MyPictureDay Challenge Round #18 Walking on the frozen river..

in #mypictureday6 years ago (edited)

I didn't saw winter like this for many years. Actually this kind of weather was the main reason for me, to go on my never ending trip. Now I can even enjoy it, but not for long of course. Now I'm back to Saint-Petersburg Russia just for few weeks, and I'm so "lucky" to came in the coldest moment of this winter. 

 It is around -20 every day but with a lot of sun. That's really surprising because normally its only 60 sunny days in the year and most of them in summer and autumn. You can say -20 it's not that cold, but it is Saint-P -20 and that's different thing. I saw some people from Siberia where -50 its normal every winter temperature, but when they come here they start crying at -15 already. Because of humidity and wind frost come till your bones. 

So when sun vising this city everybody stops with all deals and go to walk. Saint-P it is the city of rivers and channels, some people call it Northern Venice. When channels get frozen and it is sunny outside, people go to walk on the ice. Yeah it's kind of dangerous, but locals, and tourists go there anyway.

 Government wants to cut possibility to cross main river by the ice, and big ice breaker boat breaks the ice in the middle of Neva river once a week. But Russians always liked a risk, more risk more fun! So they don't care about ice was broken and there is no any guaranty it will hold their weight. Stream there is more than 10 meters per second, and if you fell in water it's no chance to survive.

 But nobody believes it will happen to him. This broken line looks really scary, but for nice shot I also join this crazy movement for a second. 

When sun was nearly gone and I wanted to go out, I saw man with the bike drawing graffiti on the snow. I thought OK this guy really crazy bicycle enthusiast, and make few shots with him, after I climb up and go to make last photo from the bridge.

There was the graffiti guy, and he asked me to make shot specially for him with his art, I looked at him and recognize that he is actually my old friend and I don't seen him for last 7 years. So now I can say that this photography day brings me not only photos and fun.. PS As always sorry for my English, here its even worse than usual. When I'm in Russia I am in constant hangover, so many people to meet..

 My name is Timon, and I am on the slowest worldwide cruise ever. In 2011 I left the country where I was born and since then I'm traveling supa slow. My plan is to go Around the world in 80 years..

  • What is the point? - I want Just look around, have a lot of fun and make things I'm interested on. It will take time.
  • Why so long? - Because I really want to see how people live and what this place is for me, so I stay some time in each spot, and it's so many.. 
  • How long I stay? - Not too long, not too short, it's really depends on many things.. 
  • Am I so rich to just travel..? - No not at all. It is what making this trip a bit more complicated but still awesome and interesting. 
  • Am I serious? - No, not really. But still on my road..

The Biggest part of my way so far was by Sea and Ocean, 7 years I spent on my boat, and last 3 of them on a little island in Atlantic Ocean. For the moment I'm back on the dry land, and I can find a lot of fun here as well.

Original photos / Canon 600D / Canon 28mm / Saint-Petersburg / Russia / February 2018 /

If you like my works, please follow my photo blog Around the World in 80 years..
 

https://steemit.com/travel/@ipumba/railways-tattoo-collection

https://steemit.com/life/@ipumba/around-the-world-in-80-years-back-to-the-future 

https://steemit.com/travel/@ipumba/around-the-world-in-80-years-estonian-gambit

https://steemit.com/adventure/@ipumba/around-da-world-in-80-years-moviestar-heaven

https://steemit.com/introducemyself/@ipumba/around-the-world-in-80-years-introduction   

[//]:# (!steemitworldmap 59.940095 lat 30.305743 long icewalking pass d3scr)


Sort:  

Congratulations! Your high quality travel content caught our attention and earned you a reward, in form of an upvote and resteem. Your work really stands out. Your article now has a chance to get curated and featured under the appropriate daily topic of our Travelfeed blog. Thank you for using #travelfeed

Transparent-Discord-Travel.png

Upvoted on behalf of the dropahead Curation Team!

Thanks for following the rules.

DISCLAIMER: dropahead Curation Team does not necessarily share opinions expressed in this article, but find author's effort and/or contribution deserves better reward and visibility.

Help us giving you bigger upvotes by:

Upvote this comment!
Upvote & Resteem the latest dropahead Curation Reports!
Join the dropahead Curation Trail
to maximize your curation rewards!
Vote dropahead Witness with SteemConnect
Proxy vote dropahead Witness
with SteemConnect
Donate STEEM POWER to @dropahead
12.5SP, 25SP, 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP
Do the above and we'll have more STEEM POWER to give YOU bigger rewards next time!

News from dropahead: How to give back to the dropahead Project in 15 seconds or less

Quality review from the dropahead Curation Team

According to our quality standards(1), your publication has reached an score of 92%.

Congratulations for your excellent work!


(1) dropahead Witness' quality standards:

-Quality, technique and aesthetics of photography (Good framing, good focus, sufficient brightness, adjusted to what the photograph intends to express.)
-Adaptation and relationship with the general theme raised (clearly reflects the proposed theme)
-Capacity of the composition (causes sensations, emotions)

Haha Russian people like risk as Turkish people:)

hahaha I love that the crazy bicycle guy turned out to be your friend! I like the idea of snow art. Kinda bummed out that I've never graffiti'd snow before

thanks! yeap its the facy now in russia art on the snow.. also politic protest writings

We're just discovering Steemit, and joined to share about our passion for traveling, I've bumped into your post, I know it's a couple of weeks old but I'm amazed about the experience. I would have been quite scared about the idea that the ice could break, but it just looks like a long road! That tells a lot about how cold it gets there! Would love to experience it myself.

thanks i like a lot when people read old posts too! read my intro if you like old stuff) good luck on steemit i'll follow

Oh gosh I hate the cold but this looks brilliant !

It's so cool photography man....👌 drawing of the cycle in ice is the best 😁

My friend there are a lot of beautiful pictures and you really introduce Saint-P greatly and I also like the bicycle drawing picture... In Turkiye unfortunately we can't see that cold like -20 and not too much snow especially in the coastal area like izmir, Aydin and Antalya...

I live in Izmir and it has a cold and also moisture so it is very bad for us...

Thank you for sharing these beautiful pictures and this travel writing...

Have a nice day my friend :)

Congratulation man,you take this good challenge and that's a really wonderful photography with beautiful place.
Thanks to share this amazing challenging post.
God bless you.

wowwoowww is an extraordinary winter trip and sharing.
you are right about the humidity and the wind, the cold feels like your bones.
Thank you for sharing your excellent photos. I loved it a lot

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 61243.73
ETH 2974.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69