Reggae or Not?

in #music5 years ago (edited)

Reggae is a music style that I have always had some fondness for having been introduced to it as a wide-eyed 15 year old by a record shop owner.

reggae.jpg
Source

While Bob Marley was hitting the top 40 with ‘’Jammin’, Steel Pulse, a Birmingham based band had just released their debut album, Handsworth Revolution.

image.png
Source

I did buy the album but it never really struck a serious chord, and besides the successive singles of King Bob, ‘Is the Love’ and ‘Satisfy my Soul’, it became purely a passive interest.

Unknown to me there were many other Reggae songs that I had previously picked up on without directly linking them to the style itself.

For example, 10cc's Dreadlock Holiday should be a complete giveaway with the title of the song. The beat and harmony are distinctively Reggae but because I was a huge fan of the band and loved their distinct style it didn't immediately correlate.


10cc – Dreadlock Holiday (Bloody Tourists – 1978)

Their previous music was anything but, and sadly this would be the last great single from one of the most alternative, innovative bands of the '70s.

By the turn of the decade bands such as Madness, The Beat and The Specials were delivering their own flavours of ‘Ska' upon the record-buying public.

The difference between ska and reggae is subtle and nuanced, mostly involving tempo and rhythm: Reggae is slower and more laid-back, while ska is a bit punchier. Indeed, reggae evolved from ska, and the story of how both of these musical styles originated in Jamaica is quite interesting.


The Specials – Ghost Town (Single – 1981)

The Specials’, ‘Ghost Town’ became a big hit and there is no doubt the undertones of the rhythm are Ska, yet at the time, just like the 10cc song I didn’t notice.

…’Reggae is not just Bob Marley, it’s more integrated into our music than you might think’…

During this time period, we start hearing another British band, with a vocalist who sounds like he's from Jamaica. Ali Campbell was in fact, very white and from Birmingham.

Of course, I'm talking about UB40, who took their name from the Unemployment Benefit form name at the time. Their music spoke volumes about the depressing state of the UK in 1980, and the band rose to become very popular and successful.


UB40 - Food for Thought (Signing Off – 1980)

Listen to the lyrics and feel that very Reggae style harmony and beat. I enjoyed their early songs before they got too popular.

RedLine.png

...Reggae or Not?...

So let’s get back to the title of what I’m trying to convey. I hear reggae in many songs but if it’s not pointed out then it can easily bypass you.

In 1982, Blondie released one of their last hits of any consequence. I remember it well but didn’t think ‘Reggae’ at the time. Rap was to be next with the song, ‘Rapture’.


Blondie - The Tide is High (Autoamerican – 1982)

It would be many years before Blondie had the success they enjoyed during the early eighties, but they were clearly not afraid to experiment and move from that ‘pop’ genre they had been labelled.

Let us move years later, as some reading this may not have been born when these songs were first released.

Scottish Rockers Biffy Clyro were a band I loved for the first THREE albums. When first listening to ‘My Recovery Injection’, I thought of Reggae.


Biffy Clyro - My Recovery Injection (Infinity Land –2004)

It doesn’t last and after 30 seconds or so the song changes quite dramatically as was their style in the early days.

Can you hear that Reggae beat? It's not a style I would have thought them to use.

Lilly Allen is famous for more than her singing. She once declined to sing for a sum of ‘hundreds of thousands of Bitcoin’. The story is known to most and her music firmly in the ‘pop’ genre.


Lilly Allen - Smile (Alright, Still –2006)

I was listening to ‘Smile’ a few days ago and could not help notice the very Reggae intro to this song.

Once she starts singing about, ‘Fucking that girl next door’, which always makes me ‘Smile’, the beat fades somewhat but never really goes away.

Amy Winehouse suffered a terrible early death while trying to recover from alcohol addiction. I was a huge fan, especially the Back to Black album, which features a very Reggae song, ‘Just Friends'.


Amy Winehouse - Just Friends (Back to Black –2006)

Like most songs on the album, it sounds like something from the sixties laced with an abundance of profanity.

She was original if nothing else and her music style is something my late father probably would have liked if he could excuse the colourful language.

Irish soft rockers, The Cranberries who are sadly no longer due to the early death of Dolores O’Riorden, were more famous for driven rock anthems like, ‘Zombie’.


The Cranberries - What you Were (B-Side –1991)

An obscure B-Side that I found yielded a very Reggae sounding song named, ‘What you Were’. Is it Reggae or is it not?

Even more strange is finding something that resembles reggae from zany Icelandic crazy woman Bjork.

I have to admit this is quite borderline, but that beat that makes you swing around says it to me.


Bjork - Venus as a Boy (Debut –1993)

Venus as a Boy', is one of her lesser-known songs, but one of my favourites. Can you hear any reggae in this song, or am I simply listening a little too hard?

To conclude, this song was a huge hit for The Police but again I never once thought ‘Reggae’ on first hearing it.


The Police - Walking on the Moon ( Reggatta de Blanc –1979)

Walking on the Moon’ is undoubtedly a reggae song from a very ‘pop’ orientated band during their heyday. They used the style in such a way that barely anybody noticed and it still hit the number one spot. Kudos to them.

@shanibeer recently discussed her commitment to the #JAHM token, and I'm sure she will appreciate this post and its contents. I hope it works out for her and the JAHM tribe continues to flourish.


DivindingLine.JPG

SteemEnginer.gif

  • Earn FREE Stellar Lumens from Coinbase by taking partaking in a simple quiz here
  • Earn Passive Manna by simply signing up for it here. Mannabase is a Universal Basic Income Cryptocurrency
  • Earn STEEM and digital cards while playing STEEM Monsters, the best game on the STEEM Blockchain here.
  • Earn JSECoin buy simply creating an account and Mine while you browse here

line.jpg

Drooling Maniac.JPG

If you found this article so invigorating that you are now a positively googly-eyed, drooling lunatic with dripping saliva or even if you liked it just a bit, then please upvote, comment, resteem, engage me or all of these things.

Sort:  

Great post, glad you made it here and brought your friends. I agree, there's much more melding and fusion between different music genres, and reggae was certainly exploited in the 80s by a number of bands - the Police were one, the Clash were another, although they sometimes ruined a good tune :)
Stake your #jahm, you might want to take a little holiday in Negril (I'm sure @bingbabe would love it, too)!


Posted via ReggaeSteem | Reggae Culture Rewarded

Stake your #jahm, you might want to take a little holiday in Negril (I'm sure @bingbabe would love it, too)!

I don't have much, but it is staked. I went to Montego Bay in 1998 and almost go talked into visiting a Ganga Farm and having my valuables removed from me. It was a close call. I was a naive bugger then.

almost go talked into visiting a Ganga Farm and having my valuables removed from me. It was a close call. I was a naive bugger then.

Classic @slobberchops. Sounds like one for the Chronicles.


Posted via ReggaeSteem | Reggae Culture Rewarded

It's bloody embarrassing.. those guys are super smooth talkers.

Ok, I haven't finished reading yet. I'm about the read the Blondie section.. but I had to pause and come leave this comment

1). Shut up!! That's what UB40 stands for? hahah.
2). Never heard of 10cc but that Dreadlock Holiday is bloody hilarious!!!


Edited after finishing the post

Ok, OMG. The 1970s man. Was that the best musical decade ever? The 60's were close, but the 70's damn!

I hand't heard of Scottish Rockers, but that track is some kind of Rock Reggae. Delicious.

Never heard of The Cranberries but I'll be looking more into them. I love this kind of music!

Epic post man. RIP Amy Winehouse.

Ok, OMG. The 1970s man. Was that the best musical decade ever? The 60's were close, but the 70's damn!

Yeah, the 70's were great, I guess your a little young to remember them? I was just a kid but got into music at a very early age.

I hand't heard of Scottish Rockers, but that track is some kind of Rock Reggae. Delicious.

I can't say I'm into their current material. They wanted fame and so made more poppy music, that lacked the crazyness of the older stuff. The song is just 4 minutes but has so many variations. Typical of the early material.

Thanks for the comments, appreciate them!

Caught the very tail end of the 70's as an infant :) . But.. my dad had a LOT of records back then. And I found Napster early haha. The 70's music were crazy everywhere. I got into 70's Latin American music at some point too.

How about a nice video and a compilation ... :)
I'd love a nicely curated post of your dad's records.


Posted via ReggaeSteem | Reggae Culture Rewarded

Hmm... sounds like an idea. :)
You never know, I may actually do this haha.

Haha, let's see :)

Ah yah reggae music is good for the soul! I got behind the token when it launched and have not been too active yet. This weekend, I am hitting the local reggea show fronted by my man Mista-D

Hopefully I will be able to document it properly and coherently between trips to the parking lot with the band. ;)

Where is that, @zekepickleman?


Posted via ReggaeSteem | Reggae Culture Rewarded

Ah sorry @shanibeer Missedthis comment. Stratford in Canada.

Mob Barley and the Railers.. haha! what a great name. Hope they sound as good as King Bob and his Wailers.

About as good as a white boy can be! I will get some footage and let ya listen. I think they are great.

10cc is so awesome. They have so many hits from the 80's that people know all the words but they have no clue who sings the song. UB40 had some really great tunes. I think it is awesome that even Neil Diamond recognizes in one of his live albums that if it hadn't been for them Red Red Wine never would have made it to number 1. This is a great selection of songs and definitely something to think about while you are listening to other music.

I wish 10cc had made it to the 80's but that was their last hit by and 1978 Godley and Creme had left, with only Eric Stewart and Graeme Gouldman remaining. There's a documentary kicking around on YouTube.

Fascinating stuff if you like their music.

Yeah, sorry about that. A lot of the stuff that I listen to crosses over from the 70's to the 80's and I get my decades mixed up a bit :)

I doubt you were there to remember it! I was still at school in that year. They were a band I would like to properly go back too. The singles I know, but the albums I don't.

I would have been two for their last hit. I have an old soul though :)

Great post mate! Cringing a little at 10cc and @adetorrent claiming that..

Ok, OMG. The 1970s man. Was that the best musical decade ever? The 60's were close, but the 70's damn!

Music is wonderful in the same way as Sport is in that it brings so much diversity and differing viewpoints and engagement.

Not a Reggae fan, not even for tokens! Its music of a time and place. Sat with a bottle on a Carribean beach, Yes but that's as far as it goes. I do like Ska however and do get the Reggae influences on a lot of music.

I'd have thrown Bad Manners into this mix and if you looked beyond 'Pass the Dutchie'. The Police were heavily influenced by Reggae . De Do Do Do, De da da da, Walking on the Moon, all have a distinctive Reggae style.

Great post and some new ones to listen to so cheers!

10cc........Oh Lord.....

I like Ska, but then I also like Cajun and Klezmer :)


Posted via ReggaeSteem | Reggae Culture Rewarded

Behave yourself young lady, forcing me to board the YouTube train at almost midnight is not going to end well!

Posted using Partiko Android

10cc were awesome and that video is too. Eric dress sense is a little dated though :)
I still think the best stuff came from the 70's. How about you.. the current top 40? hehe...

Bad Manners... what was he called.. Buster Bloodvessel.. that had great names...

You can't beat Lip up Fatty! 70s for me were just a wasteland as far as music , fashion and culture were concerned! I detest the 60s with a passion too except for a few female Motown acts....Ok. I need to do a proper post!

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes, let's hear it :)

I think we differ in musical tastes somewhat! Buster (above).. is going to bust one with the way he's prancing around the stage..

Oh man, it's been a long time since I heard UB40. Definitely agree that that particular song sounds very Reggae-y.

Did I mention already that I used to have these long dreadlocks when I was a teenager? I should share some pictures in a blog post, so y'all can have a laugh about it :D

Did I mention already that I used to have these long dreadlocks when I was a teenager? I should share some pictures in a blog post, so y'all can have a laugh about it :D

I can't recall if you did. Does that mean your a Reggae man?

I think it does, I did go to quite a lot of Reggae festivals 'back in the day' (+10 years ago).

I lot of nice music, I actually did recognize several, never heard of a few, but of the ones I did hear before, I don't think I really ever thought of them as raggae.

Biffy Clyro - My Recovery Injection (Infinity Land –2004)

I'm not sure I really heard the song, so much as watch the video, the video got me, hard to say why, it was kind of a silly vid, but perhaps that is the mood I needed. Thanks for the post, Cheers !BEER

I had to post the boring album version that has no video as they cut the reggae part out of it at the start. I guess you found the single version. There may be more cut from that.

These early songs take a while to grow as they are very changeable and don't go with the standard chorus/verse.

This was a great read! You have excellent taste in music. For what it's worth, I think The Police had a reggae influence for a lot of their career--hence their album name "Reggatta de Blanc"! I agree, though, that most of their big hits didn't have much in the way of reggae undertones.

For what it's worth, I think The Police had a reggae influence for a lot of their career--hence their album name "Reggatta de Blanc"!

They did, and once again I didn't notice, until you pointed it out. 'Bring on the Night', 'Beds too big without you'.. both very Reggae.

Roxanne?


Posted via ReggaeSteem | Reggae Culture Rewarded

Yes!... I keep thinking Message in a Bottle but even 'Can't Stop Losing You', is reggae too. I never noticed it at the time, and still it needs pointing out to me to hear and realise it.

I quite like some reggae as well and for most of the songs you list I had not thought of the reggae feel to all or part of them other than UB40 I feel a few of their songs had a reggae twist to them

Some of the best music no doubt. Good chill music. Deep, meaningful, etc. Lot of new guys pumping out good tunes.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63900.40
ETH 3140.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98