Mundane as Art: Round 10: Ice. Frozen Roses. Ephemeral art. Original Photography

in #mundaneart6 years ago (edited)

Promise of Life.
Beauty of Eternal Love.
Fragrance of Divine Light.
~Ally.

This weeks theme for @kus-knee's Mundane as Art photo contest is Ice.

Frozen Roses.

frozenflowers.ORIGINAL-042.jpg

The world around us is nothing more and nothing less than a mirror of what we have become from within. ~Gregg Braden.


Beneath the surface of the ice.

frozenflowers.ORIGINAL-035.jpg

The great challenges of life appear to us when, and only when, we have everything we need to survive and heal from the experience. ~Gregg Braden.


Frozen flowers.

My work with 'frozen flowers' began soon after the completion of a two year project: Designing, producing and installing an environmental sculpture using orgonite as my medium. I'll share the journey of this sculpture at Steemit ~ Eventually.

The introduction to working with water and ice came about when I wanted to verify the energetic properties of orgonite.

The experiment.

  • Fill a Pyrex jug with pure water.
  • Place a piece of orgonite next to the jug. Leave the arrangement for a few hours.
  • Place the jug of water into a freezer. Allow it to freeze overnight, without disturbing it.
  • A vortex will emanate from the centre of the frozen ice.

Conclusions.

Perhaps the vortex in the ice was formed as a result of the energy transference of the orgonite to the water. However a control jug of pure water without any orgonite placed next to it, still produced a similar looking vortex.

So for me the experiment was disappointingly 'null and void.' However, I was totally hooked by the absolute beauty of the vortex: Lines of tiny air bubbles in the ice ~ Regardless.

Initially my 'frozen flowers' were influenced by the visually spectacular work of Mo Devlin.

In her article How to do Photography of Frozen Flowers Megan Kennedy illustrates how she creates and photographs her 'frozen flowers.' ~Ally. Source: Ten Days of Reflection: Roses in Ice.

Megan's method is much the same that Mo employs. My methods are different again to both, as I work in reverse. Mo uses a light box to photograph his work whereas Megan describes how she uses the natural light from her apartment window. My methods for using backlighting have been similar to Megan's. ~Ally. Source: Ten Days of Reflection: Roses in Ice.

It wasn't long before the designs of my 'frozen flowers' started to evolve: Influenced by:

  • My love of symbolism and in particular the 11:11.
  • My love of layering and transparency.

The biggest leap forward was when I acknowledged that freezing fresh flowers, regardless of the resulting images, wasn't for me. The solution now is to freeze layers of inorganic bits and pieces, stones and lichens etc as my backgrounds and place the live flowers/plants more on the surface.


Thanks so much @kus-knee for initiating the Mundane as Art: Ice photo contest.


Mundane as Art.

Mundane as Art: Round 8: Sand Patterns.
Mundane as Art: Round 9: Moss and Lichens.


Ephemeral Art and Photographs: ©Alison Lee Cousland.
Camera: Nikon Coolpix.



T H A N K ✽ Y O U ✽ F O R ✽ Y O U R ✽ V I S I T1.png

Sort:  

Thanks for the post, I like the picture thank you very much, such a bright post.

I just read your post: The story of my life and I'm so pleased that something about these image has spoken to you.

Sometimes when our hearts are touched it's difficult to express what we are feeling with words. So I want to let the rose say it for me?

Sometimes life seems to be one huge challenge. At these times, breathe in my fragrance or even the memory of my fragrance. ~Rose.

Because roses can let us know that no matter what happens to us in our lives, the power of love will give us the strength to bear everything, forgive everything and heal everything. ~Rose. 🦋

MAGICAL MOMENTS copy 10.png

Thanks so much for this entry. Very cool!

Thanks so much @kus-knee.

It was a pleasure to contribute Roses in Ice to the Mundane as Art for Ice. There were so many amazing photographs of exquisite ice scenes and all the different aspects of ice in nature: Features that I would never see here in Sydney and I loved seeing them all.

I love the concept of Mundane as Art and I'm looking forward to the next one. 🦋

MAGICAL MOMENTS copy 10.png

I had to do a great zoom, enjoyment. :) Thanks, @allyinspirit, for this educational post and what you've shared the links.
Superior gentleness of color. Layers that impress. The experiment was successful. Bravo, congratulations. Fantastic, original method, photography is perfect!

Thanks ever so much @zoricatech.

I would love to do something similar again with miniature roses, to be able to photograph it with my Sony A7. Although it's very unlikely, as I won't be freezing flowers anymore.

But even though this piece was photographed with a very inexpensive little camera, the effect of the layering is still there. Which I'm happy about. 🦋

MAGICAL MOMENTS copy 10.png

Stunning work as always. Wow, your quotes from Gregg Braden go in line with the cards this week. I love how the universe is always mirroring to us. Beautifully done Alison.

Thanks ever so much @sunscape. Isn't synchronicity the ultimate?

I've always liked Gregg Braden's approach to expectation. What we expect to be there ~ We will see. So if we want to see magical transformations, we only need to know they are already there.

And we are always being shown what we need to see ~ We just need to be open to see that the 'mirrors' are actually our mirrors in the first place. ⚖️

The card reading, and it's interesting that both of us, as well as Gillian were drawn to the second card ~ Telling us to let go of any last remaining things that are holding us back and then the true magic can really begin. Lifting us higher and higher.

I have the feeling that it IS happening NOW for us. A BIG thanks once again.

MAGICAL MOMENTS copy 10.png

Simply splendid photos!! Your work brings me joy, every time.

Thanks ever so much Melinda. The arrangement of this piece was based on the 11:11 ~ Which may be contributing to the joy you feel when looking at this image. I love to work in this way with a lot of my arrangements. The underlying structures are often symbols that will bring us joy and contentment, harmony and peace. 🦋

MAGICAL MOMENTS copy 10.png

nice original work! :)

Mundane as Art was a fabulous opportunity to share this little ice piece @lavidaesunviaje. So pleased it spoke to you. 🦋

MAGICAL MOMENTS copy 10.png

While being stunningly beautiful, I think I agree with you ~ I don't think freezing fresh flowers would do for me either... But these are beautiful images, Alison! At least you can say you gave it a try... and decided! 🌼

YES. It was a difficult decision though, as something in me REALLY wanted to keep producing all the beautiful images, I knew would be possible by freezing the flowers. Even now it still likes to entice me. But I started to see freezing the flowers from a different perspective, the flower's perspective and knew it wasn't the way to continue.

So many times in our 'image making' we have to make decisions. Looking at toxic and non-toxic art mediums is another area. Generally once we make the 'hard decisions' though, other options open out.

I haven't worked with ice for some time. I now have a new freezer and will be able to work larger, once I make the freeze proof containers. Will be exciting to see what comes of it @ackhoo. 🦋

MAGICAL MOMENTS copy 10.png

That must have been a hard choice for you - having so many beautiful pictures of flowers in ice. I love the simplicity of this one. But then I love them all! 💙

It sure was Gillian. In the end, I chose this one for its simplicity. So pleased you like it as well.

I'm still working on the article that will show all the ice pieces I've shared at Steemit so far.

How's your attic decluttering going? Will have to come and visit you tomorrow. 🦋

MAGICAL MOMENTS copy 10.png

There is nothing like your frozen photography :) So simple and nice one @allyinspirit :)

This was one of my earlier works in ice Dunja. Although I still find the visual impact of beautiful flowers, frozen under the ice to be so alluring, I prefer not to go that way with my own work in ice now.

I'm gathering the images of all the ice pieces I've shared here at Steemit so far ~ About 30 altogether now ~ And I hope to post it soon. 🦋

MAGICAL MOMENTS copy 10.png

I will be waiting to enjoy :)

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Check The Daily spotlights of 6 February 2018! You missed one? ----> #dailyspotlights
Your quality post caught my attention and I hope you benefit from my resteem. My followers have a refined appreciation for quality art. You might also enjoy my curated collection. To see the quality posts I have curated via resteem, see my blog @pixresteemer. If you want to know more about me and my mission, please check my introduction.

Thanks so very much @pixresteemer.

I love to visit The Daily Spotlights. You always share such a wonderful variety of creative work there. 🦋

MAGICAL MOMENTS copy 10.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 63180.80
ETH 3418.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46