♡ Brand New Serger! The Happiest of Accidents ♡

in #sewing6 years ago (edited)

Around the middle of last month I came across a post that another seamstress had made - somehow Amazon ended up sending her two sergers. For those who don't know, a serger is a sort of specialty sewing machine that is much quicker and creates seams that stretch. She was offering the second machine for a slightly discounted price than what it is currently listed for online, the price she paid. I jumped on the opportunity and was thankful she offered it to the community before just sending it back to the company. Happy accidents!

This was actually my second purchase from this lovely lady. She makes some amazing clothing and is a big supporter of up-cycling and organic textiles. The dress I am wearing in my profile photo here on Steemit was created by her! ♡ She is currently collaborating with another artist to create the magic that is Fusion Threads~

Needless to say I was ecstatic upon opening this. The brand- Juki -was recommended to me by several people and I'm happy I went this route instead of picking up an older model from someone advertising on Craigslist. I wasn't in love with any of them I saw on there, but I am fond of this one even before testing it out.

GOPR1321.JPG

GOPR1333.JPG

This packaging was no joke! I used a pair of pliers to get the staples out

GOPR1336.JPG

There she is! Tucked away underneath the top layer

GOPR1339.JPG

GOPR1341.JPG

58e6d40fc96351e5e58d2e2913f3b5df-d5rcl6n.gif58e6d40fc96351e5e58d2e2913f3b5df-d5rcl6n.gif

GOPR1344.JPG

It came like this, with an example underneath the foot.

GOPR1347.JPG

The back of the machine...the part that holds the 4 spools of thread...

GOPR1350.JPG

My sewing machine just wasn't cutting it anymore, so this little Juki is exactly what I need to really do what I'm dreaming of. I've never used one of these machines before, but once I master getting it threaded, it should be smooth sailing. The threading system is color coded which I think will help me tremendously. It also comes pre-threaded with just a short amount, so you can get an idea of how it's supposed to be ♡

~ See my recent posts here, if you haven't already: ~

|| MY INTRODUCE YOURSELF POST || Latest Work In Progress || An Uphill Journey || Unboxing Organic Fabric || Upcycling a Blouse into Something New || Meet Crypto || My Latest Organic Scrap Creations || Yummy Veggie Stir Fry || Good Eats in Acapulco ||

♡ Wishing you well ~ many thanks to you for joining me on my journey ♡

Thankful for each of your comments, re-steems, follows and up-votes, and for everyone who has inspired, encouraged, or given me tips along the way ~ I cannot thank you enough

~ @hempress

HEMPRESS.gif

Sort:  

Congratulations @hempress! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97