Collection of the "How too" posts on comfrey tincture making for the #naturalmedicine Story!

in #naturalmedicine6 years ago

natural medicine banner.jpeg

Natural medicine is having a contest on a favored herbal medicine, so I am collecting up my posts on Comfrey. I LOVE Herbal medicine, and use it heavily. I just finished three posts on how to make Comfrey Tincture. Here are the links:

https://steemit.com/herbal/@smithlabs/making-comfrey-tincture-at-home-part-one-the-decoction-process

https://steemit.com/herbal/@smithlabs/first-extraction-of-comfrey-after-decoction

https://steemit.com/herbal/@smithlabs/final-extraction-of-comfrey-by-steam

Comfrey is a vulnerary which means it accelerates healing by encouraging cell division. The active ingredient is Allintoin which stimulates hyaluronic acid which is the mortar the body uses to bind cells together. I find that a fomentation of a Comfrey Tincture, left on overnight, sealed to stay moist, does wonders with joint and muscle damage. A bruise will disappear overnight under the same treatment. The single best use of Comfrey Tincture is treating arthritis, it is very successful at that. All of this is well documented, but I found one other use that is NOT in the Books.

Since Comfrey stimulates hyaluronic acid production, which is the mortar the body uses to bind cells together, I decided to try it on a brown Recluse spider bite (actually seven of them) That a sweet Lady from my church was unlucky enough to receive. She went to her MD, he sent her home with pain medicine, and antibiotics to reduce the rot. I based this treatment on the fact that the Recluse venom destroys the same hyaluronic acid that Comfrey stimulates. I hoped to minimize the tissue death, by supplying some replacement acid. What I found was that the Comfrey actually make hyaluronic Acid faster than the venom can destroy it. Her bites, except a pimple where the first bite occurred, were gone the next morning. The pimple was gone the second morning. I have tried this twice more with identical results.

NOW, it Should work for snake bites, because they act the same way; but I thankfully have been unable to try this! I hope I never need to, but the theory is sound! :D

Sort:  

Ooh, that's fascinating on the spider bites! We have our very first Bocking-14 comfrey plant taking hold in our garden and I'm looking forward to it flourishing so I can take advantage of it. Thanks for all the info!

That is an excellent choice! They are less prone to spread like weeds; and are stronger in Allintoin, than the standard kind.
This is what I planted that the deer ate, as fast as it came up, LOL! :)

We have rabbits, but no deer. So maybe ours stand a chance!

I very nearly planted wild ones by seed. Glad I was saved from that by timely Steemit advice - our yard is too small to have the comfrey take over our other stuff.

Some one gave you good advice, with the Russian comfrey; that must be planted from root is the best for medicine, and containment! YOU DID GOOD; and without hungry deer you are better off!

I am glad you have a good planting, and I hope to catch up with you soon. :)

sir smithlabs..great job of research and putting together these articles on the herbal uses and benefits!

I just hope it help some one get good at extracting this Herbal. It is the hardest herbal to make, but without a doubt the most useful!

I really do NOT like making a batch, but It is worth the grief, LOL! :)

sir smithlabs..yes it was a hassle making the batch but it did provide some good posting material!

AND a Gallon of Comfrey tincture (AKA the elixir of GOD, LOL) to distribute to those hurting! That includes Me.... :D

smithlabs what are you hurting with, you talkin about that little spider bite?

Three back surgeries, shoulder surgery, two wrist surgeries, damaged knee, tendonitis in my hands. Nothing but small stuff.... :)

wrist surgeries? for what carpel tunnel? wow those are alot of small stuff.

No, nothing so mundane, I separated my wrist pulling my finger out of an engine lathe. The first repair was done with a pin that was too light, and I broke it in half. They had to go back in, and remove the broken pin, and replace it.

AND I can still count to ten! :)

Lets see, three back surgeries, shoulder surgery, wrist surgery twice. Right now, I am avoiding another shoulder surgery, tendonitis, and possible knee repair, with the comfrey.

oh man smithlabs! well what's wrong with your shoulder and knee?
and how can you still be at 49 rep?

Shoulder and knee, car wreak. :(

Shoulder, extension damage, rebuilt. :)

NO Idea on the 49! Doing everything I know how, But I must have food stuck in my teeth or something. Or they just hate me, LOL! :)

Knee, compression impact damage, blown bursa sack, left to heal. :(

That is useful information! Brown recluse is the only dangerous spider we get in Alaska. I will have to try a fomentation for my father and his muscle and joint pain.

It will help a lot!

If his joints are noisy (mine were) add Glucosomine and MSM capsules. The fomentation, kept wet overnight (I just use plastic on the back side); really heals a lot of problems!

Be Blessed! :D

Comfrey is really a good natural medicine 👌
I also prefer natural remedies before accessing pharmaceutical tablets... the pharmaceutical industry just wants to earn us and is not interested in our health.
That's why I think you have to look for remedies in nature 😉

I have worked for years to increase the strength (which was good to begin with) of my Comfrey Tincture. I have it extracting enough now that the Decocted left over roots no longer turn my hands brown when I empty the machinery. The 1/2 inch diameter roll on bottles, are no longer able to pass high intensity light due to increased concentration of the Allintoin, which is the active compound.

I have found this herbal to heal just about everything but a cloudy day, ROFLOL! Seriously it is a vulnerary, which accelerates cell division, and as such promotes healing. Deep penetration from skin applications allows it to help with a lot of internal problems too.

But use this method, and you will have a VERY strong fighter in your first aid arsenal!

Be Blessed My Friend! :)

That's right Allantoin can positively support the skin's health ... Comfrey knew my grandma and grandpa already ... I know ... the root pieces with 40 - 50% alcohol. Close everything well and shake well. Leave this approach for about 3-4 weeks in a warm non-sunny place to pull through ... how do you make your tincture?

Low temperature decoction, steam extraction, 50% tincture by adding pure grain.

That's interesting I only know it without adding grain... what should the cereal make?

I am after the most concentrated comfrey I can make. The process extracts all the active compounds from the dried root. When it is decocted I have 2 quarts of thick, brown liquid, that contains the Allintoin.

I add the grain alcohol strictly to preserve the decoction.

oh well ... now I understand 👍
Thank you so much

Any time, it is VERY effective repairing body damage. :D I have it on several places that are sore right now.

As I could not resteem the 3 parts, I will this one. I also saved them to my computer for future reference.

Thanks, I hope you have as much success as I have had with this!

I am planting comfrey on the homestead, as soon as we get moved out there. I tried already, but the deer had a feast on every leaf that grew.

I have 3 stands of comfrey here, 1 fenced, and the dozens of deer here have never touched them...

You are lucky, those meadow rats ate mine off to the ground! They were out there grazing while I sat on the porch, not 50 feet away! NO fear of man.... >:(

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67659.31
ETH 3802.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75