Work In Progress: May the 4th (be with you)

in #sewing6 years ago (edited)

A few weeks ago, a buddy brought by a big bag of garments for me to pick through, so that I could re-use the fabric before he took the rest to be donated. It was kind of him to think of me, and although I didn't take much, I did grab a couple vests to work with. I just could not resist the stretchy material! Originally I was thinking that the fabric would make a nice pair of shorts, but was feeling inspired to make a top when I started cutting. One of the vests was embroidered with bead embellishments, and I used part of it to create what will be the back portion of my top.

Below is the back piece before being sewn

GOPR1299.png

The front of the top pinned and ready to be sewn

GOPR1302.JPG

The back portion after being sewn. I still need to make some minor cuts and go back through with a seam ripper to fix a mistake.

GOPR1306.JPG

My machine likes to eat my fabric quite often, and that was the case when I started in on sewing the front. So before continuing, I need to somewhat take apart my machine to get to the fabric and thread that is caught inside. I will try taking the foot off first to get to it, but I have a sneaking suspicion that just won't do the trick. I've had some snags in the past, but never anything this bad- until now. It is all apart of my learning experience though, so I do my best to be patient as I proceed. This craft can be a hassle and a half at times but it is always well worth the trouble in the end.

GOPR1309.JPG

Time to break out the screwdriver and take off that top plate. I have never actually done it before, but it seems pretty straightforward, and necessary if I want to continue (which I do)

I am looking forward to finishing this top after moving past this hiccup. I probably even have enough fabric leftover to make the shorts that I had intended on creating to begin with :-)

~ You can find my recent posts here if you haven't already seen them: ~

MY INTRODUCE YOURSELF POST || An Uphill Journey || Unboxing Organic Fabric || Upcycling a Blouse into Something New || Meet Crypto || My Latest Organic Scrap Creations || Yummy Veggie Stir Fry || Good Eats in Acapulco ||

♡ Wishing you well ~ many thanks to you for joining me on my journey ♡

Thankful for each of your comments, re-steems, follows and up-votes, and for everyone who has inspired, encouraged, or given me tips along the way ~ I cannot thank you enough

~ @hempress

HEMPRESS.gif

Sort:  

So cute - I get so impatient when I sew. Which is probably why I should give it a go!!! My sewing machine, a gift from my late Nana, is merely gathering dust!

Upvoted and Followed

What a good friend, to let you pick through garments and fabric pieces before taking them to the thrift store. I like to upcycle fabrics too, though don't get around to sewing all the ideas I have for them, so I end up with piles of "potential." :-D

This is looking good! I can't wait to see your finished product. My sewing machine gets temperamental when she needs to be cleaned and oiled. She lets me know in no uncertain terms. LOL!! Good luck.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 60973.26
ETH 2366.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58