Making a difference, no matter how small it may be, can light up the darkest day! You have the power inside! ๐Ÿ’™๐Ÿ’š๐Ÿ’œ

in #nature โ€ข 7 years ago

love your mother.jpg

Steemians, good morning! Let me take you on a journey...a walk through my thoughts, into my heart.

Every morning, when the sun shines into my window and wakes me up with its announcement of the new day, I stretch my arms, gather my pups and get excited to take on the opportunity presented by life itself.


view from room.jpg


I open my bedroom door and suddenly my day gets shrouded in darkness as a black cloud meets me on the other side of the door and has it's way with my face, swimming into my pores and hijacking my lungs. My dogs cough as they try to run and I feel their pain as my own chest constricts, trying to fight the invader.


smog.jpg

(The view from my bedroom window, overlooking the toxic smoke coming from burning of trash.)


Why is this happening?

I am to the point now where I am getting smogged out every single day by the burning of garbage on the sides of the roads. I live out of town, in the localized area of Bali, Indonesia, away from the tourist central that would never allow this without screaming angry Westerners, threatening never to return... and yet here, every day when I wake up and open my bedroom door, that big black cloud of smoke enters my lungs. After a couple of hours, it dies down only to start back up again near dinner, causing me to have to lock myself up in the kitchen, retreating to the only closed in common area, in attempts to save my poor lungs that I work so hard to keep clean.

This magical, enchanting, picture-perfect destination is being radically abused by pollution but if you think it's only here that's the problem, have I got another story for you! Our beautiful planet is under attack, and we're the ones fighting against her!

Where do you live? Do you have a trash collection service that comes to your drive and picks up your bagged rubbish/trash/garbage/waste (whatever you want to call it!)


recycling.jpg


Do you have a coloured bin system, maybe a green one for compost, a blue one for recyclables and a black one for everything else? Maybe your colours are the same as this picture? If you do have these bins, you're fortunate to live somewhere that garbage is being managed.

  • Do you use it?
  • Do you know how it works/understand what goes in what bin?

It can be confusing, I certainly understand that and with no strict universal system, it varies by area.

I've lived in many countries over the last 5 years of my life and during that time I have seen it all. Dumping in the water, burying, burning... you name it.

Coming from Canada, I grew up separating my waste products from compostable food products from plastics, aluminum and cardboard. I would put the item in question in one of those three bins (actually my town had a separate collection for paper/cardboard vs plastic/aluminum) so I was always very conscious about where I put what.

Whenever I moved to California, I noticed there were no bins at my house! I searched online and found out I would need to purchase them and then put in my request for collection by city council.

Slightly inconvenient to get those bins to my house having no car, but I rented a truck and pushed through, dedicated as I was.

OK city, that's fine, I did it. Now what?

Sharing the knowledge

Living with 2 other males who were born in America and had vastly different education concerning environmental precautions than I had, I found myself in a constant war with the garbage can screaming bloody murder at the guys for throwing out what could be recycled.

I have always been a bit of an environmental advocate... a peace keeper for our beautiful mother Earth, a spokesperson of my heart... but I am especially intense when it comes to RECKLESS ABANDON FOR WASTE. We can do better than that, I know it! We just have to remember to think about it!

Have you ever seen Captain Planet? That's the kind of stuff we need getting us thinking about the world we are all so privileged to be a part of! A couple episodes of this cartoon and you'll be thinking about saving the Earth yourself! ;)


love earth.jpg


If you've been following me, you will be familiar with my smile, my heart and my overall ambition to spread love and inspiration around however DO NOT CROSS ME WHEN IT COMES TO MY MOTHER (Earth!)

I am writing this from my heart (as is always the case, I let my heart determine what I write so it's always a mystery for me what will come when I sit down at my computer) but this time, I want you to know that my heart HURTS from the pain of the destruction, writing this to you, tears are welling up behind my eyes as I think about the pain my mother is going through.

I don't get angry all that often anymore, I used to writhe in frustration over what we were doing/not doing. I wanted to fight, scream and kick until something changed but I realized that those efforts often get tagged as "crazy" or "extreme" while harvesting those negative emotions do no one any good and now I want to use my love to help make a difference.

Kill' em with kindness:

It didn't take long for the guys to learn that plastic can be recycled and therefore shouldn't go in the same bin as what's going to the landfill, IN FACT, most of everything we purchased and consumed was recyclable or compostable, leaving only a small mini grocery bag between the 3 of us at most every 2 weeks.

What happened was we all became so proud of our efforts that we constantly strove to do better. I might open the trash can to throw something in it and would be stopped with an alarming "why did you buy that if it needs to be thrown away after?"

My plan had worked and the students had become the masters. Whenever we had another girl move in with us to help us cope with the insane price of rent in San Fransisco, I walked in one day to my roommate schooling her by the garbage bin, scolding her for throwing away plastic and marching her out to our blue bin ;)

If you live somewhere in North America where you don't have recycling, you should check with your local council as you might simply have to request it. Other places have drop off spots.

When I was living in Texas, I collected all of my recycling in the garage and brought it to the local grocery store's recycling bins and sorted it there.

Where there is a will there is a way!


will theres a way.jpg


Okay, this stroll down memory lane served as an example of what is possible with some education and thought about what we are using.

Now, New Zealand was really good about recycling, they had their bins the same way and at least in the circles I was part of, composting was popular as well! Way to go NZ! Maybe that's why so much of it is unpolluted!

I am going to tread lightly, I mean no offense but based off my observations across the globe, this is what I have come to see. First world countries are more likely to be educated about environmental issues. Formal education institutions are at least in part raising awareness of our waste/pollution crises and strategies are being put into place to correct some of these serious issues however, we're all still polluting and wasting in our own ways.

When I moved to Bali and was going over my lease agreement with my landlord, I asked her what to do with our recyclables.
She has been in a relationship with a European for over 15 years and so she looked at me with sympathetic eyes and said "I am sorry, we don't really do that here. The people burn their trash. There is no education for that like in your countries."

I have seen this phenomena all over the world. It started in Belize, Central America for me. Moving there from my impressive low-trash contribution that I told you about to trash littering all of the ditches, rivers and sides of the street. My heart broke when I first saw the intensity of it all.


waste.jpg
This is not a picture of Bali, it's a photo I found online showcasing some of what I saw in Central America.


I remember being completely irate when I first saw the dump site on the side of the road, up in flames... Cars, tires, glass, water bottles by the hundreds, packaging, wrappers, strollers, toys, old fruit, you name it, all piled high being set alight with some gasoline.

Horrified I began ranting and rambling about how we needed to stop it and do something to which I was told calmly "it's the way here. This is how they dispose of their trash, there is no other option for them."

I am not saying that burying our trash is better than burning it. Both are equally unpleasant for the environment.

However, burning trash like this feels like the Pokemon Muk entering into my throat and causing me chest pain, coughing and over-all un-wellness.

Imagine how Mother Earth must feel.

Let's talk about YOUR trash and what you can do:

  • How many bags do you produce each week?
  • Is your garbage collected or do you drop it somewhere?
  • Where does it go after it's been collected?
  • Do you sort your recycables?
  • What do you do with your food scraps?
  • Do you know food scraps make great compost, increasing biodiversity in soil and therefore encouraging plant growth, regeneration and overall soil health for more growing possibilities? IE: more food. YOU CAN CREATE FOOD FROM FOOD. Some food will even grow from the seeds of your scraps (crazy right?)

This is a poor me, poor you, poor us post. And you know what, we can do something about it! We can make a change!

Would you treat your mother this way?

  • Would you put toxins into her?
  • Would you set fire to her skin?
  • Would you shove your garbage down her throat?
  • Would you neglect and disrespect her health?

NO! Of course you wouldn't! So why is it OK to do it to our life-source? Our provider of life? Can we please stop abusing this loving entity that has given us a home to live on, a bounty of food and water to sustain us, her love and the environment she provides for us keeps us alive, healthy and well.

I've just decided right now that I will coach anyone who wants to learn about recycling for free, you just have to comment on here and let me know. Your country is going to be a big determinant in how and what you can do to make your own difference.

The best thing we can do is produce and consume less.

I can help you as much as I can learn how to sort your materials and get in touch with organizations for pick ups but honestly, the best thing I/you/we can do is to monitor what we consume and try to be more conscious of it.

  • How much do we buy that we don't need?
  • Instead of throwing items away, we can recycle, reuse or donate!
  • Do you recycle your toilet paper rolls? They're cardboard and can be recycled or reused for crafts!
  • We can support charity shops that accept donations and resell for charities (I get almost all of my clothes recycled, hand-me-down or bought from garage sales/online sales)
  • All of this can save you money! Your sour-cream container can be washed and used the same as Tupperware containers for storing items in!

I hope that if nothing else, this post causes you to think about your consumption, your trash and what's coming of it. I know sometimes it's so easy to just close our minds off to it, put it in the bag at the end of the drive and move on with our lives but the Earth is getting plagued by trash my friends, it's insanity how much we actually dispose of. Do you think we could work together to try to mitigate that even just slightly? I betcha Mother Earth would be mighty appreciative =D


earth-sky-love-woman-circle.jpg


The feeling of making a difference, no matter how small it may be, is a feeling that can light up your heart! - @heart-to-heart's heart.

I know this post ended up being long, honestly... I had started off being very angry that once again, smog was 'ruining my day' however, I've had time to process that stance and from my perspective now, I see it as an opportunity for us to have this discussion and call for a change!


Sending you love today and everyday, let us take care of our Mother together. A happy momma is always a better day! ;)

I'm proud to be riding on the #ecotrain!
You can find out more about us and what we do here!

ecotrain.png

If you're into loving, delicious, inspirational content delivered straight from the heart, you can find that on my blog here. Sure to ignite the appetite and make you smile ๐Ÿ’™

XO,
๐Ÿ’™๐Ÿ’š๐Ÿ’œ
celenesignoffnew1.jpg
hearttoheart signature.png

Sort: ย 
ย 7 years agoย (edited)

yup this is terrible! i know it well and have had times IN india where i am also gassed out by it.. It is a huge problem with few solutions unless massive amounts of money and efforts is made to clean up the entire process of waste management.

In India a big part of the problem is that traditionally, everyone used to burn their waste and it was fine. No one had plastics 80 years ago and you could burn pretty much anything without any issues. Now the culture has remained the same, and no one is taking responsibility for dealing with it. There is no help given to locals to dispose of plastics and since people are so poor they do the only thing they can think to do and that is to burn it.

Worthy post here! And a global problem!

There is always hope though - some people are working relentlessly to affect change.

Uh oh! I read about India once in an eco book I was reading about pollution... because there are so so many people, there is a lot of pollution right?

Darn. I wonder what to do to change it! I wish I was a big fat whale with all the power in the world to have it fixed but I am not and even hiring a recycling service here for 1 personal pick up is almost $20USD!!!!

That's not sustainable for very many people! I am going to let my mind turn on it and hope I can figure out something... until then, I am going to keep reminding people (half the battle is knowledge) and try to inspire everyone to consume less, and work on changing bits and pieces of their lifestyle, every little inch helps <3

do not throw your trash away or burn it. Sweden and other baltic countries need some trash, to make new things out of it almost for free. And central Europe including our country is trying to follow this ecology trend

That is great news and exactly what we need more of! I am so happy to hear that some countries are making efforts at changing these old ways! However, there is always the cost of pollution on transportation so it would be best if all countries could aim to make similar initiatives!

What a brilliantly informative article. I have also read about the poor whale recently who died because his stomach was full of plastic bags and it has made me think more what I use and throw away. I do have a recycling bin, but I have found myself making more conscious buying plastic decisions, like getting my daughters tumblers with a built in straw, instead of buying the disposable ones and buying fruit and vegetables from the local market, rather than prepackaged one from the shops. Looking further into #ecotrain train too. #unmentionables

Hi @hopehuggs how wonderful! I see you're making many changes in your life for the health of your family and the planet! High five and big hug to you my friend =D

I know it's hard in our busy lifestyles where everything is so convenient and easy for us. I got into an argument with my mom over using paper plates at Christmas a few years back (we ended up compromising and got recyclable ones) I just could not believe how ridiculous it was! I understand now, through a more patient mindset that this is the culture we've grown into and been taught but by making some changes over time, that is still changing things and that still helps! I think the steps you're taking are wonderful! Thank you for being the change you wish to see in the world ;) XO

#ecotrain is a group of individuals (I think we're at 17 now) who write posts concerning the planet, environment and overall positivity of living life to the fullest without taking from our Mother Earth. The authors are wonderful, I am positive there will be some content in there that you'll enjoy! =D How is the vegan once a week going?

If you love your child, do him or her a favor. Save the planet and all creature roaming its forest, flying on its sky, and swimming on its waters. Don't let your child to see it and read it only from the book. We can still save the planet if we do our little contribution.

Exactly! That's exactly what I am trying to say! The destruction happening now is not going to leave a very nice home for our kids so we need to stop it and make changes now so that we can leave a clean, healthy place for future generations to come! We all need to work together with love in our hearts and we can change things! <3

With the worlds ever growing population it is vital that we do our part to reduce our carbon footprint. Good on you for doing what you can through positive action

Hi Jason, I completely agree, I think we really need to incite change before things get too out of control. In my opinion the level of pollution here is out of control as it is. I believe that inspiring and teaching, having people remember and learn, feel what's going on can truly help us change things! Thank you for your support in this! I hope to make a change by inspiring! <3

This is really terrible my friend, I can understand your point! We have this in Mauritius too, but not so much as before. Now if someone is burning thrash, you can call the police and the one making this will be in deep shit!
We still have a lot to improve here, but with the regular trash collector coming it's quite good.

Oh my goodness, I was actually going to ask you about that! It's good that there are changes being made! I am feeling a need to move with it being so bad here and had reached out to you in Discord to talk to you about it actually haha =D

I think it all comes down to education but to me, living and having to breathe in dark black air that is hurting my lungs is unfair. I wish we could all learn to change and stop ruining life for everything living! I'll just have to keep trying to help change it ;) Rant over <3

How awful to be breathing toxic smoke like you are. I am surprised there is not a healthy eco -savvy residents association getting to grips with these issues and finding solutions. Every thing is possible, it just takes adequate focus and is way overdue.

Well, I think there are in more touristy areas but I live in the local sector where there would be no one to complain about this :S

Since the problem is so bad, I am going to make efforts into finding a way through and trying to at least cut down on some of this incessant pollution because it's really quite devastating to see and breathe in.

Education is the key to it all though, and love and understanding for those who do not yet know otherwise. <3

I hope one day we can all wake up and start treating our Mother with more respect <3

Well said yes educate those who burn plastic that they are killing themselves and their families too.
Never give up and my thoughts are with you

Yes, it's just so sad that people don't make that connection. We with education on the matter see it as common sense, but when you are used to doing something, sometimes you do not question it. I'm hopefully we can find a way to help, thank you for encouraging me <3

It's unbearable! I had to face this nightmare when I was living in India! They burned their garbage! This continues despite the fact that the garbage car comes everyday! I literally took away the garbage from my neighbors and took it to the road! I bought them garbage bags! But every time I left the village for a long time, they burnt the rubbish!I hope that when the generation changes, young people will be too lazy to burn garbage, which is easier to carry to the road! ๐Ÿค”๐Ÿ˜‘๐Ÿ˜‘๐Ÿ˜™๐Ÿ˜—๐Ÿค—๐Ÿค—

I have to admit, the last part made me laugh. I hope too that the new generation is so lazy that it helps fix this problem!

I know this problem is not isolated and is widespread across most countries, it is truly sad. I wonder often why it would ever become normal to breathe this in? Walking outside choking down the smoke... no one finds it weird? Harmful? No, it's normal. It's a damn shame and it makes me so sad.

People told me to just go around collecting from all the neighbours as well but like you're pointing out, it's not sustainable as then their reliance on me to do it for them is what is effecting the change. Not their will or desire.

I am going to try to see if I can't help spread awareness on some level. I know that's the key to it all. I can't blame anyone who doesn't know better, I just hope we can change the behavior!

We need to keep in touch, dear! People living in the mind is not so much! For me and for you it is obvious that you can not eat meat, you can not burn garbage and fires in general, you must limit your consumption! Only by uniting we can change something!

YES! We need to stick together, that is the way things will change in the world- by working together!Thanks for being here with me, I really believe together we can make a change! <3 We're in this together!

It was wonderful to move back to Boulder from where my complex has composting recycling and trash. Every trip to the compost bin makes me smile. Here they charge for plastic bags at the store and styrofoam isn't used hardly at all. I still cringe in both states when I see water bottles handed out at meetings and such. I tried to talk my old work into just having mugs for as all. They might still think I'm an alien from another planet.
Unfortunately dealing with trash at the scale needed to prevent what you are suffering from takes committed and organized public action. Air and water are public goods and good governance is needed everywhere to protect this valuable resources. Good luck!

Awww yes, honestly at times I have thought about moving to CO to have those luxuries available. But every place comes with its ups and downs... cold is one of those downs for me so I know I have to choose my battles. I just wish we wouldn't be so cruel to the world we live in and that we weren't even having to have this conversation. I have family in Utah and the smog there is incredulous as well. There are days where you're not even supposed to go outside...

I know it'll take some determination and more effort than I can imagine but obviously something needs to be done and I am hoping I can help at least get the ball rolling! I very much doubt the government here is going to intervene so as you said, public action is going to be necessary!

Hopefully with enough love in the heart, something can be done! <3 Thanks for the encouragement! Keep on being an inspiration to your fellow workers, water bottles are such a ridiculous waste... I know I started bringing my water bottle around when I saw someone else do it. Leading by example is always effective <3 I wish you the best of luck!

Waking up to that smoke would be horrible everyday. I do hope it gets better.

Thank you! I hope so too, I am working my mind into finding some ways to deal with it. I know education is going to be a huge part of it. It's more heartbreaking than anything to see it covering the beautiful landscape.. awww.. but it's a call for action on my part and I hope I can do something about it to change things <3

Great post,

thanks a lot

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64854.61
ETH 3478.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52