Making comfrey tincture at home; Part one, the decoction process.

in #herbal6 years ago (edited)

I began the process of making a batch of comfrey tincture three days ago. I am posting the steps in case anyone wants to make some too. I have developed, by trial and error, what I believe is the best method.

Part one is a process called decoction which is a low temperature slow cooking process. Decoction is used because we are trying to get useful product out of small pieces of fibrous roots. Using a low extraction temperature requires a long period, but the active ingredient Allantoin is stronger if lower temperatures are used.

The ideal set point seems to be 145 degrees F, but must always be over 140, or the batch will spoil. If a batch spoils, it must be discarded, and you must start over. It is better to loose a small percentage of the strength than to loose a batch! So if you can't hold it very tight, run it at 180 degrees, and save the batch.

Here is a 5 quart crock pot I use for decoction along with a simple non contact thermometer.

20180719_204737.jpg

Use distilled water to avoid introducing unknown chemicals into your decoction. Not trying to insult anyone by being basic, but keep the lid on, stir the decoction, and add water as needed. If you do not, the outside will stick, and get unfair attention from the heating elements. This will weaken the Allantion in the final batch, and can add a burned smell. Neither is fatal, but neither is good either. This will cook from a week to two weeks, depending on the size of the particles of dried root used.

So, how do you know when it is done? Comfrey helps, because the muscillage in the comfrey is the last thing to be released. When it thickens, and you will notice the difference when you are stirring it, the decoction is done. It will thicken and act kind of like syrup, mixed with kitty litter. You have a successful decoction and you are done with Part one!

Part two will be the extraction process, which I will show you, as soon as I have a good decoction!

Sort:  

I love to learn things like this!
Nature offers so much and asks for little in return

So very true! This decoction may be done tomorrow. It is dark enough now, but has not quite thickened up enough yet! :(

True, but I am almost out of the tincture, and I need to finish this batch soon. A lady at church cracked a vertibrae and needs a lot of this, very soon!

I understand, I will pray your batch aids in her speedy recovery!

The Latin name is Knit Bone; so it should help a lot. I appreciate the prayer, her name is Patty.

It is a little early, but I will process it this evening since it is beginning to thicken now, so we are there. :O

This will cook from a week to two weeks?!

Yes, that is the best way to get all he potency from the root. The first batch I made I cooked overnight, and it was amazing; but I noticed that a lot of the active (brown) compound remained in the root disposables.

I decided to get the full value of the Comfrey, cooking long term appears to be the best way to get it. If off grid, I would use a hay box. Heat it to boiling twice a day, and return it to the box to slow cook; until it thickens.

Be Blessed! O:-)

someone needs to decoction that smithlabs guy!

Ahhhh, a spa treatment! :)

smithlabs you out there?

@janton Just hiding out from Texans, ROFLOL!

man you've been hiding most of the day haven't you? I don't blame you for wanting to hide from Texans though!

Working on a car. :(

I don't hide from Texans, unless you count the ghillie suit, I use to let them relax as long as is possible...LOL! :)

haha! hey we're on the same side, I'd hate it if was some liberal state above us. Speaking of politics, what in the world happened to Scott Pruitt? did he go off the rails or was he railroaded?

Yes, Texans are safe here, just practicing up for those blue helmets; that say UN on them, LOL!

Scott Pruitt was disgustingly honest here, and I don't see a MAN changing that much. It was a political hack job, just like they have done with everyone else!Evil men claiming evil for innocent MEN will only fly so far!

I could tell you things...but face to face, not something that can even go here, or on Email!

This is a long process...

It is a pain, and I hate to make it, but it works better than anything else.
So I keep making it....
:(

Geesh...this sounds strangely like making balls of opium I've read about...lol...That's what all those "tea ships" were really carrying, btw...

East India goods! LOL :)

LOL...Yep the British East India Company...the original "Standard Oil" behemoth, and just as crooked.

Maybe even a little more willing to kill.... >:(

Very true. Especially if your skin was a different color....

Sad, but true.... :(

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 64215.55
ETH 3183.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47