Your Values might be what's holding you back from Success on Steemit

in #minnowsupport7 years ago (edited)

If you are upset by the success of others, you might want to just quit right now.


This post was inspired by the book "The Subtle Art of Not Giving a F*ck" by Mark Manson. Very good advice in there! So, check it out. But be careful about writing a review of it here on steemit. I know of one case where there was an action taken unfairly against a review.

I see a lot of people who get angry because their posts aren't earning as much as other people. The rub, is when they view that content which is getting paid big,

"Gasp! That post is not worth what it's valued at. Oh no! and here I am working for 3 hours on a post, and it only made .30 ? This is unfair" @somerandomsteemian

First of all, if you really want to earn a living from this platform. You have to begin to think like a professional.

Secondly, why would you care that some people are successful here? Even if you don't value their contribution.Someone obviously does. There are many reasons people achieve success here. Sometimes, it's because they are abusing privilege, but it doesn't really matter to me.

Every post I publish, I do my best to make it look nice, legible, and helpful. Do I cry that some of my very first articles I spent 12 hours on and they made under a dollar? Not at all. Because that content will continue to provide value to myself and others "forever". I can even re-write them later to look nicer, and with additional information. I could publish them off site, if they are any good.

If you value creating good content, then it doesn't matter how much you get paid for any individual post.

The problem is, I believe, that many people value the trappings of success, but not the process of building success. There is a lot more to steemit than just publishing blogs. It's a community.

It's a community with a great variety of things which need to be done to make it better for the next generation of Steemizens. If you give value to the community, and participate with it in some of the variety of ways which we commune, the community will give value back to you.

(Image by @juliakponsford)

How can we give value to this community?

  • Write informative articles.
  • Create useful applications that benefit the community.
  • Leave thoughtful comments on other peoples blogs
  • Participate in the Minnow Support Project and the Minnows Accelerator Project
    NOTE: both of these helpful and growing communities require you to use the Discord Chat Application. It's the best chat application ever. Using it isn't required for steemit, but don't be complaining about your lack of results if you don't use it. This is how most people communicate, here.
  • Find images for your blog within the steemiverse (with communication, proper credit, and a tip) instead of getting your images off site. (increased exposure for both parties)
  • Link to related content by other users in your blog, and in the comments of other peoples posts.
  • Investigate and expose clear cut cases of abuse, as well as supporting those who do the same. For example here are blogs about PaulaG and SherlockHolmes both of whom do amazing work analyzing the blockchain, and helping to expose abuse (well, Paula tends to stick with the raw data, where Sherlock is more hard hitting exposing abuse style.)
  • DON'T COMPLAIN!. Or at least if you want to complain, you can be part of the solution.

I'm going to end my bulleted list there, so I can talk about complaining a bit. This is one of the worst things you can do for your reputation here. If you are the type of person who complains about other peoples success and your lack of success, this is the best way to insure your failure. Seeing someone who complains in every blog is actually the only way I ever muted someone, after a few attempts to encourage them.

This doesn't mean we can't do something about whatever it is we don't like. Also, it's good to have a friend or two we can chat with privately so we can complain without spewing negativity all over this community. Yes, let it out, and then move on to "What I can I actually do about these problems?" Sometimes what it means is that you need to just keep working and grow your account, because there are many issues we can't deal with when we are just baby fish. I don't go around flagging stuff that I don't like, because I could easily be ended by a flag war. No need. I support those working to make this a better place, and often they support me in return. Better not expect the return favor though.... this will only make you angry again.

(Design by @juliakponsford via: Steemit Mermaid Logo)

Values

  • I value creating Quality Content.
  • I value the Arts.
  • I value all of my new friends here.
  • I value all of the people who are contributing an untold amount of time and resources to help build this community.
  • I value Gratitude, Kindness, Care, Servitude, Benevolence, and Generosity.

These values determine where I focus the bulk of my time and energy.

I spend my time digging into that stuff. And you know what? It's paid off. A lot quicker than I expected.

There are plenty of actionable Tips and Tricks in the resource list below to help you along your way.

However, before I sign off for now, let me add a couple of the "secrets" to why I have succeeded here. If you apply the knowledge contained in these secrets, and the posts below, you are sure to see improvements in your experience here.

  1. When I find people that excel at what they do, especially if I think they deserve more attention for their efforts, I will write an article about how awesome they are. I use hackmd.io (a collaborative markdown editor) to make sure that they approve of what I write. I'm trying to make them look good for new users to learn about what they do, so it helps if I get the details right.
  2. When I'm trying to find information that simply isn't easily found on the blockchain, I write about it. Even if it doesn't make a dime, at least in the future people will be able to find the information by search and not have to go off-site for it.
  3. Focus on the Positive.
  4. Be Helpful.

Those are the "secrets" to any success I've found here.

[UPDATE]
Since I first wrote this post I heard @sircork's Monday Night Minnow School (mspwaves.com) where he talked about perseverance. This topic deserves a post of it's own. If there is something here that's of value to you, it better earn some perseverance from all of us. Lets see this through!

hr2
Proud member and supporter of the Minnow Support Project - Brought to you by:


wit-list


pal-sig-anim
hr2

See Welcome to #Art-Services for more details

Creative Commons License
Unless otherwise noted all of the content created by @inquiringtimes is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License. Additionally, while not required, I am easily contacted if you wish to use these materials for more than a simple quote or link. We can work together.

Have fun, and Steem On!

Resources

Follow Up Post How re-assesing my values helped me to overcome my anxiety

Sort:  

Love, Love, Love this post! Nobody gets anything by spewing out negative energy. Every day (not just on steemit) we have an opportunity to interact with what makes us smile, what uplifts our spirit or with what makes us angry or what makes us feel bad. It's a choice. Every minute of every day. What you choose to spend you energy focusing on is exactly what you will get more of. Hey! I feel a blog post coming on ... lol

Thank you for this beautiful post and for the resources. I really do have to take the time to look into many of them. But, alas, today I am having a picnic on the beach with a bestie who is moving away in a few weeks. Spending quality time with good people and having fun are always my priority. :D

It's the general mentality of people to want something for nothing and then get frustrated and complain when it doesn't happen. Partially augmented by the fact we live in a microwave world. I signed up for steemit and made a post, why am I not rich yet?

Compound that with thinking that they are the exception and you get more frustration. (Everyone seems to think they're the exception at some point, you can even catch yourself if you pay attention. Can't you just let me in really quick? I'll be in and out. And exceptions are often made. We see it in the movies where the hero barely escapes because someone made an exception)

Good post, hope it helps at least one person refocus and begin to reach their goals.

Thank you for the thoughtful comment

Patience is in short supply in our current world view. But it is oooh so important to success.

Bill Gates, Steve Jobs, Oprah, JK Rowling, George R.R. Martin, Elon Musk, none of these people became successes OVERNIGHT. Whales are whales because they put in the time, made the effort, and built from the ground up.

Did they luck into being here early enough to take advantage of the system in it's infancy? They did. But they still had to work.

And guess what? We found the system early enough to be whales too. If we work hard, persevere, and work together, we are still way ahead of the curve. Just look at the "beta" tag sitting in the top left of your screen for affirmation of that.

We create our own future. Griping and complaining about the state of affairs does nothing. It surely isn't going to get a whale to come by and take pity on poor little minnows.

Create good content, keep creating good content, and keep reaching out to people and create relationships. Make people notice you with your positivism and willingness to help. Traction comes slowly, but it does come.

We all want to make thousands a month from typing up a blog or making funny memes. But it all has to start with the first penny, first dollar, first ten, first hundred. And each milestone you hit gets you that much closer to hitting it again and having repeated success.

Steemit is NOT passive income. We have to work for every penny received. But if we work at it, reinvest our earnings into the system, and help the thousands of other people who will be flocking to this platform in the next few years, then we will need a term for something larger than whales.

Well said @inquiringtimes! This is a good read for everyone, regardless of position in the spectrum of minnow to whale.

thanks brother, how's that tps report going?

love the thoughtful comments here!

Yeahhh... they're going to need me to work on that on Saturday....

LOL.

One report down! Those tps reports just keep stacking up though.

Thing is that this is not the place for quality content, more of a everyday blog platform where you write what you ate this day. Write and forget about it.

But if you want to make some kind of guide or something that people can revisit later well it is not that easy, usually people just check latest or trending but not something that was written 8 month ago even if it is still great.

Then again quality content = high payout? Ofcourse it is not and that is sad. While other people just spam several posts per day and just upvote it with bots or just buy steem and self upvote. This system simply does not encourage quality content.

Being positive is fine but you should not ignore those who are negative because there is a reason for that, it is a sign that something is not fine and needs to change. I can't imagine how people would land on moon if they wouldn't talk about problems. If you don't complain you are just ignoring problem.

Now ofcourse there are different ways to do that you can just say steem is bad or you can say steem is bad because, and the second is much more valuable because you state problem and show why it is a problem.

complaining is different than offering constructive criticism and helping to solve problems.

however, you might want to consider that this IS actually the place for quality content, and if you are just doing your "what I ate today" posts, that's ok, but don't expect big bucks to do it.

Yes, it takes me 12+ hours for almost every article I write.

This was a recordbreaker for a short easy post that only took me less than 2 hours.

It may be different but still people don't complain without a reason.

Guess we just have different opinions about quality content.

It may won't work with what I ate today but it certainly works with news about bitcoin that people just copy paste from news sites.

Which often gets reported and flagged.

In my experience it wasn't so often but whatever. The complaining thing will be with us as long as people find current system unfair. Anyway even if you write good content you still have to be noticed by people and that is more important than quality.

yes, that's where I mentioned about MinnowSupport and MinnowsAccelerator and DIscord.

also, it's easy to get noticed if you are shining the light on other people. You have to be interested in others in order to be interesting to them

btw, I'm reading your post about linux distros right now :-)

I'm upvoting for the thoughtfulness of the comment, not because I agree with with the comment all that much. If we should listen to complaints then it stands to reason we should also listen to complaints about complaints - which this post is. I mean the perspective might add something useful.
Right now, Steemit is a popularity contest where the actions of the fattest wallet have the biggest impact. That might seem like anti-quality content, but it doesn't have to be: Steem is getting big enough that people can do okay in a niche. And, the fattest wallets within the niche have the most impact on defining quality within that niche. So, bring in your news curators, the spicy memes, the instagram girls, the @sweetsssj s and the like. I ignore what I dislike and upvote what I like. One thing a minnow can do to help build a niche is thoughtful comments. Good comments can be worth more to an author than a penny upvote.

This should be introductory reading for everyone who joins. Great work!

Upvoted, and resteemed, cause, doggone it, this is a good post brotha.

Agreed!

I'm agree with you, @inquiringtimes. I need to write in Spanish:
He visto post muy bien pagados y con poca información. Pero eso no me detiene. Sigo mejorando día a día, con cada publicación, aprendiendo de otros usuarios más competentes y me alegro cuando ellos obtienen buenas ganancias. Creo que debemos disfrutar el camino en Steemit con el objeto de aprender y ser felices, leyendo, curando o publicando artículos.

I agree on this a 100 %. I can get disappointed if a post I worked with for hours hardly get anything paid, BUT I get happy when it goes well for others (and me). Not matter what, I think it's great to see others succeed, I usually get motivated rather than angry. It's nice to see that it is possible to earn some income here. A really great post!

thank you! Yeah, I get bummed because sometimes the posts I think will really soar don't. There's certain stuff that does well, and it can be timing and who's awake and everything... pretty sure best time to post is 11am-2pm est lol. when I post in that window my posts all do better! oh well, I see improvement over time, and that's all we can hope for.

Haven't thought much about time... must be 4pm to 7pm here... But so many things play a part in this. Never forget to have some fun as well

haha, I'm having all of the fun! <3

You were right about this being a good post. Value begets value.

Awesome post, it shows by the comments and interaction with the post. At the moment this post is only worth $3.38, which I would say is undervalued, but II know this is not a problem for you and you are proud of the engagement.

Love you posts.

Keep it up

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60946.76
ETH 3395.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57