile...

16711879_821603304644734_7658826861964164606_n.jpg

58e6d40fc96351e5e58d2e2913f3b5df-d5rcl6n.gif58e6d40fc96351e5e58d2e2913f3b5df-d5rcl6n.gif


photo source

58e6d40fc96351e5e58d2e2913f3b5df-d5rcl6n.gif58e6d40fc96351e5e58d2e2913f3b5df-d5rcl6n.gif

~ See my recent posts here, if you haven't already: ~

|| MY INTRODUCE YOURSELF POST || Brand New Serger || Spiritual Significance of Growing Our Hair || Latest Work In Progress || An Uphill Journey || Unboxing Organic Fabric || Upcycling a Blouse into Something New || Meet Crypto || My Latest Organic Scrap Creations || Yummy Veggie Stir Fry ||

♡ Wishing you well ~ many thanks to you for joining me on my journey ♡

Thankful for each of your comments, re-steems, follows and up-votes, and for everyone who has inspired, encouraged, or given me tips along the way ~ I cannot thank you enough

with love and gratitude ~ @hempress

HEMPRESS.gif

Sort:  

Hello @hempress and Welcome to #NeedleWorkMonday! It’s so good to have you join us! I’m so glad @lil-mich pointed you in the right direction to meet other crafters. We meet here every week on Monday’s to share our creations, patterns, tips, ideas and to inspire each other. You don’t have to wait until a project is complete to post about it, we love seeing work in progress. I’m so glad you shared what you are working on with us this week.

I enjoyed reading your post about Hemp! I am all about Natural health and remedies and I actually have used hair products with hemp oil in them. I think it’s really neat that you can make your own underwear especially out of breathable and safer fabrics. With all the chemicals and toxic materials our clothing is made out of this is really a great idea. Hopefully you can get around to checking out some of the other needlework posts and meeting some awesome people!! Thank you for sharing with us this week. I’m looking forward to seeing more of your projects :)

This looks really interesting @hempress. Just one question : What sort of elastic do you use ?
I also like how you list your past posts on different topics. Thank you 🌺

I have considered using elastic, but have not found any that aren't made with synthetic materials. I want to keep it all natural. Due to the stretch of the fabric I'm working with though, as long as I make the garments to be form-fitting enough, then I don't think I'll have to use elastic.
Thanks so much for stopping by, and for your feedback on the display of my past posts. That was nice to hear, as I had been wondering. I appreciate you greatly ♡ Many blessings! @cryptocariad

No worries @hempress very glad to see you here :) I totally agree with @crosheille - we need more chemical free clothing, both for consumers and for the people making them. For me, Steemit has been a true eyeopener when it comes to alternative lifestyles and choices. I love your hemp underwear. :)

hey @hempress ... really neat project you have done here. Did you know that @fiberartists aka @artemisnorth does a creatives chat on mondays at 1pm EDT? These undies would have been a great project to share at it.

I am curious how these will turn out. I have never thought of sewing my own underwear, but it is very tempting idea, because you can decide on the fit (and the material)
Thank you for sharing this project.

Neither did I but now I think about making my own as it's not easy for me to find one I like especially in a new country. Rather than to hop around shops to find an ideal one I'm happy to have my favorite pattern and make by myself :D

I appreciate your kind words so much! Will take a peek at your page now.
Sorry for my late reply!

Keep creating hemp clothing! Love it sharing!

Thank you dear for your encouraging words...was a pleasure to see you again last night and it was lovely to meet your lady friend too ♡ have a beautiful day!

Thanks and funny bumping into you in to woods! Keep it awesome!

An undie and its organic, I have never thought of that before, this should be good, and you use hemp, all words I know in passing. I'm happy for the cash you made and I hope you get more deals and more pay. I'm curious to see how this organic wear will turn out. Thanks for showing us this piece on needleworkmonday hope to see more of you☺

Thank you dear @wondermaey for your thoughtful comment. I believe wearing organic fabric, especially as undergarments, is crucial to the health of our skin and overall body.
Hope you've had a nice week!

It's an inspiring post :) I must try to make mine by myself in the future.

Oh, I'm so glad you found it to be inspiring ♡ I'd love to see what you come up with if you do decide to try.
Apologies for my late reply. Wishing you well @akipponn

Good for a first go! As long as they do the job, whats it matter hey?

Once you get it down to a tee you'll have to start selling on Steemit. Plus your other pieces 💯🐒

@vibeof100monkeys Thank you for your continued support. I will always love reading your words. ♡
Down the road I will post a piece for sale here and see how that goes. :-)

Your welcome keep the content coming! I am looking forward to the sale ummm might not work for me though 💯🐒

Do you like the sound of organic men's boxers or briefs, though?

Haha I like the sound of them but don't really ware any if i'm honest. But for those that do. Big promotor of all things organic! 💯🐒

Are you starting your own chain? Lol

Working on it, yes ♡
Thanks for your comment @mattzoidhead and sorry for my delayed response!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.17
JST 0.032
BTC 63686.15
ETH 2727.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59