A music story. Ep #1

in #music7 years ago (edited)

Hey steemit! 

So I guess this shall be my first post.

In last Oktober my brother and I went to a jumble sale and got ourselves an Oldschool keyboard for 25€. We both do music are always into trying out new things regarding programming a well as music. By that time I i had been playing guitar since seven to eight years but still I knew just a little in music-theory. Music was, and is  still somethin which I mostly prefer just doing. To jam and see what's going to happen.

After we got home from the jumble sale I immediately powered the keyboard and tried it out.
Okay, at first it didn't sound that well but it was loads of fun. The next weeks I've spend the most time after coming home from my workplace playing that thing. Dave Brubecks Take Five was the first melody that i came up with. 

Well maybe a little bit to difficult for the start. Take Five is a piece that I am still practicing and it is going to take some more time until I can play the whole song. Facing the possibilities of a keyboard I thought it might help to study music theory. I bought a book that discribes music theory in jazz and pop music. 

On my way home from business school in Frankfurt they built up a garden having a piano within. There was a sign attached to it saying "play me". How could I resist? I sat down and tried to play something.
It was really different from playing the Keyboard. But I slowley got used to it. 

Some people passed by and we got into a conversation. One of them was Martin a pianist from Hamburg who teaches music theory at the university. At one point he sat down for a minute and played. The sound was massive, cinematic.
He left everyone else passing by speechless. 

Amazing. For a moment about 40 people on their way to work or towards their tome, get drawn out of their day to day basis by the beauty of music. 

I was really impressed and had to ask him, if he could give me some tips, and I got a public lessen ins playing the piano.  He showed me a bunch of techniques and methods to improve myself. I made myself some notes 

The day passed by and during that lots of people held on to take their time and play the old raleway station piano. They were all really good pianists, which supprised me. After three hours of talking, laughing and doing music I took my train home. I arrived and practiced on my keyboard.

Month passed and the joy of playing that keyboard didnt stop. On my 20th birthday my family gave me an Arturia Keylab as a gift which opened a whole new world of ideas, fun, and possibilities in doing music. 

There is still a long way and a lot of practice necessary until I can say that I can really play the piano but I also go the necessary to invest this time. 

Since I'm kinda having a blockade writing lyrics for my songs I thought i might try out something different. I came to know steemit by a friend who is also really interested in the blockchain evolution.


It was really fun to write this post, I might  keep this up. Follow me, you don't want to miss if things get started :P
Write me in Chat (Sidibeat).

My name is Malick Sidibe and I'd like to share some thoughts and memories with you.
Facebook
YouTube
Soundcloud

Sort:  

Another developer, welcome. :D

Haha yes man :D
Currently trying to get into react programming :)
And this whole crypto-hype is extremely interesting.

Welcome to Steemit @sidibeat :)

Welcome Bot Banner

Make sure to participate in this weeks giveaway to get known in the community!

Here are some helpful resources to get you started:


If you find this bot helpful, give it an upvote! It will continue to upvote introduction posts. Your upvote will give it more power in that. If you think you have something all new users should know, please tell.

Welcome to Steem @sidibeat I have sent you a tip

How nice of you :D

Hi @sidibeat , practice makes it perfect... I just followed you and upvoted... thanks

I guess thats it ^^
Talent means nothing if you cant put the effort in to practice.
Thanks :)

Good luck dude and welcome aboard, sounds cool!

Thanks dude ^^

Hi, and welcome!

Here's a short and simple reference guide I put together for new Steemit users especially. It's covers the most basic elements of Steemit that everyone here needs to know about, which are steem, steem dollars, steem power, voting power, followers, vests and witnesses. It also includes links to some very helpful external sites. This is part of it:

And on steem, steem power and steem dollars:

Also:

I hope Steemit works out very well for you!

Welcome to this incredible platform, hope everything will work out for you. Being here it’s not easy but not difficult neither only an extra effort will go a long way, engagement is the key good luck I’m @tinashe Start by Following ,Upvoting &Resteeming people and they will do the same.

We have a#minnowsupportproject where newbies get a chance to make it here ,we have a chat-room where we help each other grow,if you wish to join us and take a look here is the link-https://discord.gg/dTgjBJr

Thank you
resteem follow upvot gif.gif

Welcome to Steemit!

Here's a short and simple reference guide I put together for new Steemit users especially. It's covers the most basic elements of Steemit that everyone here needs to know about, which are steem, steem dollars, steem power, voting power, followers, vests and witnesses. It also includes links to some very helpful external sites. This is part of it:

And on steem, steem power and steem dollars:

Also:

I hope Steemit works out very well for you!

Welcome to Steemit! I hope you will enjoy it as much as I do! :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60596.21
ETH 2611.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64