You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Making a difference, no matter how small it may be, can light up the darkest day! You have the power inside! 💙💚💜

in #nature7 years ago (edited)

yup this is terrible! i know it well and have had times IN india where i am also gassed out by it.. It is a huge problem with few solutions unless massive amounts of money and efforts is made to clean up the entire process of waste management.

In India a big part of the problem is that traditionally, everyone used to burn their waste and it was fine. No one had plastics 80 years ago and you could burn pretty much anything without any issues. Now the culture has remained the same, and no one is taking responsibility for dealing with it. There is no help given to locals to dispose of plastics and since people are so poor they do the only thing they can think to do and that is to burn it.

Worthy post here! And a global problem!

Sort:  

There is always hope though - some people are working relentlessly to affect change.

Uh oh! I read about India once in an eco book I was reading about pollution... because there are so so many people, there is a lot of pollution right?

Darn. I wonder what to do to change it! I wish I was a big fat whale with all the power in the world to have it fixed but I am not and even hiring a recycling service here for 1 personal pick up is almost $20USD!!!!

That's not sustainable for very many people! I am going to let my mind turn on it and hope I can figure out something... until then, I am going to keep reminding people (half the battle is knowledge) and try to inspire everyone to consume less, and work on changing bits and pieces of their lifestyle, every little inch helps <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63595.77
ETH 3415.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49