Mundane as Art: Round 9: Moss and Lichen. Submerged and Frozen Lichens. Ephemeral art. Original Photography

in #mundaneart7 years ago

Silvery.
Moss green lichens.
Frozen. Ice melts. Tangerine.
Shadowy underground. Twirling beauty.
~Ally.

This weeks theme for @kus-knee's Mundane as Art photo contest is Moss and Lichen.

The making of Submerged and Frozen Lichens.

I often incorporate natural elements from the Australian bushland into my Ephemeral Artworks. And in this piece both Old Man's Beard lichens and Curly lichens were featured.

Stage 1: Some Old Man's Beard lichens were floated over smooth white stones. Two pale green Cymbidium Orchids were nestled in amongst the lichens, before the whole arrangement was frozen.

Stage 2: Small twigs, covered with Curly lichens were placed upon the ice and covered with water. Additional pieces of Old Man's Beard lichens were floated in the surface water and frozen.

Stage 3: The ice was left to patially thaw out. The underlying Old Man's Beard lichens started to turn the most beautiful shade of russet: Creating a shadowy underground world to contrast with the two additional Cymbidium Orchids

1000.ICE.ORIGINAL-2.jpg

And when at last you find someone to whom you feel you can pour out your soul, you stop in shock at the words you utter: They are so rusty, so ugly, so meaningless and feeble from being kept in the small cramped dark inside you so long. ~Sylvia Plath.


Thanks so much @kus-knee for initiating the Mundane as Art: Moss and Lichen photo contest.


Mundane as Art.

Mundane as Art: Round 8: Sand Patterns.


Ephemeral Art and Photograph: ©Alison Lee Cousland.
Camera: Sony Alpha A7 Mark II. Lens: 35 mm:
Settings: ISO 160: f/5.0: 1/60 sec.
Processing: Lightroom.


T H A N K ✽ Y O U ✽ F O R ✽ Y O U R ✽ V I S I T1.png

Sort:  

What an amazing photo as entry to the moss and lichen contest at mundaneart. I wish you good luck, Alison! :)

Thanks so very much Patrick.

This particular 'Mundane as Art' is the perfect opportunity to share one of my ice works, where lichens form a major part of the arrangement. The idea being to simulate a 'swampy' and intriguing background with them.

MAGICAL MOMENTS copy 2.png

Beautiful as always @allyinspirit. 💙

Once your arrangement is frozen how long do you generally have to photograph it before it thaws and things start to move around?

Thanks so very much Gillian.

This piece was built up with very thin layers of water that were frozen over a period of many days.

Each stage has its own magic. Generally, I photograph each stage, even if only for my own documentation purposes.

I would have shared the making of this piece, but unfortunately I was in transition between cameras and computers at the time and I can't find the photographs. Lucky to have this one.

To answer your question though. The ice starts to melt as soon as I take the piece out of the freezer. If I'm quick enough I can capture some of the exquisite ice frosting which seems to disolve in front of my eyes.

But the stages in-between being ice and water are the most fascinating. In this image the orchids below are still suspended in the ice ~ Otherwise they would have risen to the surface.

Generally it takes a few hours before the entire piece turns to water, loosing all the layering effects. 🦋

MAGICAL MOMENTS copy 2.png

Really stunning photography @allyinspirit.
Onceagain it is really great. As always ReSteemed your blog post. Have a nice day.

Thanks so much @ccnew.

It's Australia Day today. I'm preparing an article with images of all my favourite places here. I hope you are having a magical day too. 🦋

MAGICAL MOMENTS copy 2.png

Amazing! Your art is so unique and creative.
I also wish you good luck in the contest!

Thanks so much Neli.

I've used and reused the same little pieces of lichen in several of my ice pieces. But I chose this photograph for 'Mundane as Art' because of the contrasting colours of the lichens. The russet brown lichens were originally the same soft green as the others. 🦋

MAGICAL MOMENTS copy 2.png

What a beautiful arrangement, Ally! Mundane would be the last word I will use to describe it :)

Thanks so very much Daniel.

I've NEVER thought mosses and lichens to be mundane. Every little piece is a masterpiece. And put a few lichens of different shades in water and ice with a few orchids and voila. 🦋

MAGICAL MOMENTS copy 2.png

Some amazing lichens!

Thanks so much @old-guy-photos. These lichens really do become 'something else' under the water. 🦋

MAGICAL MOMENTS copy 2.png

Love your picture!!!!:-D

Thanks so much Caroline.

Lovely to meet you and see your art and photography now as well, through Mundane as Art. 🦋

MAGICAL MOMENTS copy 2.png

Thank you very very much ;-D

I love the colors in this photo. Beautiful!

Thanks so much James.

Yes, there's an earthyness about green and tan together 🦋

MAGICAL MOMENTS copy 2.png

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Your quality post caught my attention and I hope you benefit from my resteem. My followers have a refined appreciation for quality art. You might also enjoy my curated collection. To see the quality posts I have curated via resteem, see my blog @pixresteemer. If you want to know more about me and my mission, please check my introduction.

I feel that I always benefit from your appreciation @pixresteemer. Thanks so much. 🦋

MAGICAL MOMENTS copy 2.png

A fairy tale, a magical combination!
Beautiful combination of colors. :)

Thanks ever so much @zoricatech.

It wouldn't have been quite the same if the pale green lichens hadn't turned a beautiful russet in the process of being frozen.

So pleased to have connected with you now through the Mundane is Art. 🦋

MAGICAL MOMENTS copy 2.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 64296.25
ETH 3182.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55